SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
E-Skin Used as a Compass - By : Hanen Hattab,

E-Skin Used as a Compass


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

e-peau qui sert de boussole

Header image was purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

We have entered the age of the Augmented Human through visible connected objects and bionic technologies integrated into the body. Some systems and prostheses amplify already existing capabilities and others provide us with new real and virtual powers.

Members of the German research laboratory Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR), in Dresden, have imagined a new sensory faculty for humans to be used in many help and entertainment applications. It is an e-skin that will enable the user to navigate, as if the body had an internal compass.

To navigate, human beings use celestial markers. Sailors and desert nomads are known for their ability to recognize their way with the position of the stars. However, according to scientific experiments, the average person can barely use the sun and the moon to move from point A to point B. With this skin, it is possible to artificially acquire a sixth sense, known as magnetoreception, even though we already have its biological basis according to a study from California Institute of Technology geophysicist Joe Kirschvink,

Innovative Magnetoreceptive Properties

The new HZDR technology incorporates magnetosensitive components that enable it to detect and analyze body movements based on the Earth’s magnetic field. This delicate and elastic device can be worn to guide people and help them find their way. In addition, it can interact with a virtual and augmented reality environment and help with orientation.

The e-skin is made from a polymer sheet of 6 μm. It is equipped with sensors made of ultrafine strips of permalloy, a metal alloy based mostly on nickel and iron.

Permalloy has an electrical property that makes sensors magnetoreceptive. This is called anisotropic magnetoresistance, an electrical resistance effect that varies with the angle between a current flow and the orientation of a magnetic field. For the e-skin, sensors were made to interact with the Earth’s magnetic field. To do this, researchers deposited a layer of conductive material, gold, on ferromagnetic strips at a 45-degree angle, forcing the electric current to circulate along this angle only. This helps in modifying sensor response, making it more sensitive when exposed to weak magnetic fields. Voltage is actually higher when the sensors point towards the north and weaker towards the south.

To help with orientation in relation to virtual objects, the e-skin captures and records orientation and movement changes of the human body. Then it transfers the data to be analyzed according to spatial coordinates of the digital environment.

Testing

Test comparant la e-peau au gyrocompas

To test the effectiveness of the new technology, the researchers compared results emitted by the electronic skin to those of a gyrocompass. The experiments were conducted in real and virtual environments. The test participant wore the e-skin on the index finger and traced a specific trajectory, starting from the north, first heading west, then south and, finally, turning back using the same trajectory. The circuit caused an increase and a decrease in tension depending on the participant’s direction. The test was conclusive since the e-skin displayed the same cardinal directions as the gyrocompass. VR tests were also successful: the e-skin made it possible to control a digital panda in the Panda3D video game engine.

The study entitled “Electronic-skin compasses for geomagnetic field-driven artificial magnetoreception and interactive electronics” was published in Nature Electronics on November 12, 2018. It was co-authored by Gilbert Santiago Cañón Bermúdez, Hagen Fuchs, Lothar Bischoff, Jürgen Fassbender and Denys Makarov.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Une e-peau en guise de boussole - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Une e-peau en guise de boussole


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

e-peau qui sert de boussole

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Nous sommes entrés dans l’ère de l’humain augmenté grâce aux objets connectés visibles et aux technologies bioniques intégrées au corps. Certains systèmes et prothèses amplifient des capacités déjà existantes et d’autres nous pourvoient de nouveaux pouvoirs réels et virtuels.

Des membres du laboratoire de recherche allemand Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR) à Dresde ont imaginé une nouvelle faculté sensorielle pour les humains qui pourra être utilisée dans plusieurs applications utiles et divertissantes. Il s’agit d’une e-peau qui aidera l’utilisateur à s’orienter dans l’espace, comme si son corps était muni d’une boussole interne.

Pour s’orienter, les êtres humains utilisent des repères célestes. Nous connaissons l’aptitude des marins et des nomades du désert à reconnaître leur chemin grâce aux étoiles. Par contre, selon des expériences scientifiques, le commun des mortels utilise plus ou moins bien le Soleil et la Lune pour se déplacer d’un point A à un point B. Grâce à cette peau, nous pourrons ainsi acquérir artificiellement le sixième sens de la magnétoréception dont nous possédons déjà une base biologique selon l’étude de Joe Kirschvink, un géophysicien du California Institute of Technology.

Des propriétés magnétoréceptives innovantes

La nouvelle technologie du HZDR comporte des composants magnétosensibles qui lui permettent de détecter et d’analyser les mouvements du corps en fonction du champ magnétique terrestre. Grâce à sa finesse et son élasticité, elle peut être portée afin d’orienter les personnes et les aider à trouver leur chemin. En outre, elle peut interagir avec un environnement de réalité virtuelle et augmentée et permettre de s’y orienter.

La e-peau est conçue à partir d’une feuille de polymère de 6 µm d’épaisseur. Elle est équipée de capteurs sous forme de bandes ultrafines en permalloy, qui est un alliage métallique à base principalement de nickel et de fer.

Le permalloy possède une propriété électrique qui rend les capteurs magnétoréceptifs. Il s’agit de la magnétorésistance anisotrope. C’est un effet de résistance électrique qui varie en fonction de l’angle formé entre le flux de courant et l’orientation d’un champ magnétique. Concernant la e-peau, les capteurs ont été réalisés afin d’interagir au champ magnétique terrestre. Pour ce faire, les chercheurs ont déposé une couche de matériau conducteur, à savoir l’or, sur les bandes ferromagnétiques suivant un angle de 45 degrés. Ainsi, le courant électrique ne peut circuler que suivant cet angle. Ce phénomène participe à modifier la réponse du capteur pour le rendre plus sensible lorsqu’il est exposé à des champs magnétiques faibles. La tension est de fait plus forte lorsque les capteurs pointent vers le nord et plus faible quand ils se dirigent vers le sud.

Afin de s’orienter par rapport aux objets virtuels, la e-peau capte et enregistre d’abord le changement d’orientation et de mouvement du corps humain. Puis elle transfère les données pour qu’elles soient analysées en fonction des coordonnées spatiales de l’environnement numérique.

Tests

Test comparant la e-peau au gyrocompas

Pour tester l’efficacité de la nouvelle technologie, les chercheurs ont comparé les résultats émis par la peau électronique aux résultats d’un gyrocompas. Les expériences ont été menées dans des environnements réel et virtuel. Le participant au test a porté la e-peau à l’index et a effectué une trajectoire bien déterminée. Il est parti du nord, en se dirigeant d’abord vers l’ouest, puis vers le sud, et enfin, il a rebroussé chemin en empruntant le même circuit. Le parcours a provoqué une augmentation et une baisse de la tension selon l’orientation du participant. Le test a été concluant puisque la e-peau a affiché les mêmes indications cardinales que le gyrocompas. Les tests RV ont eux aussi été concluants. La e-peau a permis de commander un panda numérique dans le moteur de jeu vidéo Panda3D.

L’étude s’intitule « Electronic-skin compasses for geomagnetic field-driven artificial magnetoreception and interactive electronics » et a été publié dans Nature Electronics le 12 novembre 2018. Elle a été coécrite par Gilbert Santiago Cañón Bermúdez, Hagen Fuchs, Lothar Bischoff, Jürgen Fassbender et Denys Makarov.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *