SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Haptics: A Must for Human-Computer Interfaces - By : Substance,

Haptics: A Must for Human-Computer Interfaces


Haptics is to the sense of touch what acoustics is to hearing and optics to sight. Of our five senses, however, touch is one of the least talked about. Professor Vincent Lévesque, a new member of the Department of Software and Information Technology Engineering, has been conducting research on the subject for more than 15 years.

Human-Computer Interface

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

Touch is essential to our survival: it allows us to sense our body in the environment and protect us from its aggressions. “We tend to focus on the visual and the audio when talking about information transmission. However, haptic technologies can also transmit information through the application of forces, vibrations or movements,” explains Vincent Lévesque, a new professor in the Department of Software and Information Technology Engineering.

 Struck by Lightning

Vincent Lévesque’s interest in haptics began during his studies in computer engineering at McGill University, where he was fortunate to have the renowned Vincent Hayward, one of the world’s leading researchers in the field and founder of the McGill University Haptics Laboratory, as his professor.

He joined the researcher’s team, and Professor Hayward directed his master’s project. His work focused on “measuring skin deformation using a high-speed camera” in order to reproduce these deformations with touch display technology.

Lateral movement of a finger on a glass surface. The gradual release of the skin on the periphery can clearly be seen when the finger begins to move.

Rotation of a finger on a glass surface. A complex displacement of the skin against the surface can be seen.

During his PhD studies—also directed by Vincent Hayward—he became interested in the virtual display of tactile graphics and Braille texts using lateral deformation of the skin. This approach would be used to develop technology to help people with visual impairments.

From 2009 to 2011, Vincent Lévesque benefited from a postdoctoral fellowship in the Department of Computer Science at the University of British Columbia, where he focused on the importance of the sense of touch in the use of touch screens. Afterwards, he joined Immersion Canada, where he rose to become senior researcher in 2015.

Programming touch functions on a touch screen

Pictures of the device used to program friction. The 4 white disks are piezoelectric actuators that make the surface vibrate. (a) Setting an alarm with a haptic scroll wheel, and (b) close-up view. (c) Drag and drop a file with resistance on a file and texture on the recycle bin, and (d) close-up view.

Inventor

As part of his PhD work, he developed algorithms for a small tactile display, the STReSS2 (pronounced stress-square), which allows you to read with your fingertips. This device produces tactile sensations that can be combined to generate graphics that the user can “see” through his fingers. He explains that compressing and stretching the skin produces the illusion of 3D. Initially designed for the visually impaired, this device is now marketed under the name Latero by Tactile Labs Inc., and sold to many laboratories.

STReSS2 display

STReSS2 display: (a) device with a pin array on top (photo by Jerome Pasquero), (b) device in a casing, (c) device with application for tactile graphics.

Tactile Labs Latero display

Tactile Labs Latero display: (a) with an application showing moving pins, and (b) close-up view of the pin array with a moving wave.

 

Research Interests

Vincent Lévesque, Professor in the ÉTS Department of Software Engineering and Information Technology

At ÉTS, Vincent Lévesque will continue his research to increase the use of haptics. He is especially interested in consumer applications and in all human-computer interfaces (HCI).

According to Mr. Lévesque, virtual reality technologies cannot transmit true illusions without haptics. “Optical illusions are not enough to convince our brain that we are elsewhere,” he says. Therefore, haptics has been used for a long time in the field of video games and is now considered a must.

In fact, in his spare time, this meticulous researcher explores the many possibilities of haptics in the video-game field … using a PlayStation!


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
L’haptique : un incontournable des interfaces humain-machine - Par : Substance,

L’haptique : un incontournable des interfaces humain-machine


L’haptique est au toucher ce que l’acoustique est à l’ouïe et l’optique à la vue. De nos cinq sens, c’est cependant un de ceux dont on parle le moins. Le professeur Vincent Lévesque, accueilli au Département de génie logiciel et des technologies de l’information, en fait pour sa part son champ de recherche depuis plus de 15 ans.

Interface humain-machine

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Le toucher est indispensable à notre survie : il nous permet de percevoir notre corps dans l’environnement et de nous protéger contre les agressions de ce dernier. « On a tendance à ‘focaliser’ sur le visuel et l’audio lorsqu’on parle de transmission d’informations. Or, les technologies haptiques peuvent également transmettre des informations par l’application de forces, de vibrations ou de mouvements », explique Vincent Lévesque, nouveau professeur au Département de génie logiciel et des technologies de l’information.

 Un coup de foudre

L’intérêt de Vincent Lévesque pour l’haptique s’est manifesté durant ses études en génie informatique à l’Université McGill où il a eu la chance d’avoir comme professeur le réputé Vincent Hayward, l’un des plus grands chercheurs mondiaux dans le domaine et le fondateur du Laboratoire d’haptique de l’Université McGill.

L’étudiant s’est joint à l’équipe du chercheur, qui a dirigé son travail de maîtrise. Celui-ci portait sur « la mesure de la déformation de la peau à l’aide d’une caméra haute vitesse » dans le but de reproduire ces déformations avec une technologie d’affichage tactile.

Déplacement latéral du doigt contre une surface de verre. On peut clairement y voir le décollement graduel de la peau en périphérie lorsque le doigt se met à bouger.

Rotation du doigt contre une surface de verre. On y voit un déplacement complexe de la peau contre la surface.

Pendant ses études doctorales – également dirigées par Vincent Hayward – il s’est intéressé à l’affichage virtuel de graphiques tactiles et de textes en braille en utilisant la déformation latérale de la peau. Cette approche servira au développement d’une technologie visant à aider les personnes ayant une déficience visuelle.

De 2009 à 2011, Vincent Lévesque a bénéficié d’une bourse postdoctorale au Département d’informatique de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, où il s’est concentré sur le sur l’importance du sens du toucher dans l’utilisation des écrans tactiles. Par la suite, il s’est joint à la société Immersion Canada, où il a gravi les échelons jusqu’au poste de chercheur sénior en 2015.

Programmation du toucher d’un écran tactile

Photos de l’appareil permettant de programmer la friction. Les 4 disques blancs sont des actionneurs piézoélectriques qui font vibrer la surface. (a) réglage d’une alarme avec déclic haptique lors du défilement et (b) vue rapprochée. (c) glisser-déposer d’un fichier avec résistance sur dossiers et texture sur la corbeille et (d) vue rapprochée.

Récipiendaire de plusieurs prix, notamment du Best Paper 2012 du Symposium IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) sur l’haptique et d’un Best of CHI (Computer Human-Interaction) au congrès CHI 2011 de l’ACM (Association for Computing Machinery), Vincent Lévesque a acquis une réputation de chercheur particulièrement innovant dans son domaine.

 Un inventeur

Dans le cadre de ses travaux de doctorat, il a mis au point des algorithmes pour un petit moniteur graphique tactile, le STReSS2 (prononcer « Stress-square »), qui permet de lire avec le bout des doigts. Cet appareil produit des sensations tactiles pouvant être combinées pour générer des graphiques que l’utilisateur peut « voir » à travers ses doigts. Il explique qu’en comprimant et en étirant la peau, il en résulte une illusion de 3D. Initialement conçu pour les personnes ayant une déficience visuelle, cet appareil est aujourd’hui commercialisé sous le nom de Latero par l’OSBL Tactile Labs Inc. et vendu à de nombreux laboratoires.

Afficheur STReSS2

Afficheur STReSS2 : (a) appareil avec matrice de points sur la partie supérieure (photo de Jerome Pasquero), (b) appareil dans un boitier, (c) appareil avec application pour le graphisme tactile.

 

Afficheur Latero de Tactile Labs

Afficheur Latero de Tactile Labs : (a) avec une application montrant le déplacement des points et (b) vue rapprochée de la matrice de points, sur laquelle se déplace une vague.

 

Ses intérêts de recherche

À l’ÉTS, Vincent Lévesque poursuivra ses recherches en vue de multiplier les utilisations de l’

Vincent Lévesque, professeur au Département de génie logiciel et des technologies de l’information de l’ÉTS

haptique. Il s’intéresse particulièrement à son utilisation dans les applications grand public et à toutes les interfaces humain-machine (IHM).

Selon M. Lévesque, les technologies de réalité virtuelle ne peuvent pas transmettre de véritables illusions sans haptique. « Les illusions optiques ne suffisent pas à convaincre notre cerveau que nous sommes ailleurs », explique-t-il. L’haptique est donc utilisée depuis longtemps dans le domaine des jeux vidéo et même jugée désormais incontournable.

D’ailleurs, dans ses moments libres, le rigoureux chercheur explore les multiples possibilités de l’haptique dans le domaine du jeu vidéo à l’aide d’une console PlayStation!


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *