SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Healing Chronic Wounds with a Smart Bandage - By : Hanen Hattab,

Healing Chronic Wounds with a Smart Bandage


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Smart bandage

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

Chronic wounds are an additional burden for patients who suffer from serious health problems. Treatments such as hydrocolloid dressings may help encourage the natural scarring process, but are not intended to cure wound infections, which can aggravate underlying diseases.

Chronic wounds are a health problem affecting people with malnutrition, diabetes, chronic high blood pressure, peripheral arterial disease, etc. Severe infection of a wound can even lead to diabetic limb amputation. Population aging in several countries has made this a public health issue. A new smart treatment will help to heal chronic wounds and to monitor their condition more closely. The solution was created by researchers at Harvard Medical School, Tufts University in Boston and Purdue University in Indiana. The team designed a smart bandage that provides individualized treatment to heal the wound and monitor its progress in real time.

The bandage will be especially beneficial for the elderly or those who cannot travel to receive regular care. It will allow the medication to be administered according to the condition of the wound and signal when it becomes imperative to resort to another medical intervention.

Bandage Design

To evaluate a treatment’s effectiveness, health care personnel normally monitor the wound area. This will now be done by the smart bandage.

Three significant indicators were taken into account in the design of this technology: pH, wound temperature, and oxygen levels. Indeed, the pH of a healing wound is different from that of an open infected wound. While a healthy wound is acidic and has a pH between 5.5 and 6.5, an infected wound is very alkaline, with a pH often well above 6.5. As for the temperature parameter, this indicates the level of inflammation inside and around the wound. The oxygen level is another indicator of wound progression.

With recent advances in flexible electronics, the team has created a lightweight bandage that is about 3 mm thick. It is a flexible 3D-printed polymer, which includes sensors for pH, temperature and oxygen levels. Information from the wound area is sent to a microcontroller. The values received are analyzed to regulate and actuate the release of a heat-resistant antibiotic. The antibiotic is embedded in hydrogel located in the area that is in contact with the wound. If needed, a component controlled by the microcontroller heats and delivers the amount of gel needed for healing. This way, the drug is administered following an automated and closed-loop diagnosis. The bandage can also communicate with a mobile device via Bluetooth.

Tests and Next Steps

The smart bandage has been successfully tested in in-vitro conditions. Preclinical studies are underway to evaluate the technology’s effectiveness compared to existing treatments.

The study, co-authored by Mostafalu P, Tamayol A, Rahimi R, Ochoa M, Khalilpour A, Kiaee G, Yazdi IK, Bagherifard S, Dokmeci MR, Ziaie B, Sonkusale SR and Khademhosseini A entitled “Smart Bandage for Monitoring and Treatment of Chronic Wounds”, was published on July 6, 2018, in small. It was funded by the National Science Foundation, the National Institute of Health, the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award and the ONR PECASE Award.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Un e-pansement intelligent pour guérir les plaies chroniques - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Un e-pansement intelligent pour guérir les plaies chroniques


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Pansement intelligent

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Les plaies chroniques sont un fardeau supplémentaire pour les malades qui souffrent souvent de problèmes de santé graves. Des traitements comme les pansements hydrocolloïdes servent certes à favoriser le processus de cicatrisation naturel, mais ne sont pas destinés à guérir les infections des lésions, qui peuvent aggraver les maladies sous-jacentes.

La plaie chronique est un problème de santé qui touche les gens atteints de malnutrition, de diabète, d’hypertension chronique, d’artériopathie oblitérante des membres inférieurs, etc. Une infection grave de la lésion peut entraîner chez les diabétiques par exemple l’amputation d’un membre. Le vieillissement de la population dans plusieurs pays en fait donc un problème de santé publique. Un nouveau traitement intelligent aidera à guérir les plaies chroniques et à suivre leur état de plus près. C’est une solution créée par des chercheurs de la Harvard Medical School, de l’Université Tufts à Boston et de l’Université Purdue de l’Indiana. Le pansement intelligent conçu par l’équipe permet d’administrer un traitement individualisé qui guérit la lésion et de surveiller l’évolution de cette dernière en temps réel.

Le pansement sera particulièrement avantageux pour les personnes âgées ou qui ne peuvent pas se déplacer pour recevoir régulièrement les soins adéquats. Il permettra d’administrer la médication en fonction de l’état de la plaie et de signaler les situations où il est impératif d’avoir recours à une autre intervention médicale.

Conception du pansement

Pour évaluer l’efficacité d’un traitement, le personnel soignant doit normalement surveiller la zone de la plaie. Cette tâche sera désormais prise en charge par le pansement intelligent.

Trois indicateurs significatifs ont été pris en considération dans la conception de cette technologie à savoir le pH, la température de la lésion et son niveau d’oxygène. En effet, le pH d’une plaie en cours de cicatrisation est différent de celui d’une plaie qui demeure ouverte et s’infecte. Alors que le pH d’une plaie saine est acide et se situe entre 5,5 et 6,5, le pH d’une plaie infectée est très alcalin, c’est-à-dire souvent très au-dessus de 6,5. Quant à la température, c’est un paramètre qui informe du niveau d’inflammation à l’intérieur et autour de la plaie. Le niveau d’oxygène est un autre indicateur de l’évolution de la lésion.

Grâce aux avancées de l’électronique souple, l’équipe a créé un pansement léger dont l’épaisseur mesure environ 3 mm. Il s’agit d’un polymère flexible imprimé en 3D, qui comporte des capteurs de pH, de température et d’oxygène.  Les informations provenant de la zone de la plaie sont envoyées à un microcontrôleur. Les valeurs reçues sont analysées en vue de réguler et d’actionner la libération d’un antibiotique thermorésistant. Ce dernier est intégré dans un hydrogel enchâssé dans la partie du pansement en contact avec la lésion. En cas de besoin, un composant commandé par le microcontrôleur chauffe et transmet la quantité de gel nécessaire à la guérison. L’administration du médicament se fait ainsi suivant un diagnostic automatisé et en boucle fermée. Le pansement peut aussi communiquer avec un appareil mobile par Bluetooth.

Test et étapes à venir

Le pansement intelligent a été testé avec succès dans des conditions in vitro. Des études précliniques sont en cours afin d’évaluer l’efficacité de la technologie par rapport aux traitements existants.

L’étude, coécrite par Mostafalu P, Tamayol A, Rahimi R, Ochoa M, Khalilpour A, Kiaee G, Yazdi IK, Bagherifard S, Dokmeci M R, Ziaie B, Sonkusale S R et Khademhosseini A, s’intitule « Smart Bandage for Monitoring and Treatment of Chronic Wounds ». Elle a été publiée le 6 juillet 2018 dans la revue small. Elle a été financée par la National Science Foundation, le National Institute of Health, l’Office of Naval Research Young Investigator award et l’ONR PECASE Award.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *