SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Light: The New Ingredient in 3D Printing - By : Hanen Hattab,

Light: The New Ingredient in 3D Printing


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Image projector for 3D printing using the Replicator method

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

3D printing techniques use a very traditional sculpting process: constructing volume by adding material. In industrial vocabulary, this process is called additive manufacturing. The printed object takes shape as the layers are deposited one on top of another. A team of researchers has developed a new process tinged with a touch of magic. As soon as printing starts, the object appears in a liquid exposed to light.

Because the printed form seems to emerge from an intangible matrix, the team at the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at the University of California Berkeley named it the Replicator, after a futuristic device seen in Star Trek productions.

The Printing Device

Light, the novel component of this innovation, adds a science-fiction flavour to the printing process. Indeed, the object is formed with a photosensitive viscous liquid, deposited in a container and lit by a projector. The desired shape is obtained through the solidifying effect of a methacrylate hydrogel under the action of projected images to the container placed on a rotating plate. The projected two-dimensional light patterns represent the surfaces of the object. Each image projection propagates through the material from a different angle. Exposing the liquid to an image under multiple angles produces the amount of energy needed to solidify the material into the desired shape. The 3D printing resin is made of liquid polymers mixed with photosensitive molecules and dissolved oxygen. Light activates the photosensitive compound which breaks down oxygen. It is also possible to produce opaque objects by adding dyes.

The process was inspired by a CT image reconstruction process, a radiographic technique used to visualize body parts through an X-ray machine. The rays scan the body by passing through it from different angles. The resulting cross-sectional images are then used to reconstruct internal human parts in three dimensions. The new method follows the same principle, but in reverse. The ingenuity of the new 3D printing technique also lies in the calculation of exposure time, which is synchronized with the movement of the rotating liquid.

Applications and Benefits

Compared to printers currently on the market, the technology can produce smoother, more flexible objects with more complex forms. While conventional techniques cannot create flexible shapes because the materials could deform during printing, the new process makes it possible to adjust exposure time of the polymer and create forms of various consistency.

It is also possible to add a form or a volume to an existing object. This is an unprecedented feature that can be used to customize different types of objects.

To test the printer, the team created several objects, including a model of Rodin’s The Thinker, and a custom jawbone model. At this stage of the research, the technique can produce objects with diameters of up to 4 inches, or about 10 cm.

The research was funded by start-up funding from UC faculty in Berkeley, and research and development funds from Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory’s LDRD. The team has filed a patent application on the technique.

The study entitled “Volumetric additive manufacturing via tomographic reconstruction” published on January 31, 2019, in Science, was co-authored by Brett E. Kelly, Indrasen Bhattacharya, Hossein Heidari, Maxim Shusteff, Christopher M. Spadaccini and Hayden K. Taylor.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
La lumière, le nouvel ingrédient de l’impression 3D - Par : Hanen Hattab,

La lumière, le nouvel ingrédient de l’impression 3D


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Projecteur d’images utilisé pour l’impression 3D par la méthode de Replicator.

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur

Les techniques d’impression 3D utilisent un procédé sculptural vieux comme le monde qui est la mise en volume par ajout de matière. Dans le vocabulaire industriel, on appelle ce procédé la fabrication additive. L’objet imprimé prend forme au fur et à mesure que les couches se déposent les unes sur les autres. Une équipe de chercheurs a mis au point un nouveau procédé teinté d’une pointe de magie. Aussitôt l’impression lancée, l’objet apparaît dans un liquide ressemblant à du miel grâce à son exposition à la lumière.

Parce que la forme imprimée semble surgir d’une matrice incorporelle, l’équipe du Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences de l’University of California Berkeley, l’a baptisée Replicator, le nom d’une machine futuriste du film Star Trek.

Le dispositif de l’imprimante

La lumière, l’ingrédient inédit de cette innovation, ajoute un côté science-fiction au procédé d’impression. En effet, l’objet se forme à partir d’un liquide visqueux photosensible, déposé au préalable dans un contenant vers lequel un projecteur projette une lumière. La forme désirée est obtenue par l’effet de solidification d’un hydrogel de méthacrylate sous l’action des images projetées vers le contenant, posé sur un plateau en rotation. Plus précisément, les motifs lumineux bidimensionnels projetés représentent les surfaces du volume. Chaque projection d’image se propage à travers le matériau sous un angle différent. L’exposition du liquide à ses images sous plusieurs angles produit la quantité d’énergie nécessaire pour solidifier le matériau selon la forme souhaitée. La résine d’impression 3D est composée de polymères liquides mélangés à des molécules photosensibles et à de l’oxygène dissous. La lumière active le composé photosensible qui désagrège l’oxygène. Il est possible d’obtenir des objets opaques en ajoutant des colorants.

Le procédé a été inspiré par les procédures de reconstruction d’image de la tomodensitométrie, une technique de radiographie utilisée pour visualiser les parties anatomiques, qui a recours à un appareil projetant des rayons X. Ces derniers traversent le corps sous différents angles pour le balayer. Le procédé permet d’obtenir des images transversales utilisées pour reconstituer en trois dimensions les parties internes du corps. La nouvelle méthode suit un peu le même principe, mais en sens inverse. L’ingéniosité de la nouvelle technique d’impression 3D réside aussi dans le calcul du temps d’exposition, qui est synchronisé avec le mouvement du liquide en rotation.

Applications et avantages

Comparée aux imprimantes sur le marché, la technologie permet de fabriquer des objets plus lisses, plus souples et aux reliefs plus complexes. Alors que les techniques classiques ne peuvent pas créer des formes flexibles parce que les matériaux se déformeraient au cours de l’impression, le nouveau procédé permet d’ajuster le temps d’exposition du polymère et de créer des reliefs de consistances variées.

Il est aussi possible de rajouter un relief ou un volume à un objet existant. Il s’agit d’une fonction inédite qui peut être utilisée dans la personnalisation de différents types d’objets.

Pour tester l’imprimante, l’équipe a créé une série d’objets, dont un modèle réduit du « Penseur », la statue de Rodin, et un modèle personnalisé de mâchoire. La technique permet à ce stade de la recherche de fabriquer des objets aux diamètres pouvant atteindre 4 po, environ 10 cm.

La recherche a été financée par les fonds des entreprises en démarrage du corps professoral de l’UC à Berkeley et par des fonds de recherche et de développement dirigés par le LDRD du Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. L’équipe a déposé une demande de brevet sur la technique.

L’étude s’intitule « Volumetric additive manufacturing via tomographic reconstruction ». et a été publiée le 31 janvier 2019 dans Science. Elle a été coécrite par Brett E. Kelly, Indrasen Bhattacharya, Hossein Heidari, Maxim Shusteff, Christopher M. Spadaccini et Hayden K. Taylor

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *