SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
3D Printing: New Prospects for Energy Materials - By : Hanen Hattab,

3D Printing: New Prospects for Energy Materials


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

3D-printing

Header image was purchased on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

As 3D printing gains new ground in industry, its techniques are becoming more refined and its range of materials is expanding. Energy materials offer special challenges to engineers because they require specific measures and control. Researchers at Purdue University have developed a new, faster, safer 3D printing method that can produce greener energy materials.

What Is an Energy Material?

Energy materials are characterized by their ability to release energy intensively over a very short time. They can be in a solid, liquid or gas form and are used in military and civil applications. The released energy can be used as thermal or mechanical energy. From these materials, explosives and pyrotechnics, for example, can be made.

New Approach

The team used a simple inkjet printer to print a nano-thermite-based material. As explained in the following video, nano-thermites are composites made of oxidants and reductive agents mixed at the nanoscale. They are characterized by the large amounts of heat produced when ignited.

The printer must produce this type of material with care, without creating voids that can cause serious accidents. To do this, the team has equipped the printer with a device that allows to safely deposit energy materials, and achieve a high level of accuracy. The printer nozzle generates high amplitude ultrasonic vibrations, which reduces friction of highly viscous materials on its walls and facilitates their passage. The method also makes ensures a more accurate flow.

The team created this technology to print viscous materials with a consistency similar to clay. This type of material presents several constraints in the printing of high-resolution parts. Jeffrey Rhoads, professor at Purdue’s School of Mechanical Engineering and co-author of the study, said the method is notable for its ability to print energy materials without using solvents to reduce their viscosity. With this new technology production, is faster, more environmentally friendly, and cheaper. The method can also be used to print biomedical implants, foods, drugs, etc.

Testing

The study entitled “Selectively-deposited energetic materials: A feasibility study of the piezoelectric inkjet printing of nanothermites,” was co-authored by Allison K. Murray, Whitney A. Novotny, Trevor J. Fleck, I. Emre Gunduz, Steven F. Son, George T-C. Chiu, and Rhoads, and published in Science Direct in August 2018.

It demonstrated the feasibility and effectiveness of the proposed method. The researchers tested three piezoelectric inkjet printers to determine the ability of each system to make aluminum oxide and copper nano-thermite-based parts. They also tested the material’s propagation and combustion speeds from the samples obtained.

Professional Prospects

Rhoads launched the start-up Next Offset Solutions Inc., in collaboration with his colleagues. The company specializes in the manufacture of 3D printers and energy materials. Their aim is to supply their products to the US Department of Defense and Department of Energy as well as their subcontractors.

The new printing process was patented with the help of the Purdue Office of Technology Commercialization.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


Field(s) of expertise :

Additive Manufacturing 

comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Impression 3D : nouvelles perspectives pour les matériaux énergétiques - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Impression 3D : nouvelles perspectives pour les matériaux énergétiques


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Impression 3D

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Plus l’impression 3D gagne de nouveaux terrains industriels, plus ses techniques se peaufinent et sa gamme de matériaux s’élargit. La catégorie des matériaux énergétiques présente spécialement plusieurs défis aux ingénieurs, car ils nécessitent des mesures et une maîtrise particulières. Des chercheurs de l’Université Purdue ont mis au point une nouvelle méthode d’impression 3D rapide, sécuritaire et capable de produire des matériaux énergétiques plus écologiques.

Qu’est-ce qu’un matériau énergétique?

Les matériaux énergétiques se caractérisent par leur capacité à libérer intensément de l’énergie en un temps très court. Ils peuvent être sous forme solide, liquide ou gazeuse et sont mis à profit dans des applications militaires et civiles. L’énergie libérée peut être utilisée comme énergie thermique ou mécanique. À partir de ces matériaux, on peut fabriquer, par exemple, des explosifs et du matériel pyrotechnique.

Une nouvelle approche

L’équipe a utilisé une simple imprimante à jet d’encre afin d’imprimer un matériau à base de nanothermite. Comme l’explique la vidéo suivante, les nanothermites sont des composites à base d’oxydants et de réducteurs mélangés à l’échelle nanométrique. Ils se caractérisent par la production d’une grande quantité de chaleur lorsqu’ils sont enflammés.

L’imprimante doit imprimer ce type de matériau avec précaution en évitant de créer des vides, car cela peut provoquer des accidents dangereux. Pour ce faire, l’équipe a doté l’imprimante d’un dispositif qui permet de déposer les matériaux énergétiques en toute sécurité, en atteignant un niveau de précision élevé. La buse de l’imprimante génère des vibrations ultrasoniques de forte amplitude, ce qui réduit le frottement des matériaux très visqueux sur ses parois et en assure le passage. La méthode permet également de réguler le débit de façon plus précise.

L’équipe a créé cette technologie afin d’imprimer des matériaux visqueux, d’une consistance semblable à celle de l’argile. Ce type de matériau présente plusieurs contraintes dans l’impression de pièces à haute résolution. Jeffrey Rhoads, professeur à la Purdue’s School of Mechanical Engineering et co-auteur de l’étude, a déclaré que cette méthode se distingue par sa capacité à imprimer des matériaux énergétiques sans avoir recours aux solvants pour en réduire la viscosité. Grâce à cette nouvelle technologie, la production est plus rapide, plus écologique et coûte moins cher. La méthode peut être aussi utilisée dans l’impression d’implants biomédicaux, d’aliments, de médicaments, etc.

Tests effectués

L’étude s’intitule « Selectively-deposited energetic materials: A feasibility study of the piezoelectric inkjet printing of nanothermites ». Elle a été coécrite par Allison K. Murray, Whitney A. Novotny, Trevor J. Fleck, I. Emre Gunduz, Steven F. Son, George T-C. Chiu, et Rhoads, et a été publiée dans Science Direct au mois d’août 2018.

Cette étude a permis de démontrer la faisabilité et l’efficacité de la méthode proposée. Les chercheurs ont testé trois imprimantes à jet d’encre piézoélectrique afin de vérifier la capacité de chaque système à réaliser des pièces à base de nanothermite d’oxyde d’aluminium et de cuivre. L’équipe a aussi testé la vitesse de propagation et de combustion du matériau à partir des échantillons obtenus.

Perspectives professionnelles

Rhoads a lancé l’entreprise en démarrage Next Offset Solutions Inc. en collaboration avec ses collègues. L’entreprise est spécialisée dans la fabrication des imprimantes 3D et des matériaux énergétiques. Elle ambitionne de fournir ses produits au Département de la Défense et au Département de l’Énergie des États-Unis ainsi qu’à leurs sous-traitants.

Le nouveau procédé d’impression a été breveté avec l’aide du Purdue Office of Technology Commercialization.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


Domaines d'expertise :

Fabrication additive 

commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *