SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Knee Kinesiography exam, a Device to Better Evaluate Knee function - By : Nicola Hagemeister,

Knee Kinesiography exam, a Device to Better Evaluate Knee function


Nicola Hagemeister
Nicola Hagemeister Author profile
Nicola Hagemeister is a professor in the Department of Automated Manufacturing Engineering at ÉTS. Her research focuses on biomechanics and functional evaluations of the knee and shoulder

Knee kinesiography exam

The featured image is used with Emovi permission and is protected by copyright.

The knee is one of the most complex joints in the human body. When we seek help for pain, the doctor prescribes X-ray or magnetic resonance to check structural integrity. However, the pain is not always based on structural integrity. In osteoarthritis, for example, a slight deterioration of the cartilage can cause significant pain to the patient. Conversely, some patients with advanced osteoarthritis experience less pain. Researchers at the ÉTS Imaging and Orthopedics Research Laboratory (LIO) have developed a device for the objective evaluation of knee function: the “Knee Knesiography, also called KG-Knee”.

The Knee – A Complex Joint

When we walk, the only movement of the knee visible to the naked eye is flexion-extension. However, two other small rotational movements, tibial rotation and abduction-adduction, better characterize knee function.

knee movements

The knee joint

The Knee KG harness

KneeKG (Emovi inc, Canada)

To measure these movements, markers are generally placed at different anatomical landmarks on the skin (at the leg, ankle, hip…) and their spatial position is filmed while walking on a treadmill. However, since skin moves a lot around the bone, the measurements are not accurate enough to be able to measure small rotations. LIO researchers worked around the problem by installing the markers on a harness attached in strategic locations where less skin movement occurs

With this brace, the precision levels obtained in the laboratory were enough to measure small rotations not visible to the naked eye.

.

.

 

Characterizing Knee Dynamics

Kneegraphy is comparable to an electrocardiogram. The electrocardiogram produces a curve that makes it possible to measure the electrical activity of the heart. The Knee kinesiography exam has the same kind of function. The movement of markers, small reflective balls, is captured by a camera that records their position in real time. Once combined, the collected data make it possible to establish coordinate system and to break down the 3D movements into a flexion, a tibial rotation, and an adduction. These motions are translated into curves, which are analyzed and compared to normal knee functions. LIO researchers are able to extract characteristic features (minima, maxima, slopes, etc.) corresponding to risk factors for osteoarthritis progression reported in the literature. The device is FDA and Health Canada-certified and has the CE marking.

Treatment Support and More

In addition to providing an objective measure of knee function to better understand the patient’s pain level, knee kinesiography exam makes it possible to personalize treatments by pinpointing deficiencies for the physiotherapist or kinesiologist. The specialist can then suggest target exercises to correct the deficiencies, strengthening some muscles and stretching others, according to the patient’s own biomechanics. Afterwards, the same test can measure the progress and help in re-evaluating proper treatment. In the longer term, knee kinesiography exam could even be used to establish priority for orthopedic surgery, distinguishing cases where surgery is the only option from cases where nonsurgical treatment (e.g. physiotherapy) could be used.

The Knee KG harness

The Knee KG harness

Test Availability

For the moment, the test is only available in private clinics. Monitoring a cohort of 70 participants who were evaluated using knee kinesiography exam has shown several benefits. Overall, participants reported feeling less pain and reduced their medication intake. Some stopped using a cane and even chose to delay their surgical treatment. It was also noted that people understood their condition better and were more motivated to follow recommendations.

Starting in 2014, another study, consisting of a cohort of almost 800 patients with osteoarthritis, is underway to test whether the same results are found in the public sector. If the knee kinesiography exam approach is as successful as it was in the private sector, LIO researchers will propose that the test be reimbursed by the Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec.

Nicola Hagemeister

Author's profile

Nicola Hagemeister is a professor in the Department of Automated Manufacturing Engineering at ÉTS. Her research focuses on biomechanics and functional evaluations of the knee and shoulder

Program : Automated Manufacturing Engineering  Healthcare Technology 

Research laboratories : LIO – Imaging and orthopedics research laboratory 

Author profile

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
La genougraphie : mieux évaluer la fonction dynamique du genou - Par : Nicola Hagemeister,

La genougraphie : mieux évaluer la fonction dynamique du genou


Nicola Hagemeister
Nicola Hagemeister Profil de l'auteur(e)
Nicola Hagemeister est professeure au Département de génie de la production automatisée de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la biomécanique et les évaluations fonctionnelles du genou et de l’épaule.

La genougraphie

L’image d’en-tête est utilisée avec la permission de Emovi et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Le genou est l’une des articulations les plus complexes du corps humain. Lorsqu’un médecin est consulté pour une douleur, il fait effectuer une radiographie ou une résonance magnétique afin de vérifier l’intégrité des structures. Toutefois la douleur ressentie n’est pas toujours fonction de l’intégrité des structures. En cas d’arthrose par exemple, une légère détérioration du cartilage peut provoquer des douleurs importantes chez le patient. À l’inverse, certains patients ayant une arthrose avancée ont peu de douleur. Des chercheurs du Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et en orthopédie de l’ÉTS (LIO) ont mis au point un outil permettant l’évaluation objective de la fonction dynamique du genou : la genougraphie.

Le genou : une articulation complexe

Le seul mouvement du genou perceptible à l’œil nu pendant la marche est la flexion-extension. Or deux autres petits mouvements de rotation, soit la rotation tibiale et l’abduction-adduction, caractérisent davantage la fonction du genou.

Mouvements du genou

Articulation du genou

Le harnais de la genougraphie

KneeKG (Emovi inc, Canada)

Pour les mesurer, on a tenté d’installer des marqueurs sur la peau à différents endroits (au niveau de la jambe, de la cheville, de la hanche…) et de filmer la position de ces marqueurs dans l’espace pendant la marche sur un tapis roulant. Or, la peau bouge beaucoup à certains endroits, ce qui faussait les mesures et les rendait très imprécises. Les chercheurs du LIO ont su contourner le problème en installant les marqueurs sur un harnais, lequel est attaché à certains endroits stratégiques, où la peau bouge très peu.

Grâce à ce harnais, les niveaux de précision obtenus en laboratoire sont suffisants pour mesures les petites rotations non visibles à l’œil nu.

.

.

Caractériser la dynamique d’un genou

La genougraphie peut se comparer à un électrocardiogramme. L’électrocardiogramme produit une courbe qui, une fois interprétée, permet de mesurer l’activité électrique du cœur. La genougraphie remplit le même genre de fonction. Le mouvement des marqueurs, de petites boules réfléchissantes, est capté par une caméra qui en enregistre la position en temps réel. La combinaison de ces données permet d’établir un système d’axes et de décomposer le mouvement 3D en une flexion, une rotation tibiale et une adduction. Ces mouvements sont traduits en courbes, lesquelles sont analysées et comparées au fonctionnement normal du genou. En effet, les chercheurs du LIO ont su extraire des points caractéristiques (minimum, maximum, pentes…) correspondant à certains facteurs de risques de progression de l’arthrose, rapportés par la littérature. L’outil est certifié par la FDA, Santé Canada et a reçu le marquage CE.

Aide au traitement et plus!

En plus de fournir une mesure objective de la fonction du genou pour mieux comprendre l’origine de la douleur ressentie par le patient, la genougraphie permet de personnaliser le traitement en informant précisément le physiothérapeute ou le kinésiologue des déficits en jeu. Ce dernier peut donc proposer des exercices ciblés pour les corriger, en renforçant certains muscles et en étirant d’autres, selon la biomécanique propre du patient. Par la suite, le même test permet de mesurer les progrès réalisés et ainsi évaluer la pertinence du traitement. À plus long terme, la genougraphie pourrait même servir à établir un ordre de priorité pour les interventions chirurgicales orthopédiques, en différenciant les cas où la chirurgie est la seule option possible des cas où un traitement non chirurgical (p. ex. physiothérapie) pourrait être tenté.

Le harnais de la genougraphie

Le harnais de Knee KG

Accessibilité du test

Le test est offert pour l’instant seulement en clinique privée. La prise en charge d’une cohorte de 70 participants ayant été évalués au moyen de la genougraphie a démontré plusieurs bienfaits. De façon générale, les participants ont déclaré ressentir moins de douleur et ont réduit la prise de leurs médicaments. Certains ont abandonné la canne et même, ont choisi de retarder le traitement chirurgical. Il a aussi été noté que les personnes comprenaient mieux leur condition et étaient plus motivées à suivre les recommandations.

Depuis 2014, une autre étude, composée d’une cohorte de presque 800 patients souffrant d’arthrose, est en cours pour vérifier si les mêmes résultats sont obtenus dans le secteur public. Si l’approche entourant la genougraphie obtient le même succès qu’au privé, les chercheurs du LIO proposeront que ce test soit remboursable par la Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec.

Nicola Hagemeister

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Nicola Hagemeister est professeure au Département de génie de la production automatisée de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la biomécanique et les évaluations fonctionnelles du genou et de l’épaule.

Programme : Génie technologies de la santé  Génie de la production automatisée 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIO – Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *