SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Using Lasers to Erase Graffiti on Monuments - By : Hanen Hattab,

Using Lasers to Erase Graffiti on Monuments


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Graffiti on a historic monument

From Pixabay. Public Domain.

Graffiti is a major urban phenomenon that began in New York in the 1970s. In subways and trains, the drawings invaded walls and facades to such an extent that authorities introduced the first anti-graffiti campaign in 1984, which included a major clean-up operation. Today, this illegal art form has lost none of its power or its vandalism dimension. In addition, spray-painted signatures and figures in the most unexpected areas of the city are very difficult to erase and prove costly to the communities. Graffiti removal operations are all the more problematic when it comes to cleaning heritage buildings.

Such is the case in the city of Florence, whose historic monuments are tagged daily with lettering left mainly by tourists. A team of volunteers uses a new technology, created by the Italian firm El.En. Group, to clean walls of monuments like the Ponte Vecchio without damaging them. The El.En. Group develops laser technologies for a number of sectors, including health, industry, and architectural and artistic conservation. The device they designed for the Florentine team of restorers is called the Laser Blaster. It is a pistol equipped with an EOS Combo, a fibre-optic laser system developed in collaboration with the National Council of Italian Research.

Adaptive Technology

Daniela Valentini, who heads the team of cultural heritage restorers, explained in an interview with AFP that the laser “evaporates” the graffiti, without damaging the stone. Other techniques—such as sandblasting, pressure washing, sandblasting with sodium bicarbonate, or cleaning with solidified carbon dioxide (dry ice)—can perform this task, but these methods are not all suitable for the walls of historical buildings because they can damage the surface. The Laser Blaster removes only a few microns of material with each pulse. Restoration specialists can eliminate several types of stains like rust, oily crusts, smudges, etc. without damaging the artifact surface.

Ms. Valentini also pointed out that amount of laser exposure to erase stains depends entirely on the graffiti colour and the texture of the surface to be cleaned. As this video shows, the technology is used to restore lustre and shine to other types of materials and more complicated reliefs like bronze and carved wood. Since laser beams can specifically target small areas, restorers can even use the device to clean frescoes.

The laser has three different settings, 20 W, 50 W, and 100 W and the shape of the beam can be personalized by the user. It is possible, for example, to control the Lissajous curve, knowing that the maximum size is 8 cm.

The graffiti removal device has been specially created for this purpose and makes it possible to work faster than with other restoration equipment offered by the company, knowing that they use the same laser technology. However, cleaning operations for lettering are slower and require extreme accuracy. Cleaning a 10 cm2-wall surface takes 20 minutes.

The device costs 70,000 euros. As a reference, in Montreal in 2014 alone, “Cleaning graffiti on walls of boroughs and transport agencies cost at least 4.4 million dollars of taxpayer money” [1].

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile

comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Éliminer les graffiti des monuments grâce au laser - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Éliminer les graffiti des monuments grâce au laser


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Graffiti sur un monument historique

Provient de Pixabay. Domaine public.

Le graffiti est devenu un phénomène urbain d’envergure à partir des années 1970 à New York. Les dessins envahissaient les murs et les parois des métros et des trains, si bien que les autorités ont instauré la première campagne anti-graffiti en 1984, qui incluait une grande opération de nettoyage. Aujourd’hui, cet art illégal n’a rien perdu de son pouvoir prolifique ni de son aspect vandale. Les signatures et les figures dessinées à la bombe qu’on rencontre dans les coins les plus insoupçonnés de la ville sont en plus très difficiles à retirer et coûtent de facto cher aux localités. Les opérations d’élimination des graffiti sont d’autant plus problématiques quand il s’agit de nettoyer des bâtiments qui ont une valeur patrimoniale.

C’est le cas de la ville de Florence, dont les monuments historiques sont quotidiennement marqués par des inscriptions laissées notamment par des touristes. Une équipe de bénévoles a utilisé une nouvelle technologie, créée par l’entreprise italienne El.En. Group, pour nettoyer les murs de monuments comme le Ponte Vecchio sans les abîmer.  La firme El.En. Group développe des technologies laser pour plusieurs domaines, dont la santé, l’industrie, et la conservation architecturale et artistique.  L’appareil qu’elle a conçu pour l’équipe de restaurateurs florentins s’appelle le Laser Blaster.  Il est sous forme de pistolet muni du EOS Combo, un système laser à fibre optique, développé en collaboration avec le Conseil national de la recherche italien.

Une technologie adaptable

Daniela Valentini, qui dirige l’équipe de restaurateurs du patrimoine culturel, a expliqué dans une interview donnée à l’AFP que le laser fait « évaporer » le graffiti, sans endommager la pierre. Il existe plusieurs autres techniques pour effectuer cette tâche, telles que le procédé de sablage au jet, le lavage à pression, le sablage au bicarbonate de soude, ou encore le nettoyage au dioxyde de carbone solidifié (glace sèche). Or toutes ces méthodes ne conviennent pas aux murs des bâtiments historiques puisqu’elles risquent d’endommager la surface. Le Laser Blaster retire seulement quelques microns de matière à chaque impulsion. Les spécialistes de restauration peuvent ainsi éliminer plusieurs types de salissures comme la rouille, les croûtes grasses, les tâches ternies, etc. sans abîmer la surface de l’artéfact.

Mme Valentini a précisé aussi que le temps d’exposition aux faisceaux pour éliminer parfaitement les traces dépend de la couleur du graffiti et de la texture de la surface à nettoyer. Comme le montre cette vidéo, la technologie sert à redonner un coup d’éclat à d’autres types de matériaux et reliefs plus compliqués à restaurer comme le bronze et le bois sculpté. Puisque les rayons de lasers permettent de viser précisément de petites zones, les restaurateurs peuvent l’utiliser aussi pour nettoyer les fresques.

Le laser est offert avec trois puissances différentes, soit 20 W, 50 W et 100 W. La forme du faisceau peut être personnalisée par l’utilisateur. Il est possible, par exemple, de commander la courbe de Lissajous, sachant que la taille maximale est de 8 cm.

L’appareil qui sert à éliminer les graffiti a été spécialement créé à cet effet et permet d’effectuer le travail plus rapidement que les autres appareils de restauration proposés par l’entreprise. Sachant que ces derniers utilisent la même technologie laser. Toutefois, les opérations de nettoyage des inscriptions sont plus lentes et requièrent beaucoup de précision. Le nettoyage d’une surface de mur de 10 cm2 dure 20 minutes.

L’appareil coûte 70 000 euros. À titre indicatif, à Montréal en 2014, « le nettoyage des graffiti sur les murs des arrondissements et des organismes de transport a coûté au moins 4,4 millions de dollars aux contribuables » [1].

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *