SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Succeeding in Engineering - By : Roxane Parent-Thibeault,

Succeeding in Engineering


Roxane Parent-Thibeault
Roxane Parent-Thibeault Author profile
Roxane Parent-Thibeault is a bachelor’s student in the Department of Construction Engineering. She has been involved in a number of student clubs like the ÉTS Concrete Canoe, TribuTerre, GéniALE and Pheonix, the school’s dragon boat club.

Female engineer on a construction site

Header image was purchased on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

From Pre-University to Professional

I have always been curious; I love to tackle challenges and find solutions. I enrolled in the pure and applied science pre-university program in Cegep, but it just didn’t work for me. A counsellor referred me to the civil engineering technology program, which was more in line with my profile, and told me about the possibility of continuing at ÉTS, in construction engineering. Once I started this technology program, I began to really enjoy my classes and the good grades followed. At the end of my college diploma, I made the leap to ÉTS to further my studies.

My Experience at ÉTS

I do not regret my choice to study at ÉTS because, in addition to earning a degree that offers excellent employment opportunities, the school allows me to participate in other projects, student groups like TribuTerre, Concrete Canoe, GéniALE and Phoenix, our dragon boat club. Thanks to business internships, I also feel better prepared for my transition to the job market. Also, I had the opportunity to participate in a student-exchange semester in Romania.

Victoriei Square with the Timisoara Opera in the centre

Victoriei Square with the Timisoara Opera in the centre

Romania

Bran Castle in Transylvania

Bran Castle, thought to having once belonged to Dracula

When I arrived at ÉTS, I wanted to experience studying abroad. Since I like to challenge myself and excel, I took a chance by studying in English. I chose Romania as a destination, because I knew very little about the country. It was an awesome experience! I learned to adapt to another culture and I gained respect for the different choices and habits of the Romanian people. I mingled with the people and made many friends from different countries.

My semester in Romania took me out of my comfort zone, sometimes, to the point of wanting to go home. However, I kept my cool and found solutions to the problems that came up—not unlike the actual work of an engineer. I had the opportunity to visit 15 European countries and to develop my resourcefulness to a level I would never have hoped to achieve before this trip. Many thanks to ÉTS for allowing me the opportunity of going abroad: I feel extremely fulfilled from both a personal and professional point of view.

Women’s Contribution to Engineering

Roxane Parent-Thibeault, student at the École de technologie supérieure

Roxane Parent-Thibeault in a laboratory of the ÉTS Department of Construction Engineering

During my exchange experience in Europe, I noticed that there were many more women in engineering than at ÉTS. Indeed, both in my classes and at my dorm, filled with future engineers, the proportion of women reached almost 50%. The number of female students in engineering over there really impressed me. Why is it different here?

I do not see my future profession as a male-dominated environment. I believe that every person who is attracted to engineering has a place in this profession, even if for the moment, the sector is considered as typically male oriented. Honestly, when I work with colleagues, I do not see us as men and women working together, but as a team of experts working to find solutions. For me, gender makes no difference in a profession; it’s the skill that matters.

Everyone has a place in engineering. Just do it and believe in it.

 

Roxane Parent-Thibeault

Author's profile

Roxane Parent-Thibeault is a bachelor’s student in the Department of Construction Engineering. She has been involved in a number of student clubs like the ÉTS Concrete Canoe, TribuTerre, GéniALE and Pheonix, the school’s dragon boat club.

Program : Construction Engineering 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Faire sa place en ingénierie - Par : Roxane Parent-Thibeault,

Faire sa place en ingénierie


Roxane Parent-Thibeault
Roxane Parent-Thibeault Profil de l'auteur(e)
Roxane Parent-Thibeault est étudiante au baccalauréat au Département de génie de la construction. Elle s’est investie dans plusieurs clubs étudiants : Canoë de béton ÉTS, Tributerre, GéniALE et Pheonix, le club de bateau dragon de l'école.

Femme ingénieur sur un chantier de construction

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Du préuniversitaire au professionnel

J’ai toujours été une personne curieuse qui adore relever les défis et trouver des solutions. Je me suis inscrite au programme préuniversitaire des Sciences de la nature au cégep, mais ça ne fonctionnait pas pour moi. Un conseiller m’a orientée vers la technique de génie civil, qui correspondait davantage à mon profil et m’a parlé de la possibilité de poursuivre à l’ÉTS, en génie de la construction. Une fois cette technique commencée, j’ai commencé à vraiment aimer mes cours et les bons résultats scolaires ont suivi. À la fin de mon DEC, j’ai fait le saut pour venir étudier à l’ÉTS.

Mon expérience à l’ÉTS

Je ne regrette pas mon choix de venir à l’ÉTS parce qu’en plus d’obtenir un diplôme qui offre d’excellentes perspectives d’emploi, l’École me permet de m’investir dans d’autres projets comme les regroupements étudiants Tributerre, Canoë de béton, GéniALE et Phoenix, notre club de bateau dragon. Grâce aux stages en entreprise, je me sens aussi mieux préparée pour la transition vers le marché du travail. J’ai aussi pu passer une session d’études en échange en Roumanie.

Place Victoriei avec l'opéra de Timisoara au centre

Place Victoriei avec l’opéra de Timisoara au centre

La Roumanie

Bran Castle en Transylvanie

Château de Bran, réputé pour avoir appartenu à Dracula

Lorsque je suis arrivée à l’ÉTS, je souhaitais fortement vivre une expérience à l’internationale. Étant donné que j’aime les défis et le dépassement de soi, j’ai osé aller étudier en anglais. J’ai choisi la Roumanie comme destination, car j’en connaissais très peu sur ce pays. J’y ai vécu une expérience hors du commun. J’ai appris à m’adapter à une autre culture et à respecter les choix et les habitudes différentes des Roumains. Je me suis mêlée à la masse et je m’y suis fait beaucoup d’amis provenant de différent pays.

Cette session en Roumaine m’a sortie de ma zone de confort, au point d’avoir parfois envie de rentrer au pays. Par contre, j’ai su garder mon sang-froid et trouver des solutions aux problèmes qui se sont présentés, ce qui ressemble un peu au travail concret d’un ingénieur. J’ai pu visiter 15 pays européens et développer mon sens de la débrouillardise à un niveau que je n’aurais jamais espéré atteindre avant ce voyage. Je remercie grandement l’ÉTS de m’avoir donné l’opportunité de ce séjour à l’étranger : j’en ressors pleinement épanouie tant du point de vue personnel que professionnel..

.La contribution des femmes en génie

Roxane Parent-Thibeault, étudiante à l’École de technologie supérieure

Roxane Parent-Thibeault dans un laboratoire du Département de génie de la construction à l’ÉTS

Lors de cet échange en Europe, j’ai remarqué qu’il y avait beaucoup plus de filles en génie qu’à l’ÉTS. En effet, tant dans mes cours que dans mon dortoir rempli de futurs ingénieurs, la proportion des filles tendait vers 50 %. La quantité de filles en génie là-bas m’a impressionnée. Pour quelle raison est-ce différent ici?

Je ne vois pas ma future profession comme étant un milieu réservé aux hommes. Je crois que chaque personne qui est attirée par le métier d’ingénieur a sa place dans ce domaine, même si pour le moment, cette profession est considérée comme typiquement masculine. Honnêtement, lorsque je travaille avec des collègues, je ne nous vois pas comme des hommes et des femmes qui travaillent ensemble, mais plutôt comme une équipe d’experts à la recherche de solutions. Pour moi, le sexe ne fait aucune différence dans une profession; c’est la compétence qui est importante.

Chacun a sa place en ingénierie. Suffit de la faire et d’y croire

 

Roxane Parent-Thibeault

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Roxane Parent-Thibeault est étudiante au baccalauréat au Département de génie de la construction. Elle s’est investie dans plusieurs clubs étudiants : Canoë de béton ÉTS, Tributerre, GéniALE et Pheonix, le club de bateau dragon de l'école.

Programme : Génie de la construction 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *