SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS

Regenerating Intervertebral Discs with Chitosan Hydrogels


Atma Adoungotchodo
Atma Adoungotchodo Author profile
Atma Adoungotchodo is a PhD student in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. Her research project focuses on the development of injectable chitosan hydrogels for intervertebral disc regeneration.

Yasaman Alinejad
Yasaman Alinejad Author profile
Yasaman Alinejad is a PhD intern in the ÉTS Department of Mechanical Engineering. Her research project focuses on intervertebral disc regeneration and cell micro-encapsulation.

Michael Grant
Michael Grant Author profile
Michael P Grant is a research assistant at the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, Montreal’s Jewish General Hospital, McGill University.

Laura M Epure
Laura M Epure Author profile
Laura M Epure is a research assistant at the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, Montreal’s Jewish General Hospital, McGill University

John Antoniou
John Antoniou Author profile
John Antoniou is an Orthopedic Surgeon at Montreal’s Jewish General Hospital, Associate Professor and Director of Research at the Division of Orthopedic Surgery, Department of Surgery, McGill University.

Fackson Mwale
Fackson Mwale Author profile
Fackson Mwale is a Professor in the Department of Surgery at McGill University. His research focuses on intervertebral disc tissue engineering.

Sophie Lerouge
Sophie Lerouge Author profile
Sophie Lerouge is a Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS and Director of the Laboratory of Endovascular Biomaterials at the CHUM Research Center (CRCHUM).

Intervertebral disc degeneration

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

Cell therapy using cells encapsulated in injectable matrices is a promising technique for the minimally invasive treatment of intervertebral disc degeneration, one of the major causes of back pain which affects 19% of the world’s population. However, this therapeutic approach is limited by the generally low mechanical properties of injectable matrices. This study demonstrates the potential of new injectable chitosan hydrogels formulations with interesting mechanical properties for the regeneration of intervertebral discs, in particular their central part called nucleus pulposus (NP).

Introduction

Intervertebral disc (IVD) degeneration is one of the leading causes of lower back pain [1], which affects 19% of the worldwild population [2]. Current techniques in managing this dysfunction are not only very invasive, but also ineffective for the complete restoration of IVD biomechanical functions. Therefore, developing new minimally invasive techniques, focused on the repair or restoration of IVD, is relevant. Cell therapy is one of the promising techniques for this purpose. This technique involves injecting specific cells and molecules, potentially encapsulated in biocompatible matrices, with the objective of regenerating the disc, specifically its central part: the nucleus pulposus (NP). However, this application is limited by the generally poor mechanical properties of the injectable matrices studied so far [3, 4].

Our team has recently developed injectable chitosan“Chitosan is a type of fibre derived from chitin, a substance that develops in the hard outer shells of crustaceans such as crab, crayfish, shrimp and squid.” Ref. livestrong.com https://www.livestrong.com/article/225178-what-is-chitosan-used-for/ hydrogels with enhanced mechanical properties and better cytocompatibilityCytocompatibility is the capability of a material or environment to tolerate nearby cells without affecting their survival or function. [5]. Those formulations, which are liquid at room temperature, gel at 37° C, and could be optimized for IVD regeneration. The basic objective of this research is to characterize these new formulations and to determine those that present similar mechanical properties to human NP, while allowing the survival of encapsulated NP cells, and the synthesis of a tissue with a similar composition to that of native NP.

Materials and Methods

The hydrogels were prepared by mixing an acidic solution of chitosan and gelling agentSolution used to induce gelation. solutions consisting of sodium hydrogen carbonate (SHC), a phosphate buffer (PB) and/or β-glycerophosphate (BGP). The composition of the four tested formulations is shown in Table 1.

Table 1 Composition of chitosan hydrogel formulations and their osmolality

Formulation of tested hydrogels

Rheological tests with a rotational rheometer (Anton Paar) at room temperature (22° C) and body temperature (37° C) were performed to test the stability of the formulations at 22° C and the gelation profile at 37° C. Mechanical tests in unconfined compression on hydrogels incubated for 24 h at 37° C were performed to determine Young’s secant modulusMechanical parameters to characterize the rigidity of a material of each sample. These mechanical properties were compared to those of human NP in unconfined compression using an incremental stress relaxation test [6].

The osmolarity“Concentration of osmotically active particles in a solution expressed in osmoles per litre (Osm.L-1) of the solution.” Ref. The Free Dictionary https://medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/osmolarity of these hydrogels was also measured. Then, bovine NP cells were encapsulated in these hydrogels and cultured for fourteen days at 37° C. Viability tests using AlamarBlue® and LIVE/DEAD® assay were performed to evaluate the metabolic activity of the encapsulated cells and their viability, respectively. The synthetic activity of these cells was also evaluated by measuring the amount of glycosaminoglycansHydrophilic macromolecule responsible for the high degree of hydration of a healthy disc and therefore its interesting compression properties (GAG) produced by the 1-dimethyl methylene (DMMB) assay. The injectability of the hydrogels was tested in explanted human discs using 25-gauge needles.

Steps in hydrogel preparation

Figure 1 Preparation Method of Hydrogels

Results

All the hydrogel formulations, except for the conventional formulation (1), have a low storage modulus G’“The measure of the deformation energy stored by the sample during the shear process.” Réf. World of Rheology http://www.world-of-rheology.com/en/glossary/entries/definition/storage_modulus_g and are stable at 22° C. This modulus evolves rapidly at 37° C, confirming the thermosensitivityIn physics, quality of products whose properties vary according to heat of the materials. The new hydrogel formulations have higher mechanical properties in compression than the conventional formulation (Figure 2 A, B, C). Stress relaxation tests show that two of these new formulations (2 and 3) present mechanical properties similar to human NP mechanical properties (FIG. 2 D).

Mechanical properties of hydrogels

Figure 2 The mechanical properties of the new hydrogel formulations (2, 3.4) in unconfined compression are much higher than the conventional formulation (1). A) Stress strain curve, B) and C) Secant modulus at 15 and 50% D) Mechanical properties of hydrogel formulations compared to human nucleus pulposus in stress relaxation.

With regard to the biocompatibility results, the conventional formulation (1) is hypertonic with osmolality > 800 mOsmol/kg, while all the other formulations have osmolality values close to the physiological values within the disc (430 mOsmol/kg) [7]. A viability rate of approximately 85% of the encapsulated cells was observed, the highest metabolic activities being after 14 days of culture for formulations 2 and 3 (Figure 3). On the other hand, formulation 2 has the highest GAG production (Figure 4).

Biological properties of hydrogels

Figure 3 The new formulations show better biocompatibility after 14 days in culture A) Cell viability evaluated by LIVE/DEAD (red = dead cell, green = living cell) B) Metabolic activity of cells using AlamarBlue C) Amount of DNA present after 14 days

Table 2 GAG production as per the formulation

Production of glycosaminoglycans GAGs

Finally, injectability tests in explanted human discs show good retention of formulation 3. Not only does the initial viscosity of this gel allow injection with a smaller-diameter needle in addition to filling the defects present in the disc, but also shows gelation rapid enough to prevent leakage from the injection site (Figure 4).

Hydrogel injection in a human nucleus pulposus

Figure 4 (A) Injection of the hydrogel (tinted with toluidine blue) into the NP of a human disc through the fibrous ring with a 25-gauge needle. The sample is kept at 37° C for 30 minutes. (B) 0.5 ml of hydrogel injected into disc 1. (C) 0.3 ml in disc 2.

Conclusion

This study concludes that Formulation 2 is a promising injectable matrix for the intervertebral disc repair because it exhibits mechanical properties similar to human NP and provides an adequate environment for cell survival as well as for the synthesis and retention of glycosaminoglycans, an important component of NP tissue. The remainder of the project will focus on studying the benefits of adding a bioactive molecule to cell synthesis activity and therefore to the regenerative capacity of the technology. Ultimately, this project will develop injectable hydrogels combining cells and bioactive agents for regenerative medicine, specifically intervertebral disc regeneration.

Additional Information

For more information on this research, please refer to the following paper:

Alinejad, Yasaman, Atma Adoungotchodo, Michael P Grant, Laura M Epure, John Antoniou, Fackson Mwale and Sophie Lerouge. 2018. “Injectable Chitosan Hydrogels with Enhanced Mechanical Properties for Nucleus Pulposus Regeneration.” Tissue Engineering Part A. doi: 10.1089/ten.tea.2018.0170

Atma Adoungotchodo

Author's profile

Atma Adoungotchodo is a PhD student in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. Her research project focuses on the development of injectable chitosan hydrogels for intervertebral disc regeneration.

Program : Mechanical Engineering  Healthcare Technology 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Biomaterial and Endovascular Implants 

Research laboratories : LIO – Imaging and orthopedics research laboratory 

Author profile

Yasaman Alinejad

Author's profile

Yasaman Alinejad is a PhD intern in the ÉTS Department of Mechanical Engineering. Her research project focuses on intervertebral disc regeneration and cell micro-encapsulation.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Biomaterial and Endovascular Implants 

Research laboratories : LIO – Imaging and orthopedics research laboratory 

Author profile

Michael Grant

Author's profile

Michael P Grant is a research assistant at the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, Montreal’s Jewish General Hospital, McGill University.

Author profile

Laura M Epure

Author's profile

Laura M Epure is a research assistant at the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, Montreal’s Jewish General Hospital, McGill University

Author profile

John Antoniou

Author's profile

John Antoniou is an Orthopedic Surgeon at Montreal’s Jewish General Hospital, Associate Professor and Director of Research at the Division of Orthopedic Surgery, Department of Surgery, McGill University.

Author profile

Fackson Mwale

Author's profile

Fackson Mwale is a Professor in the Department of Surgery at McGill University. His research focuses on intervertebral disc tissue engineering.

Author profile

Sophie Lerouge

Author's profile

Sophie Lerouge is a Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS and Director of the Laboratory of Endovascular Biomaterials at the CHUM Research Center (CRCHUM).

Program : Mechanical Engineering  Healthcare Technology 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Biomaterial and Endovascular Implants 

Research laboratories : LIO – Imaging and orthopedics research laboratory 

Author profile

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Des hydrogels de chitosane pour régénérer les disques intervertébraux - Par : Atma Adoungotchodo, Yasaman Alinejad, Michael Grant, Laura M Epure, John Antoniou, Fackson Mwale, Sophie Lerouge,

Des hydrogels de chitosane pour régénérer les disques intervertébraux


Atma Adoungotchodo
Atma Adoungotchodo Profil de l'auteur(e)
Atma Adoungotchodo est doctorante au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Son projet de recherche porte sur la mise au point d’hydrogels de chitosane injectables pour la régénérescence du disque intervertébral.

Yasaman Alinejad
Yasaman Alinejad Profil de l'auteur(e)
Yasaman Alinejad est stagiaire postdoctorale au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Son projet de recherche porte sur la régénérescence du disque intervertébral et la micro-encapsulation des cellules.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Michael Grant
Michael P Grant est assistant de recherche au Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, Hôpital général juif de Montréal, Université McGill.

Laura M Epure
Laura M Epure est assistante de recherche au Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, Hôpital général juif de Montréal, Université McGill

John Antoniou
John Antoniou est chirurgien orthopédiste à l’Hôpital général juif de Montréal, professeur agrégé et directeur de recherche à la division de chirurgie orthopédique du département de chirurgie, Université McGill.

Fackson Mwale
Fackson Mwale est professeur au Département de chirurgie de l’Université McGill. Ses recherches portent sur le génie tissulaire pour le disque intervertébral.

Sophie Lerouge
Sophie Lerouge est professeure au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS et directrice du Laboratoire de biomatériaux endovasculaire au Centre de recherche du CHUM (CRCHUM).

dégénérescence du disque intervertébral

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

La thérapie cellulaire utilisant des cellules encapsulées dans des matrices injectables est une technique prometteuse pour le traitement minimalement invasif de la dégénérescence du disque intervertébral, qui représente l’une des causes majeures des maux de dos dont souffre 19 % de la population mondiale. Toutefois, cette approche thérapeutique est limitée par les propriétés mécaniques généralement faibles des matrices injectables. L’étude actuelle démontre le potentiel de nouvelles formulations d’hydrogels de chitosane thermosensibles ayant d’intéressantes propriétés mécaniques pour la régénération du disque intervertébral, notamment sa partie centrale appelée le noyau pulpeux (NP).

Introduction

La dégénérescence du disque intervertébral (DIV) est l’une des causes importantes des maux dans le bas du dos [1] dont souffre 19 % de la population mondiale [2]. Les techniques actuelles de prise en charge de ce dysfonctionnement sont non seulement très invasives, mais aussi inefficaces pour la restauration complète des fonctions biomécaniques du DIV. L’élaboration de nouvelles techniques minimalement invasives, axées sur la réparation ou la restauration du DIV, devient donc pertinente. L’une des techniques prometteuses pour cette application est la thérapie cellulaire. Cette technique consiste à injecter des cellules et des molécules particulières, éventuellement encapsulées dans des matrices biocompatibles, dans l’objectif de régénérer le disque, notamment sa partie centrale : le noyau pulpeux (NP). Toutefois, cette application est limitée par les propriétés mécaniques généralement très faibles des matrices injectables étudiées jusqu’à présent [3, 4].

Notre équipe a récemment mis au point des hydrogels de chitosane« macromolécule présente sur la carapace des crustacés et des mollusques ainsi sur certains champignons » réf. Le journal des femmes. https://sante-medecine.journaldesfemmes.fr/faq/17651-chitosane-chitosan-definition injectables ayant de meilleures propriétés mécaniques et une meilleurecytocompatibilitéLa cytocompatibilité est la capacité d’un matériau ou d’un environnement à tolérer la présence de cellules sans affecter leur survie ni leur fonction [5]. Ces formulations, liquides à température pièce, mais se gélifiant à 37 °C, pourraient être optimisées pour la régénérescence du DIV. L’objectif formel de ce travail est d’étudier ces formulations et de déterminer celles présentant un potentiel pour le support mécanique du NP humain, tout en permettant la survie des cellules NP encapsulées et la synthèse d’un tissu de composition similaire à celui du NP natif.

Matériel et méthodes

Les hydrogels ont été préparés en mélangeant une solution acide de chitosane et des solutions d’agents gélifiantsSolution servant à induire la gélification constituées de sodium hydrogénocarbonate (SHC), de tampon phosphate (PB) et/ou de β-glycérophosphate (BGP). La composition des quatre formulations testées est présentée dans le tableau 1.

Tableau 1 Composition des formulations d’hydrogel de chitosane et leur osmolalité

Formulation des hydrogels testés

Des tests rhéologiques avec un rhéomètre rotationnel (Anton Paar) à la température pièce (22 °C) et à la température du corps (37 °C) ont été effectués afin de tester respectivement la stabilité des formulations à 22 °C et le profil de gélification à 37 °C. Les tests mécaniques en compression non confinée sur des hydrogels incubés pendant 24 h à 37 °C ont été effectués afin de déterminer le module de Young sécantParamètre mécanique permettant de caractériser la rigidité d’un matériau de chaque échantillon. Ces propriétés mécaniques ont été comparées à celles du NP humain en compression non confinée grâce à un test de relaxation de contrainte incrémentale [6].

L’osmolarité« Concentration osmotiquement active d'une solution, exprimée en molécule-gramme par litre » Ref. Termium. http://www.btb.termiumplus.gc.ca/tpv2alpha/alpha-fra.html?lang=fra&i=1&srchtxt=OSMOLARITE&index=alt&codom2nd_wet=1#resultrecs de ces hydrogels a également été mesurée. Ensuite, des cellules de NP bovines ont été encapsulées dans ces hydrogels et cultivées pendant quatorze jours à 37 °C. Des tests de viabilité par AlamarBlue® et LIVE/DEAD® ont été faits afin d’évaluer respectivement l’activité métabolique des cellules encapsulées et leur taux de viabilité. L’activité de synthèse  de ces cellules a également été évaluée en mesurant la quantité de glycosaminoglycanesMacromolécule hydrophile responsable du taux élevé d’hydratation du disque sain et donc de ses propriétés intéressantes en compression (GAG) produite par le test du 1-dymethylmethylène (DMMB). L’injectabilité de ces hydrogels a été testée dans des disques humains explantés grâce à des aiguilles de jauge 25.

Étapes de préparation des hydrogels

Figure 1 Méthode de préparation des hydrogels.

Résultats

Toutes les formulations d’hydrogels, sauf la formulation classique (1), présentent un module de stockage G’« Mesure de l'énergie de déformation emmagasinée par l'échantillon pendant le processus de cisaillement. » Réf. World of Rheology. http://www.world-of-rheology.com/fr/glossaire/entries/definition/storage_modulus_g/ faible et stable à 22 °C. Ce module évolue rapidement à 37 °C, confirmant la thermosensibilité« en physique, qualité des produits dont les propriétés varient en fonction de la chaleur » Réf. Universalis.fr de ces matériaux. Les nouvelles formulations d’hydrogel présentent des propriétés mécaniques en compression plus élevées que la formulation classique (figure 2 A, B, C). Les tests en relaxation de contrainte montrent que deux de ces nouvelles formulations (2 et 3) présentent des propriétés mécaniques similaires aux propriétés du NP humain (figure 2 D).

Propriétés mécaniques des hydrogels

Figure 2 Les propriétés mécaniques des nouvelles formulations d’hydrogel (2, 3,4) en compression non confinée sont beaucoup plus élevées que la formulation classique (1). A) Courbe contrainte déformation, B) et C) Module sécant à 15 et 50 % D) Propriétés mécaniques des formulations d’hydrogels comparées à celles du noyau pulpeux humain en relaxation de contrainte

 

En ce qui concerne les résultats de biocompatibilité, la formulation classique (la 1) est hypertonique avec une osmolalité > 800 mosmol/kg tandis que toutes les autres formulations présentent des valeurs d’osmolalité proches des valeurs physiologiques de l’intérieur du disque (430 mOsmol/kg)[7]. Un taux de viabilité d’environ 85 % des cellules encapsulées a été observé, les plus hautes activités métaboliques étant après 14 jours de culture pour les formulations 2 et 3 (Figure 3). Par contre, c’est la formulation 2 qui présente la production la plus élevée de glycosaminoglycanes (GAG) (figure 4).

Propriétés biologiques des hydrogels

Figure 3 Les nouvelles formulations présentent une meilleure biocompatibilité après 14 jours en culture A) Viabilité cellulaire évaluée par LIVE/DEAD (rouge=cellule morte, vert= cellule vivante) B) Activité métabolique des cellules par AlamarBlue, C) Quantité d’ADN présente après 14jours

Tableau 2 Production de GAG selon la formulation

Production de glycosaminoglycanes GAG

Pour finir, les tests d’injectabilité dans des disques humains explantés montrent une bonne rétention de la formulation 3. Non seulement la viscosité initiale de ce gel permet l’injection par une aiguille de petit diamètre en plus de combler les défauts présents dans le disque, mais aussi une gélification assez rapide pour éviter les fuites hors du site d’injection (figure 4).

Injection d’hydrogel dans un noyau pulpeux humain

Figure 4 (A) Injection de l’hydrogel (colorée au bleu de toluidine) dans le NP d’un disque humain à travers l’anneau fibreux avec une aiguille de jauge 25. L’échantillon est gardé à 37 °C pour 30 minutes. (B) 0,5 ml d’hydrogel injecté dans le disque 1. (C) 0,3 dans le disque 2

Conclusion

Cette étude permet de conclure que la formulation 2 est une matrice injectable prometteuse pour la réparation des disques intervertébraux parce qu’elle présente des propriétés mécaniques similaires au NP humain et un environnement adéquat pour la survie des cellules ainsi que la synthèse et la rétention de glycosaminoglycanes, un des composants importants du tissu NP. La suite du projet se concentrera sur l’étude des bénéfices de l’ajout d’une molécule bioactive sur l’activité de synthèse des cellules et donc la capacité régénérative de la technologie. À terme, ce projet permettra de mettre au point des hydrogels injectables combinant cellules et agents bioactifs pour la médecine régénératrice notamment pour la régénérescence des disques intervertébraux.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus de détails sur cette recherche, consulter l’article suivant :

Alinejad, Yasaman, Atma Adoungotchodo, Michael P Grant, Laura M Epure, John Antoniou, Fackson Mwale et Sophie Lerouge. 2018. « Injectable Chitosan Hydrogels with Enhanced Mechanical Properties for Nucleus Pulposus Regeneration ». Tissue Engineering Part A. doi: 10.1089/ten.tea.2018.0170

 

Atma Adoungotchodo

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Atma Adoungotchodo est doctorante au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Son projet de recherche porte sur la mise au point d’hydrogels de chitosane injectables pour la régénérescence du disque intervertébral.

Programme : Génie technologies de la santé  Génie mécanique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les biomatériaux et les implants endovasculaires 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIO – Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Yasaman Alinejad

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Yasaman Alinejad est stagiaire postdoctorale au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Son projet de recherche porte sur la régénérescence du disque intervertébral et la micro-encapsulation des cellules.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les biomatériaux et les implants endovasculaires 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIO – Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Michael Grant

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Michael P Grant est assistant de recherche au Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, Hôpital général juif de Montréal, Université McGill.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Laura M Epure

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Laura M Epure est assistante de recherche au Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, Hôpital général juif de Montréal, Université McGill

Profil de l'auteur(e)

John Antoniou

Profil de l'auteur(e)

John Antoniou est chirurgien orthopédiste à l’Hôpital général juif de Montréal, professeur agrégé et directeur de recherche à la division de chirurgie orthopédique du département de chirurgie, Université McGill.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Fackson Mwale

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Fackson Mwale est professeur au Département de chirurgie de l’Université McGill. Ses recherches portent sur le génie tissulaire pour le disque intervertébral.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Sophie Lerouge

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Sophie Lerouge est professeure au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS et directrice du Laboratoire de biomatériaux endovasculaire au Centre de recherche du CHUM (CRCHUM).

Programme : Génie mécanique  Génie technologies de la santé 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les biomatériaux et les implants endovasculaires 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIO – Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie 

Profil de l'auteur(e)