SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Investigating Polymer Interface at the Nanoscale Using AFM-IR - By : Phuong Nguyen-Tri, R. E. Prudhomme,

Investigating Polymer Interface at the Nanoscale Using AFM-IR


Phuong Nguyen-Tri
Phuong Nguyen-Tri Author profile
Phuong Nguyen-Tri is an associate professor in the Department of Construction Engineering. His research focuses on composite materials, polymer cristallization, nanomaterials and energy materials.

R. E. Prudhomme
R. E. Prudhomme Author profile
R.E. Prud'homme is Emeritus Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the Université de Montréal. His research focuses on the crystallization of semi-crystalline polymers and the related phenomena.

sperulites

The header image shows sperulites and was provided by the authors. Substance CC license applies.

Controlling the morphology and crystallization of polymers and composites is crucial because it is directly related to the final properties of the material. Semi-crystalline polymers are an important fraction of commercial polymers. It is well known that miscible polymer blends can exhibit various morphologies and crystallization mechanisms, depending on the difference in melting temperature of each compound, the blend’s chemical composition, and crystallization conditions. However, examination of polymer distribution in miscible blends, especially at the nanoscale, is technically impossible despite the progress in current characterization methods. Recently, P. Nguyen-Tri and his colleague have successfully used an advanced characterization technique, known as AFM-IR*, to study polymer crystallization and nanodiffusion in complex blends, while recording high-resolution topographic images at the nanoscale. This breakthrough was made possible by the capability to identify the chemical composition of AFM-IR.

AFM-IR Operation

Operation of an atomic force microscope (AFM) coupled with a tunable pulsed laser (IR)

Figure 1 Principle and AFM-IR devices

The principle of AFM-IR is to couple an atomic force microscope (AFM) with a pulsed tunable laser (IR). The sample is illuminated with pulsed infrared radiation and the IR light absorbed by the sample is converted into heat, causing rapid thermal expansion under the tip of the AFM, which excites the resonant oscillation of the AFM cantilever. The cantilever oscillation amplitude is directly proportional to the absorption coefficient of the sample. The AFM-IR spectra are thus obtained by measuring the oscillation amplitude obtained as a function of the incident radiation wavelength. IR adsorption mapping can also be performed. This technique makes it possible to map the chemical composition at the nanoscale, as well as to provide high-resolution AFM images.

Promising Polymeric Blends

Polycaprolactone (PCL) and its blends are widely used in a variety of medical applications, including artificial skin, resorbable prostheses, chemotherapy and tissue engineering, due to their biocompatibility, biodegradability and non-toxicity (FDA-approved). Blending PCL with a non-toxic and biodegradable hydrophilic polymer like polyethylene glycol (PEG), makes it more biodegradable and hydrophobic and thus can extent the application domain of PCL. However, the addition of PEG may also cause disruption in PCL crystals. Understanding the phase separation mechanisms and crystallization of this blend is important to achieve the desired final properties. Using AFM-IR, the authors were able to obtain valuable information, for example crystallization transition, identification of polymers in the blend, and examination of the chemical interactions near the PCL/PEG interface.

Determining Chemical Composition Using AFM-IR

Fig. 2 shows an example of AFM-IR images (Figs. 2a and 2c) obtained from a traditional AFM image (Fig. 2b) of the PCL/PEG (50/50) blend detected by AFM-IR due to the different IR absorbance of these two polymers. This difference makes it possible to identify the nature of each polymer in the blend.

Chemical composition of two miscible polymers

Figure 2 PCL/PEG (50/50) blend: a) chemical composition image at the 1103 cm-1 band; b) AFM image and c) chemical composition image at the 1720 cm-1 band.

Better Understanding of Phase Separation

Using the same technique, the authors were able to detect phase separation in a blend of miscible polymers, a blend of polyhydroxybutyrate (PHB) and polyethylene glycol (PEG) at the nanoscale. A spherulite“a common form of polymeric crystallization from molten polymers or concentrated solutions is first recorded by AFM and then submitted to irradiation at a chosen wavelength. Due to the difference in IR absorption intensity of the two polymers, it is possible to identify the nature of each polymer, as shown in Figure 3. Thanks to the absorption of the carbonyl group (1720 cm-1), it is possible to identify the nature of each polymer: within a spherulitic structure, the ridges contain mainly PHB, while the valleys consist essentially of PEG. This new discovery is important in understanding phase separation in such a structure.

Composition of phases in a spherulite structure

Figure 3 AFM-IR images showing phase polymer separation in a spherulite structure of the miscible PHB/PEG mixture (50/50).

Conclusion

  AFM-IR has been used successfully to study the surface and interface of complex polymeric blends. This technique has allowed new observations at the nanoscale of the polymer distribution of miscible and immiscible blends, which has never been characterized in the literature. It is a very effective tool in studying the surface and interface phenomena of various materials used in the pharmaceutical, life sciences, sustainable energy, and nanomaterials fields.

 Additional Information

 For more details on this research, please refer to the following articles:

1- P. Nguyen-Tri and R.E. Prud’homme. 2018. “Nanoscale lamella assembly and segregation mechanism of binary equimolar polyhydroxylbutyrate/polyethylene glycol blendsMacromolecules 51, 181−188.

2–  P. Nguyen-Tri and  R. E. Prud’homme. 2018. “Crystallization and segregation behavior at the submicrometer scale of PCL/PEG blends”, Macromolecules 51, 7266-7273.

* AFM-IR is available at Department of Chenistry, Université de Montréal for all researchers and students as needed.

Phuong Nguyen-Tri

Author's profile

Phuong Nguyen-Tri is an associate professor in the Department of Construction Engineering. His research focuses on composite materials, polymer cristallization, nanomaterials and energy materials.

Program : Construction Engineering 

Author profile

R. E. Prudhomme

Author's profile

R.E. Prud'homme is Emeritus Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the Université de Montréal. His research focuses on the crystallization of semi-crystalline polymers and the related phenomena.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Étudier l’interface des polymères à l’échelle nanométrique par AFM-IR - Par : Phuong Nguyen-Tri, R. E. Prudhomme,

Étudier l’interface des polymères à l’échelle nanométrique par AFM-IR


Phuong Nguyen-Tri
Phuong Nguyen-Tri Profil de l'auteur(e)
Phuong Nguyen-Tri est professeur associé au Département de génie de la construction de l'ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les matériaux composites, la cristallisation des polymères, les nanomatériaux et les matériaux pour l’énergie.

R. E. Prudhomme
R. E. Prudhomme Profil de l'auteur(e)
R.E. Prud’homme est professeur émérite au Département de chimie de l’Université de Montréal. Ses axes de recherche portent sur la cristallisation des polymères semi-cristallins et les phénomènes qui sont y associés.

sphérulites

L’image d’en-tête provient des auteurs. La licence CC de Substance s’applique.

La maîtrise de la morphologie et de la cristallisation des polymères et des composites est cruciale parce qu’elle est directement liée aux propriétés finales du matériau. Les polymères semi-cristallins constituent une fraction importante des polymères commerciaux. Il est bien connu que les mélanges de polymères miscibles peuvent présenter diverses morphologies et mécanismes de cristallisation qui dépendent de la différence de température de fusion de chaque composé, de la composition du mélange et des conditions de cristallisation. Or, l’examen de la distribution des polymères dans les mélanges miscibles, en particulier à l’échelle sous-micrométrique, est techniquement difficile malgré les progrès des méthodes de caractérisation. Récemment, P. Nguyen-Tri et son collègue ont réussi à utiliser un équipement de  pointe, appelé AFM-IR, pour étudier  la cristallisation et la nanodiffusion des polymères dans des mélanges complexes, tout en enregistrant des images topographiques de haute résolution à l’échelle nanométrique. Cette avancée a été rendue possible grâce à la capacité d’identification de la composition chimique de l’AFM-IR*.

Fonctionnement du AFM-IR

Fonctionnement d’un microscope à force atomique (AFM) couple à un laser accordable pulsé (IR)

Figure 1 Principe de fonctionnement d’un AFM-IR

Le principe de l’AFM-IR est de coupler un microscope à force atomique (AFM) avec un laser accordable pulsé (IR). L’échantillon est illuminé par un rayonnement infrarouge pulsé et la lumière IR absorbée par l’échantillon est convertie en chaleur, provoquant une dilatation thermique rapide sous la pointe de l’AFM, laquelle déplace l’oscillation résonnante du cantilever de l’AFM. L’amplitude de l’oscillation en porte-à-faux est directement proportionnelle au coefficient d’absorption de l’échantillon. Les spectres AFM-IR sont ainsi obtenus en mesurant l’amplitude de l’oscillation obtenue en fonction de la longueur d’onde du rayonnement incident. La cartographie par adsorption IR peut également être réalisée. Cette technique permet de cartographier la composition chimique à l’échelle nanométrique, ainsi que de fournir des images AFM à haute résolution.

Des mélanges de polymères prometteurs

La polycaprolactone (PCL) et ses mélanges sont largement utilisés dans diverses applications médicales, notamment pour la peau artificielle, les prothèses résorbables, la chimiothérapie et le génie tissulaire, en raison de leur biocompatibilité, de leur biodégradabilité et de leur non-toxicité (approuvés par la FDA). Les mélanges composés de PCL et d’un polymère hydrophile non toxique et biodégradable, tel que le polyéthylène glycol (PEG), ont l’avantage d’être plus biodégradables et hydrophobes, ce qui permettrait d’élargir le champ d’application de la PCL. Cependant, l’ajout de PEG dans la formulation peut aussi causer des perturbations dans les cristaux de PCL. La compréhension des mécanismes de séparation de phases et de la cristallisation de ce mélange est importante pour obtenir les propriétés finales désirées. En utilisant l’AFM-IR, les auteurs ont pu obtenir plusieurs informations précieuses, par exemple : la transition de cristallisation, l’identification des polymères dans le mélange et la vérification des interactions chimiques au-delà de l’interface du mélange PCL et PEG.

Détermination de la composition chimique par AFM-IR

La figure 2 montre un exemple des images AFM-IR (Figs. 2a et 2c) à partir d’une image d’AFM traditionnelle (Fig. 2b) du mélange PCL/PEG (50/50) détectée par AFM-IR grâce aux absorbances en IR différentes des deux polymères. Cette différence  permet d’identifier la position de chaque polymère dans ce mélange.

Composition chimique de deux polymers miscibles

Figure 2 Mélange PCL/PEG (50/50): a) image d’AFM-IR de la bande 1103 cm-1; b) image AFM et c) image d’AFM-IR de la bande 1720 cm-1.

Mieux comprendre la séparation de phases

En utilisant la même technique, les auteurs ont réussi à détecter la séparation des phases dans un mélange de polymères miscibles, soit un mélange de polyhydroxybutyrate (PHB) et de polyéthylène glycol (PEG) à l’échelle nanométrique. Un sphérulite« forme courante de cristallisation polymérique à partir de polymères fondus ou de solutions concentrées. » Grand dictionnaire terminologique http://gdt.oqlf.gouv.qc.ca/ficheOqlf.aspx?Id_Fiche=8397591 est d’abord détecté par AFM, puis est soumis à une irradiation à une longueur d’onde choisie. Grâce à la différence d’intensité d’absorption IR des deux polymères, il est possible de relever la nature de chaque polymère, comme illustré dans la Figure 3. Grâce à l’absorption du groupement carbonyle (1720 cm-1), on peut voir qu’à l’intérieur de la structure du sphérulite, les bandes contiennent principalement du PHB, alors que les vallées sont  constituées essentiellement de PEG. Cette découverte est  importante pour comprendre la séparation de phases dans une telle structure.

Composition des phases dans une structure de sphérulite

Figure 3 Images d’AFM-IR montrant la séparation des phases des polymères dans la structure d’un sphérulite du mélange miscible PHB/PEG (50/50)

 

Conclusion

L’AFM-IR a été utilisé avec succès pour étudier la surface et l’interface de mélanges polymères complexes. Cette technique a permis de nouvelles observations de la distribution des polymères à l’échelle nanométrique de mélanges miscibles et non miscibles qui n’avaient jamais été caractérisés dans la littérature. Elle s’avère un outil très efficace pour étudier les phénomènes à la surface et aux interfaces de plusieurs matériaux utilisés dans les domaines de la pharmaceutique, des sciences de la vie, de l’énergie propre et des nanomatériaux.

 Information supplémentaire

 Pour plus de détails sur cette recherche, consulter les articles suivants:

1- P. Nguyen-Tri et R.E. Prud’homme. 2018. « Nanoscale lamella assembly and segregation mechanism of binary equimolar polyhydroxybutyrate/polyethylene glycol blends » Macromolecules 51, 181−188.

2–  P. Nguyen-Tri et R. E. Prud’homme. 2018. « Crystallization and segregation behavior at the submicrometer scale of PCL/PEG blends », Macromolecules 51, 7266-7273.

*L’AFM-IT est disponible au département de chimie, Université de Montréal. Cet équipement est accessible pour tous les chercheurs et étudiants.

Phuong Nguyen-Tri

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Phuong Nguyen-Tri est professeur associé au Département de génie de la construction de l'ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les matériaux composites, la cristallisation des polymères, les nanomatériaux et les matériaux pour l’énergie.

Programme : Génie de la construction 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

R. E. Prudhomme

Profil de l'auteur(e)

R.E. Prud’homme est professeur émérite au Département de chimie de l’Université de Montréal. Ses axes de recherche portent sur la cristallisation des polymères semi-cristallins et les phénomènes qui sont y associés.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *