SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Artificial Intelligence Working on Optical Illusions - By : Hanen Hattab,

Artificial Intelligence Working on Optical Illusions


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Illusion produced by lateral inhibition

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

An optical illusion is a type of image that generates a particular visual perception, making things appear that do not actually exist. In other words, the receiver is deceived by the visual system and believes in the optical effect created. Illusions are perceived naturally or under the influence of artificial substances (drugs, hallucinogens, etc.) in the existing environment. They are also caused by special geometric constructions, such as impossible objects, anaglyphs, contrasting compositions in op art, etc.

Impossible object

An impossible object

In recent years, the field of artificial vision has been studying this optical phenomenon. In 2018, researchers at Brown University trained a machine to see optical illusions as humans do. The technology presented in this article focuses on the illusions generated by colour contrasts.

The Café Wall Illusion

A study was recently conducted by a team from Flinders University in Australia on the café wall illusion. Neuropsychologist Richard Gregory was the first scientist to study this illusion, in reference to a tile wall cladding on the outside of a Bristol coffee house. This illusion makes parallel lines appear like curves.

Café wall illusion

The café wall illusion

The study centres on the design of a computer vision model that detects optical illusions and dissects their physiological origins. In addition to the café wall illusion, the researchers tackled other similar and more complex representations.

An Approach Based on Human Vision

Artificial vision technologies capable of detecting images like humans do are based on cognitive and biological studies of natural perception. The team used the physiological approach to mimic perceptual illusions. The researchers pointed out that even though scientists have made great strides in recent years in understanding the biological mechanisms of perceptual illusions, some aspects of stimuli processing remain controversial.

Before reaching the brain, images perceived by humans pass through the retina. Retinal ganglion cells are neurons that receive visual information and route it to the visual cortex. The size of each ganglion cell differs depending on its distance from the fovea. The fovea is the area of the retina where vision is the most accurate and detailed and from which most visual information is transmitted to the brain.

In order to mimic human vision, artificial vision models perform simultaneous image samplings on several scales, according to the principle of alternating receptor layers of visual stimuli in the retina.

Model Design Based on Lateral Inhibition

When faced with a visual illusion, our brain receives incorrect information. As it tries to interpret the information, it creates a different representation of the actual image. In the case of the café wall illusion, lateral inhibition sends the wrong signals to the visual cortex.

Lateral inhibition is “the selective suppression of certain nerve signals.” Its goal is to improve contrast perception by ensuring that “only the signal of well-lit photoreceptors is transmitted to the ganglion cells.” Photoreceptors are photosensitive neurons located in the outer layer of the retina.

In this study, the researchers evaluated a computer-based filter model designed to learn lateral inhibition and retinal ganglion cell responses to different geometrical illusions. To do this, they used difference of Gaussian, an image processing algorithm that enhances contours and details.

According to the researchers, the model is complex at this point and more research needs to be done to improve it. They also emphasized the importance of optical illusions in understanding and simulating natural vision.

The study entitled “Informing Computer Vision with Optical Illusion” prepublished on arXiv.org, February 20, 2019, was co-authored by Nasim Nematzadeh, David M. W. Powers and Trent Lewis.

 

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
L’intelligence artificielle s’intéresse aux illusions optiques - Par : Hanen Hattab,

L’intelligence artificielle s’intéresse aux illusions optiques


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Illusion causée par l’inhibition latérale.

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

L’illusion optique est une catégorie d’images qui provoquent une perception visuelle particulière en faisant apparaître des choses qui n’existent pas réellement. C’est dire que le système visuel trompe le récepteur et lui fait croire à l’effet optique provoqué. L’illusion apparaît naturellement ou sous l’effet de substances artificielles (drogues, substances hallucinogènes, etc,) dans l’environnement réel. Elle est aussi provoquée par une construction géométrique particulière, comme les objets impossibles, les anaglyphes ou les compositions contrastées de l’op art, etc.

Objet impossible

Un objet impossible

Depuis quelques années, le domaine de la vision artificielle s’est penché sur ce phénomène optique. En 2018, des chercheurs de l’université Brown ont entraîné une machine à voir les illusions d’optique comme un humain. La technologie que nous allons présenter dans cet article s’intéresse aux illusions engendrées par les contrastes de couleurs.

L’illusion du mur du café

Une étude a été récemment menée par une équipe de l’Université Flinders en Australie sur l’illusion du mur du café. Le neuropsychologue Richard Gregory est le premier scientifique ayant étudié cette illusion dont l’appellation réfère au revêtement mural en carreaux de faïence du mur extérieur d’un café de Bristol. Cette illusion fait apparaître des droites parallèles comme des courbes.

Illusion du mur du café

L’illusion du mur du café

L’étude porte sur la conception d’un modèle de vision par ordinateur qui détecte les illusions d’optique et décortique leurs origines physiologiques. En plus de l’illusion du mur du café, les chercheurs ont abordé d’autres représentations similaires et plus complexes.

Une approche basée sur la vision humaine

Les technologies de vision artificielle capables de détecter les images comme les humains s’appuient sur les études cognitives et biologiques de la perception naturelle. L’équipe a adopté l’approche physiologique afin d’imiter la perception des illusions. Les chercheurs font remarquer que même si les scientifiques ont fait de grands pas ces dernières années pour comprendre les mécanismes biologiques de la perception visuelle des illusions, certains aspects du traitement des stimuli sont encore controversés.

Avant d’arriver au cerveau, les images perçues par l’être humain traversent la rétine. Les cellules ganglionnaires rétiniennes sont des neurones qui reçoivent les informations visuelles et les acheminent vers le cortex visuel. La taille de chaque cellule ganglionnaire diffère en fonction de la distance qui la sépare de la fovéa. Cette dernière constitue la zone de la rétine où la vision est la plus précise et détaillée et est le siège à partir duquel la plupart des informations visuelles sont transmises au cerveau.

Afin d’imiter la vision humaine, les modèles de vision artificielle effectuent un échantillonnage simultané de l’image sur plusieurs échelles, ce qui correspond au principe des différentes couches de réception des stimuli visuels de la rétine.

Conception d’un modèle inspiré de l’inhibition latérale

Lorsque l’on perçoit une illusion visuelle, le cerveau reçoit des informations erronées. En essayant de les interpréter, il crée une représentation différente de l’image réelle.  Dans le cas de l’illusion du mur de café, c’est l’inhibition latérale qui engendre l’envoi de signaux erronés au cortex visuel.

L’inhibition latérale est « la suppression sélective de certains signaux nerveux ». Elle a pour but d’améliorer la perception des contrastes en s’assurant que « seul le signal des photorécepteurs bien illuminés est transmis aux cellules ganglionnaires. » Les photorécepteurs sont les neurones photosensibles qui se trouvent sur la couche postérieure de la rétine.

Dans cette étude, les chercheurs ont évalué un modèle de filtrage informatique conçu pour apprendre l’inhibition latérale et les réponses des cellules ganglionnaires de la rétine aux différentes illusions géométriques. Pour ce faire, ils ont eu recours à la différence de gaussiennes, un algorithme de traitement de l’image qui sert à rehausser les contours et les détails.

Les chercheurs ont précisé que le modèle est complexe à ce stade et que d’autres recherches doivent être menées afin de l’améliorer. Ils soulignent par ailleurs l’importance des illusions optiques pour comprendre et simuler la vision naturelle.

L’étude s’intitule « Informing Computer Vision with Optical Illusion ». Elle a été prépubliée sur arXiv.org le 20 février 2019 et est coécrite par Nasim Nematzadeh, David M. W. Powers et Trent Lewis.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *