SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Expanding the IoT Ecosystem with Flexible Electronics - By : Hanen Hattab,

Expanding the IoT Ecosystem with Flexible Electronics


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

The featured image was bought from Istock.com and is protected by copyrights.

The expansion of the Internet of Things (IoT) is transforming both the web space and the interconnected hardware ecosystem environment. The functional value of an object increases when connected to the Internet because it can participate in generating information and ensuring multiple uses. Also, it helps provide useful data. Although the applications of objects equipped with sensors seem endless, economic constraints can hinder the development of some projects.

A team of researchers from Purdue University (Indiana, USA) and the University of Virginia (Virginia, USA) developed a solution that could turn any object into a smart one, just by sticking a kind of tape on its surface!

Design and Applications

Flexible electronics allowed the team to imagine and create a sticker that works like a sensor. Not only could this technology extend the IoT ecosystem, but it could also make it more flexible.

The following video shows the ease of the concept. After manufacturing a flexible electronic circuit, the desired shape is cut out and stuck on the surface of an object to make it smart. A planter equipped with this technology can, for example, communicate information on its environment and allow the user to know and follow the plant’s growth in real time. The sticker could also optimize wireless communication between objects.

Flexible electronic circuits are certainly a common technology. However, expanding its use is inhibited by its cost. The sticker designed by the team solves this problem by proposing a manufacturing technique that reduces production costs by simplifying the manufacturing steps.

Manufacturing Technique

Most electronic circuits are made separately and on their own rigid silicon wafer. The wafer is resistant to the high temperatures and chemical etching used to peel away the electronic film. This process is expensive because it requires a new wafer for each circuit. The team invented a technique to peel the flexible circuit from the substrate without damaging it, making it possible to produce many thin films of electronic circuits from a single wafer. The new peeling process is done at room temperature and without the use of harmful chemicals.

A humid environment is created, causing blistering between the layers, which facilitates the release of the nanocircuit films. This operation is possible using a ductile metal layer like nickel. This layer is inserted between the electronic film and the silicon wafer to facilitate peeling under water. These thin electronic components can then be cut out and glued on any surface, giving them electronic characteristics. The researchers tested proper operation of the film by turning an LED screen on and off.

The self-adhesive electronic circuit is protected by a non-provisional US patent.

The study, co-written by Dae Seung Wie, Yue Zhang, Kim Min Min Kim, Bongjoong Kim, Sangwook Park, Kim Young-Joon Kim, Pedro P. Irazoqui, Xiaolin Zheng, Baoxing Xu and Chi Hwan Lee, entitled “Wafer-Recyclable, environment-friendly transfer printing for wide-scale thin-film nanoelectronics,” was published in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences on July 31, 2018, and received support from the Purdue Research Foundation, the Air Force Research Laboratory, the National Science Foundation, and the University of Virginia.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Élargir l’écosystème de l’IoT grâce à l’électronique flexible - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Élargir l’écosystème de l’IoT grâce à l’électronique flexible


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

L’expansion de l’internet des objets (IoT) est en train de transformer autant l’espace du web que l’écosystème de l’environnement matériel interconnecté. La valeur fonctionnelle d’un objet augmente lorsqu’il est connecté à internet ne serait-ce que parce qu’il participe à générer des informations et à assurer de multiples usages. De plus, il contribue à fournir des données exploitables. Bien que les applications des objets munis de capteurs semblent infinies, les contraintes économiques freinent le développement de certains projets.

Une équipe formée de chercheurs de l’Université Purdue (Indiana, USA) et de l’Université de Virginie (Virginie, USA) a conçu une solution qui pourrait transformer n’importe quelle chose en objet intelligent : il suffit d’avoir une surface sur laquelle on peut coller une sorte de bande adhésive et le tour est joué.

Design et applications

C’est l’électronique flexible qui a permis à l’équipe d’imaginer et de réaliser un autocollant qui fonctionne comme un capteur. Cette technologie pourrait non seulement étendre l’écosystème de l’IoT, mais aussi le rendre plus flexible.

La vidéo suivante montre la facilité du geste. Après la fabrication du circuit électronique flexible, on coupe la forme souhaitée, on la fixe sur la surface de l’objet en question pour le rendre intelligent. Un pot de plante dotée de cette technologie peut par exemple communiquer des informations sur son environnement et permettre à l’utilisateur de connaître et de suivre en temps réel les conditions de croissance de la plante. L’autocollant permettrait notamment d’optimiser la communication sans fil entre objets.

Le circuit électronique flexible est certes une technologie courante. Or, son prix ne permet pas d’étendre ses usages. L’autocollant conçu par l’équipe résout cette problématique en proposant une technique de fabrication qui réduit les coûts de production, et ce, en simplifiant les étapes de fabrication.

Technique de fabrication

La plupart des circuits électroniques sont réalisés isolément et sur leur propre plaquette rigide en silicium. Cette dernière résiste aux températures élevées et à la gravure chimique utilisées afin de détacher le film électronique. Ce procédé coûte cher parce qu’il nécessite une nouvelle plaquette pour chaque circuit. L’équipe a inventé une technique qui permet de détacher le circuit flexible du substrat sans l’endommager. Ainsi, il sera possible de réaliser de nombreux films minces de circuits électroniques à partir d’une même plaquette. Le nouveau procédé de décollement se fait à température ambiante et sans recours à des produits chimiques nocifs.

Il s’agit de créer un milieu humide qui engendre des sortes de boursouflures entre les couches, facilitant la libération des films de nanocircuits. Cette opération est possible grâce notamment à une couche métallique ductile, telle que le nickel. Celle-ci est insérée entre le film électronique et la plaquette de silicium afin de rendre le pelage dans l’eau plus facile. Ces composants électroniques à couche mince peuvent ensuite être découpés et collés sur n’importe quelle surface, leur conférant des caractéristiques électroniques. Les chercheurs ont validé le bon fonctionnement du film en allumant et en éteignant un écran DEL.

Le circuit électronique autocollant est protégé par un brevet américain non provisoire.

L’étude, coécrite par Dae Seung Wie, Yue Zhang, Min Ku Kim, Bongjoong Kim, Sangwook Park, Young-Joon Kim, Pedro P. Irazoqui, Xiaolin Zheng, Baoxing Xu et Chi Hwan Lee, s’intitule « Wafer-recyclable, environment-friendly transfer printing for large-scale thin-film nanoelectronics ». Elle a été publiée par la revue Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences le 31 juillet 2018 et a bénéficié de l’aide de la Purdue Research Foundation, l’Air Force Research Laboratory, la National Science Foundation et l’Université de Virginie.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *