SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
The First Paper-based Plasma Sanitizer - By : Hanen Hattab,

The First Paper-based Plasma Sanitizer


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

There will no longer be any need to wait until laboratory uniforms and accessories get dirty before decontaminating them. A team of researchers from State University, New Jersey, and the University of Florida in Gainesville, created a paper-based device capable of self-disinfection by killing bacteria through the action of excited material.

A Decontaminating Plasma State

The team, headed by Aaron Mazzeo, Assistant Professor at the Rutgers Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, found that when high voltage was applied to stacked sheets of metallized paper, a plasma state was generated. Plasma, discovered by chemist and physicist Irving Langmuir in 1928, is the fourth state of matter, the others being solid, liquid and gaseous states. It is a state of matter consisting of charged particles, ions and electrons that gravitate far from their original atoms, caused by thermal or electrical energy.

Plasma state

The plasma state generated within the paper created by the team is capable of deactivating 99% of the Saccharomyces cerevisiae and Escherichia coli bacteria in 30 seconds of treatment. E. coli is one of the most prolific microbes on the planet. Most strains are harmless and many contribute to the health of the human intestine. However, harmful E. coli types can cause diarrhea, pneumonia, urinary tract infections and other fatal diseases. According to Qiang Richard Chen, PhD student in the Department of Plant Biology at the Rutgers School of Environmental and Biological Sciences, preliminary test results of the paper sanitizer have shown that it is also capable of destroying bacterial spores that are difficult to eliminate using conventional sterilization methods.

Application and Function

The study, entitled “Paper-based plasma sanitizers“, co-written by Jingjin Xiea, Qiang Chenb, Poornima Suresha, Subrata Royc, James F. Whiteb and Aaron D. Mazzeoa, was published on May 1, 2017, in the journal Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America.

In the article, the team members explain the design method for this device, whose operation does not require the use of a specific gas to induce the plasma state. Furthermore, they show that this technology is capable of conforming to curved surface shapes and can be adapted to kirigami-type extensible structures. The technology is particularly compatible with user interfaces and can also disinfect microbe-sprayed surfaces. This type of disposable plasma generator represents an advance in biodegradable devices made from renewable and flexible materials. The technology will revolutionize the future design of protective clothing and skin-like sensors for robots as well as prostheses used in contaminated environments.

The material is made of two layers of paper. The first is laminated with cellulose fibers and three polymer layers embedding a thin coat of aluminum applied using vacuum evaporation. This first layer is connected to an upper layer of paper with an adhesive. The paper of the upper layer is covered with conductive silver ink, matching the hexagonal cell patterns. The plasma state is generated when an electrical load ranging from ± 1 to ± 10 kV ionizes the air, causing a combination of heat, ultraviolet radiation and ozone that kills germs on the surface and within the device.

The fibrous nature of the paper and its porous interior provide a large area of contact with air. This contributes to maintaining the plasma state while it allows cooling of the entire device.

The paper-based device sanitizes surfaces thanks to plasma

Potential

The team members are pursuing this research with a view to producing biomimetic devices that mimic the way skin protects us against microbes and bacteria by integrating sensors that will measure touch, pressure, temperature and humidity. They will be able to measure brain waves and sweat to determine the onset of alertness and stress situations. In fact, it will be possible to create electronic devices that will connect machines to humans. In addition, these detectors could be used to design covers for prostheses, building walls or vehicle surfaces to sterilize machines, robots or equipment before entering or exiting contaminated areas. Similarly, cleaning cycles of architectural walls could be programmed continuously in order to fight off microbes.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Le premier papier plasma désinfectant - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Le premier papier plasma désinfectant


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

On n’attendra plus que les uniformes et les accessoires que nous portons dans les laboratoires soient sales pour les décontaminer. Une équipe de chercheurs de la State University, au New Jersey, et de l’Université de Floride à Gainesville, a créé un dispositif à base de papier capable de s’autodésinfecter en tuant les bactéries par l’action de la matière excitée.

Un état plasma décontaminant

L’équipe, dirigée par Aaron Mazzeo, professeur assistant au Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Rutgers, a constaté que lorsqu’une haute tension était appliquée sur des feuilles empilées de papier métallisé, un état plasma était engendré. Le plasma, découvert par le chimiste et physicien Irving Langmuir en 1928, est le quatrième état de la matière, les autres étant les états solide, liquide et gazeux. Il s’agit d’un état de la matière constituée de particules chargées, d’ions et d’électrons qui errent loin de leurs atomes d’origine, provoqué par une énergie thermique ou électrique.

L’état plasma

L’état plasma généré dans le papier créé par l’équipe est capable de désactiver 99 % des bactéries Saccharomyces cerevisiae et Escherichia coli en 30 secondes de traitement. La bactérie E. coli est l’une des espèces de microbes les plus prolifiques sur la planète. La plupart des souches sont inoffensives et beaucoup contribuent à la santé de l’intestin humain. Par contre, les types d’ E. coli néfastes peuvent causer de la diarrhée, de la pneumonie, des infections des voies urinaires et d’autres maladies mortelles. Selon Qiang Richard Chen, doctorant au Département de biologie végétale de l’École des sciences environnementales et biologiques de Rutgers, les résultats des tests préliminaires du papier désinfectant ont montré qu’il est aussi capable de tuer les spores des bactéries, qui sont difficiles à éliminer en utilisant des méthodes classiques de stérilisation.

Application et fonctionnement

Cette étude est intitulée « Paper-based plasma sanitizers ». Elle a été coécrite par Jingjin Xiea, Qiang Chenb, Poornima Suresha, Subrata Royc, James F. Whiteb et Aaron D. Mazzeoa. Elle a été publiée le 1er  mai 2017 dans la revue Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America.

Dans l’article, l’équipe explique la méthode de conception de ce dispositif dont le fonctionnement ne nécessite pas le recours à un gaz particulier pour provoquer l’état plasma. En outre, elle montre que cette technologie est capable d’épouser les formes des surfaces courbes et peut être adaptée aux structures extensibles de type kirigami. La technologie est notamment compatible avec les interfaces utilisateur et permet aussi de désinfecter des surfaces pulvérisées de microbes. Ce type de générateur de plasma jetable représente une avancée vers des dispositifs biodégradables fabriqué à partir de matériaux renouvelables et souples. Cette technologie révolutionnera la conception future de vêtements de protection et de capteurs imitant la peau pour les robots et les prothèses employés dans des environnements contaminés.

Le matériau est composé de deux couches de papier. La première est stratifiée de fibres de cellulose et de trois couches de polymères qui enchâssent une mince épaisseur d’aluminium appliquée par évaporation sous vide. Cette première couche est reliée à une couche supérieure de papier par un adhésif. Le papier de la couche supérieure est recouvert d’une encre conductrice en argent, épousant les motifs de cellules hexagonales. L’état plasma est généré lorsqu’une charge électrique, de tension oscillant de ± 1 à ± 10 kV, ionise l’air provoquant une combinaison de chaleur, de rayonnement ultraviolet et d’ozone qui tue les microbes sur la surface et à l’intérieur du dispositif.

La nature fibreuse du papier et son intérieur poreux fournissent une grande surface de contact avec l’air. Celui-ci contribue à maintenir l’état plasma tout en permettent le refroidissement de l’ensemble du dispositif.

Le papier désinfecte les surfaces grâce à un plasma

Perspectives

L’équipe continue cette recherche en visant à produire des dispositifs biomimétiques qui imitent la façon dont la peau nous protège contre les microbes et les bactéries, et ce, en intégrant des capteurs qui effectueront des mesures relatives au toucher, à la pression, à la température et à l’humidité. Ils seront capables de mesurer les ondes cérébrales et la sueur afin de déterminer le déclenchement des états de vigilance et de stress. Il sera possible de fait de créer des dispositifs électroniques qui connectent les machines aux humains. En outre, ces détecteurs pourront servir à concevoir des housses pour prothèses, parois de bâtiments ou surfaces de véhicules, permettant de stériliser des machines, des robots ou des équipements avant qu’ils ne pénètrent dans des zones contaminées et à nouveau, lorsqu’ils en sortent. De même, des cycles de nettoyage des parois architecturales pourraient être programmés en continu afin d’éviter le passage des microbes.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *