SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Impact of Digital on Work - By : Sylvie Nadeau, Kurt Landau,

Impact of Digital on Work


Sylvie Nadeau
Sylvie Nadeau Author profile
Sylvie Nadeau is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. Her research interests include musculoskeletal injury prevention, OHS management, and integrated risk management (operational and OHS).
Research laboratories : Applied Human Factors Lab 

Kurt Landau
Kurt Landau Author profile
Kurt Landau is an adjunct professor at ÉTS and Professor Emeritus at TU Darmstadt (Germany). His research interests focus on occupational sciences, OHS risk analysis and prevention.

Digital screen

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

Finding creative ways to improve human quality of life is one of the roles of an engineer. When it comes to technological developments, engineering experience has taught us that doing the right thing at the beginning of the design phase or, in other words, taking a preventative approach, is the way to go.

Industry 4.0

Among other goals, the new Industry 4.0 production paradigm seeks to support or enhance human capabilities and skills, and assist in training workers. The literature shows that important changes will take place in our organizations—and have already begun in some circles—as to design, management, work organization and interactions between tasks and equipment. The human factor will remain essential in production systems, and design must be centred on these needs. All social stakeholders involved in the changes will need to be consulted and to participate in these developments.

 

Manufacturing device

The manufacturing sector, for example, faces challenges like tailor-made mass production, productivity, competition, labour shortage, trade attractiveness, and an aging worker population. All production systems are covered by Industry 4.0. The most studied activities to date in the literature are assembly, maintenance and order preparation. In occupational health and safety (OHS), development interests lie in human error mitigation, musculoskeletal injury risks and industrial hygiene (e.g. exposure to contaminants), development and use of intelligent protective equipment, alert transmissions, and danger zone identification allowing workers to withdraw from certain situations. Smart objects—exoskeletons supporting manual handling or functioning as sitting-standing workstations, smart gloves and smart glasses, to name a few—are now appearing on assembly lines. In 4.0, production systems are becoming more and more integrated and complex—process interdependencies, large number of variables and arbitration to manage—and focused on products with high added value based on advanced technologies or knowledge. A sustainable business must balance its performance imperatives with the well-being of its workers. How can this arbitration be performed?

Transitional Research Projects

German research teams (TU Darmstadt) have developed tools to assess change readiness being brought to organizations by 4.0. They also offer tools to monitor implementations. Nevertheless, many questions concerning relevance, usability, risk, and acceptability still remain. Professor Nadeau has more than 25 years of experience in intervention or applied research with various industry sectors, including manufacturing, mining and aircraft maintenance. Together with her collaborators and students of the Applied Human Factors Lab, she focuses on the usability and integrated risk management aspects of complex systems and digital technologies.

Car design based on Industry 4.0

Virtual dummies, field studies, laboratory testing, or expert elicitation are used to find solutions to workload issues, human-equipment interface, work-environment compatibility, human error or complex decision-making in uncertain situations, and real-life conditions of use. It is not enough to have access to a lot of data. The data need to be collected efficiently and effectively, then any relevant data (quantitative and qualitative) must be put together at minimum cost, integrating new technological tools into the current processes and taking into account various issues and constraints, including workplace health and safety (OHS). The integrated risk management models (operations and OHS) offered to partners are based on artificial intelligence, resilience engineering, or systemic engineering.

Conclusion

Digital technologies will have a swift and significant impact on our work. Several uses must still be defined. Potential opportunities and earnings—improvements in quality, turnaround, and more—are second to none. Challenges will have to be overcome with all the technical and scientific rigour that engineers are able to demonstrate and for which they have been trained. Developments will need to be initiated though systemic multi- and inter-disciplinary teams to ensure quality of life for all workers throughout their career.

Sylvie Nadeau

Author's profile

Sylvie Nadeau is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. Her research interests include musculoskeletal injury prevention, OHS management, and integrated risk management (operational and OHS).

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research laboratories : Applied Human Factors Lab 

Author profile

Kurt Landau

Author's profile

Kurt Landau is an adjunct professor at ÉTS and Professor Emeritus at TU Darmstadt (Germany). His research interests focus on occupational sciences, OHS risk analysis and prevention.

Author profile


Research laboratories :

Applied Human Factors Lab 

Field(s) of expertise :

Industry 4.0  Risk Management  Health and Safety at Work 

comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Incidences du numérique sur le travail - Par : Sylvie Nadeau, Kurt Landau,

Incidences du numérique sur le travail


Sylvie Nadeau
Sylvie Nadeau est professeure au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses intérêts de recherche comprennent la prévention des lésions musculo-squelettiques, la gestion de la SST et la gestion intégrée des risques (opérationnels et SST).
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Kurt Landau
Kurt Landau est professeur associé à l’ÉTS et professeur émérite à la TU Darmstadt (Allemagne). Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur les sciences du travail, l’analyse des risques de SST et leur prévention.

Écran numérique

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteurs.

Le rôle de l’ingénieur est, entre autres, d’améliorer la qualité de vie de l’humain de façon créative. Quand il est question de développements technologiques, les connaissances en ingénierie nous apprennent que faire les bonnes choses dès le début de la conception, autrement dit agir de façon préventive, est la voie à adopter.

L’industrie 4.0

Le nouveau paradigme de production Industrie 4.0 vise, entre autres, à soutenir ou à rehausser les capacités et les compétences humaines, de même qu’à assister les travailleurs dans leur formation. La littérature nous démontre que des changements importants auront lieu dans nos organisations (et sont d’ailleurs déjà enclenchés dans certains milieux) quant à la conception, la gestion, l’organisation du travail et les interactions tâches-équipements. L’humain demeurera essentiel dans nos systèmes de production et nos conceptions doivent être centrées sur ses besoins. Tous les acteurs sociaux concernés par ces changements devront être consultés et participer activement aux dits changements.

Appareil de fabrication

Le secteur manufacturier, par exemple, fait face à des défis de sur-mesure de masse, de productivité, de compétitivité, de pénurie de main-d’œuvre, d’attractivité de métier et de vieillissement de sa population de travailleurs et de travailleusesDans cet article, le masculin est utilisé comme générique dans le seul but de ne pas alourdir le texte.. L’ensemble des systèmes de production est visé par Industrie 4.0. Les activités les plus étudiées à ce jour dans la littérature sont l’assemblage, la maintenance et la préparation de commandes. En santé et en sécurité du travail (SST), les intérêts de développement se situent dans la mitigation de l’erreur humaine, des risques de lésions musculo-squelettiques et de l’hygiène industrielle (p. ex. exposition à divers contaminants), le développement et l’utilisation d’équipements de protection intelligents, la transmission d’alertes et l’identification de zones de dangers permettant aux travailleurs de se retirer de certaines situations. Des objets intelligents, tels que des exosquelettes soutenant la manutention manuelle ou faisant office de postes assis-debout, des gants intelligents et des lunettes intelligentes font, entre autres, leur entrée sur les lignes d’assemblage. En 4.0, nos systèmes de production deviennent de plus en plus intégrés, complexes (interdépendance des différents processus, nombre considérable de variables et d’arbitrages à gérer), centrés sur des produits à haute valeur ajoutée et conçus à partir de technologies ou connaissances de pointe. Une entreprise durable doit équilibrer ses impératifs de performance et le bien-être de ses travailleurs. Comment faire cet arbitrage?

Des projets de recherche pour favoriser la transition

Des équipes de recherche allemandes (TU Darmstadt) ont développé des outils d’évaluation de la préparation aux changements que le 4.0 amène dans les organisations. Elles ont également proposé des outils pour faire un suivi de l’implantation. Néanmoins, beaucoup de questions d’utilité, d’utilisabilité, de risques, et d’acceptabilité demeurent. La professeure Nadeau compte plus de 25 ans d’expérience d’interventions ou de recherche appliquée avec divers secteurs industriels, dont les secteurs manufacturiers, miniers et de maintenance d’aéronefs. Avec ses collaborateurs et leurs étudiants du Laboratoire de génie des facteurs humains appliqué, elle  se consacre aux aspects d’utilisabilité et de gestion intégrée des risques liés aux systèmes complexes et aux technologies numériques.

Voiture découlant de l’industrie 4.0

L’utilisation de mannequins virtuels, des études de terrain, des essais en laboratoire ou l’élicitation d’experts permettent de trouver des solutions à des problématiques de charge de travail, d’interface humain-équipement, de compatibilité avec le travail et son environnement, d’erreur humaine ou de décision complexe en situation d’incertitudes et conditions réelles d’utilisation. Il ne suffit pas d’avoir accès à beaucoup de données. Il faut les récolter de façon efficace et efficiente, ensuite mettre en relation les données utiles (quantitatives et qualitatives) à moindre coût en intégrant les nouveaux outils technologiques aux processus actuels et en tenant compte des divers enjeux et contraintes, dont la santé et sécurité au travail (SST). Les modèles de gestion intégrée des risques (opérations et SST) proposés aux partenaires reposent, par exemple, sur l’intelligence artificielle, l’ingénierie de la résilience ou l’ingénierie systémique.

Conclusion

Les technologies numériques auront une incidence importante sur le travail, et ce, rapidement. Plusieurs usages restent à être définis. Les opportunités et les gains sont sans pareils (améliorations de la qualité, des temps de cycles et autres). Les défis devront être surmontés avec toute la rigueur technique et scientifique dont savent faire preuve les ingénieurs et les ingénieures et pour lesquelles ils sont formés. Les développements devront se faire en équipes multi voir interdisciplinaires et de façon systémique afin d’assurer à nos travailleurs une qualité de vie au travail, tout au long de leur parcours professionnel.

Sylvie Nadeau

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Sylvie Nadeau est professeure au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses intérêts de recherche comprennent la prévention des lésions musculo-squelettiques, la gestion de la SST et la gestion intégrée des risques (opérationnels et SST).

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Laboratoires de recherche : Laboratoire de génie des facteurs humains appliqué 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Kurt Landau

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Kurt Landau est professeur associé à l’ÉTS et professeur émérite à la TU Darmstadt (Allemagne). Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur les sciences du travail, l’analyse des risques de SST et leur prévention.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *