SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS

Creating More Efficient Thermoelectric Devices


Paul Fourmont
Paul Fourmont Author profile
Paul Fourmont is a PhD student in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research focuses on mechanical and thermal energy recovery devices, and photovoltaic devices.

Luis Felipe Gerlein Reyes
Luis Felipe Gerlein Reyes Author profile
Luis Felipe Gerlein R. is a Ph.D. candidate at ÉTS. His research interests include nanofabrication and characterization of optoelectronic devices based on lead chalcogenides, carbon-based nanostructures and perovskite materials.

Francois Xavier Fortier
Francois Xavier Fortier Author profile
François-Xavier Fortier is a PhD student in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS.

Sylvain G. Cloutier
Sylvain G. Cloutier Author profile
Sylvain G. Cloutier is a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS. He specializes in nanotechnology and optoelectronic materials.

Riad Nechache
Riad Nechache Author profile
Riad Nechache is a researcher at ÉTS. His research focuses on nanomaterials, particularly on designing and synthesizing inorganic nanostructures of specific chemical composition, physical morphology and scale.

Heat converted into elctricity

The header image was purchased on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

By converting heat loss into electricity, thermoelectric technology has the ability to improve the energy efficiency of most electrical appliances. Modifying thermoelectric material properties at the nanoscale helps increase their performance, yielding better energy recovery. These structural modifications and the use of masks allow us to present an easily produced device that is compact and powerful.

A Brief History

Discovered at the beginning of the 19th century in Europe by Seebeck and Peltier, thermoelectricity is still a current field of research, offering interesting perspectives. Experiments led this researcher and watchmaker to highlight the Seebeck and Peltier effects. Seebeck noted that a difference in electrical potential is produced with the junction of two different materials at different temperatures—the Seebeck effect. This phenomenon makes it possible to generate electricity by applying a temperature gradient. Peltier meanwhile, observed that heat is produced and absorbed at the junctions between materials following the directional flow of the applied current. The Peltier effect reduces the need for coolant gases for example, known to be harmful to the environment.

Here, we will focus on the Seebeck effect that transforms a temperature gradient into electricity. In light of the recent awareness of our growing energy consumption and the resulting impact on the planet, the Seebeck effect offers the added advantage of increasing energy efficiency while reducing waste. In the United States alone, half of the energy produced is lost as heat [1]. However, if we consider heat sources from combustion engines or electronic devices, the potential applications of thermoelectricity in our daily lives then present infinite possibilities! We already use this physical phenomenon, be it in electric coolers (Peltier effect), or with the well-known Voyager 1 and 2 probes, which are still sending signals to Earth [2] 40 years after their launch.

Thermoelectric device of a Voyager probe

Figure 1 – Photo of a Voyager probe on the left and a thermoelectric device on the right

Manufacturing Thermoelectric Devices Using Pulsed Laser Deposition

The technological advances of the last decades and the increased computing power of computers have revealed that the most interesting performances of thermoelectric materials are found within thin layers at the nano- or even micrometer scale. Unlike so-called “massive” materials, at these scales it is possible to influence the structure and positioning of atoms. Pulsed laser deposition is used to obtain a highly accurate control over the structure of deposited layers. The laser emits very high energy pulses over very short time intervals to a target on the deposited material. The target is first placed in a very high-vacuum chamber, see Figure 2. The laser pulses then deposit material in plasma form and eject a plume of material perpendicular to the target.

pulsed laser deposition system

Figure 2 – Diagram of a pulsed laser deposition system

Depending on the parameters used, this plume will then condense on a substrate placed parallel to the target. The type of laser, number of pulses, substrate temperature or pressure inside the chamber are all interrelated parameters to take into account. Even today, not all light-matter interactions are fully understood and are still being debated.

A Compact and Powerful Device

As part of our study, we plan to use the heat loss of electronic devices and achieve energy recovery using low temperature gradients (between 5 ° C to 80 ° C). The manufacturing method of our planar devices is relatively simple: it is based on three masks with micrometric openings arranged on a glass slide (see Figure 3). First, metal contacts must be deposited to supply electrical conduction within the device. A gold deposit of several hundred nanometers is achieved through thermal evaporation. Then, two masks are used successively to deposit lines of thermoelectric materials. The use of masks is both simple and effective and can produce energy recovery devices at lower costs than those achieved by etching or lithography.

deposition using masks

Figure 3 – Diagram of masks and depositions shown in this study

In addition to using masks, it has been possible to produce thermoelectric devices offering better energy recovery than those with a similar geometry previously reported in the literature. These results are all the more interesting considering the substrate temperature during deposition: they were done at 45 ° C instead of the 200 ° C and 300 ° C usually required. The final advantage is that no gas in the chamber or annealing was used after deposition. These characteristics have special benefits because they result in a considerable reduction in the complexity, the cost of production and the thermal budget required to create these devices. These results were possible thanks to a highly accurate control of deposition on the target. As reported, it is above all with respect to stoichiometry (proportion of each chemical element) at 45 ° C that these unparalleled performances can be confirmed.

Conclusion and Outlook

Following the publication of these findings, we hope to encourage researchers to continue the work to gain a better understanding of this phenomenon. We also wish to pave the way for the design of simplified, compact and efficient thermoelectric devices. With these devices, we hope to optimize the energy efficiency of our electrical appliances by converting heat loss into electricity.

Additional Information

For more information on this research, please refer to the following paper: Fourmont, P.; Gerlein, L.F.; Fortier, F.-X.; Cloutier, S.G.; Nechache, R. 2018. “Highly Efficient Thermoelectric Microgenerators Using Nearly Room Temperature Pulsed Laser Deposition”. ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces. 10 (12), pp. 10194-10201.

 

Paul Fourmont

Author's profile

Paul Fourmont is a PhD student in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research focuses on mechanical and thermal energy recovery devices, and photovoltaic devices.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Printed Hybrid Optoelectronic Materials and Devices 

Author profile

Luis Felipe Gerlein Reyes

Author's profile

Luis Felipe Gerlein R. is a Ph.D. candidate at ÉTS. His research interests include nanofabrication and characterization of optoelectronic devices based on lead chalcogenides, carbon-based nanostructures and perovskite materials.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Printed Hybrid Optoelectronic Materials and Devices 

Author profile

Francois Xavier Fortier

Author's profile

François-Xavier Fortier is a PhD student in the Electrical Engineering Department at ÉTS.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Printed Hybrid Optoelectronic Materials and Devices 

Author profile

Sylvain G. Cloutier

Author's profile

Sylvain G. Cloutier is a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at ÉTS. He specializes in nanotechnology and optoelectronic materials.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Printed Hybrid Optoelectronic Materials and Devices  ArianeGroup Research Chair on Emerging Materials in the Aeronautics and Space sector 

Author profile

Riad Nechache

Author's profile

Riad Nechache is a researcher at ÉTS. His research focuses on nanomaterials, particularly on designing and synthesizing inorganic nanostructures of specific chemical composition, physical morphology and scale.

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Printed Hybrid Optoelectronic Materials and Devices 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS

Vers des dispositifs thermoélectriques plus performants


Paul Fourmont
Paul Fourmont est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les dispositifs de récupération d’énergie mécanique et thermique ainsi que sur des dispositifs photovoltaïques.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Luis Felipe Gerlein Reyes
Luis Felipe Gerlein Reyes Profil de l'auteur(e)
Luis Felipe Gerlein est étudiant au doctorat à l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la nanofabrication et la caractérisation de dispositifs optoélectroniques à base de chalcogénures de plomb, de nanostructures à base de carbone et de matériaux pérovskite.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Francois Xavier Fortier
Francois Xavier Fortier Profil de l'auteur(e)
François-Xavier Fortier est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Sylvain G. Cloutier
Sylvain G. Cloutier Profil de l'auteur(e)
Sylvain G. Cloutier est professeur au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS. Il est spécialiste des nanotechnologies et des matériaux optoélectroniques.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Riad Nechache
Riad Nechache est chercheur à l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent les nanomatériaux et mettent l’accent sur la conception et la synthèse de nanostructures inorganiques de composition chimique, de morphologie physique et de dimension précises.
Programme : Génie électrique 

Chaleur convertie en électricité

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

En convertissant les pertes de chaleur en électricité, la thermoélectricité est une technologie qui a la capacité d’améliorer l’efficacité énergétique de la plupart des appareils électriques. Les modifications des propriétés des matériaux thermoélectriques à l’échelle nanométrique permettent d’accroître leurs performances et donc, une meilleure récupération d’énergie. Grâce à ces modifications structurelles et à l’utilisation de masques, nous présentons un dispositif simple à produire, compact et performant.

Un peu d’histoire

Découverte au début du XIXe siècle en Europe par M. Seebeck et M. Peltier, la thermoélectricité est encore aujourd’hui un domaine de recherche d’actualité, offrant des perspectives intéressantes. C’est au cours d’expérimentations que ce chercheur et cet horloger ont mis en évidence les effets Seebeck et Peltier. Mr Seebeck a remarqué qu’une différence de potentiel électrique s’établit lorsque les jonctions de deux matériaux différents sont à des températures différentes, c’est donc l’effet Seebeck. Grâce à ce phénomène, il est possible de générer de l’électricité à partir d’un gradient de température. Mr Peltier a, quant à lui, observé la production et l’absorption de chaleur aux jonctions de matériaux suivant le sens de parcours du courant appliqué. L’effet Peltier permet par exemple de s’affranchir de l’utilisation de gaz réfrigérants, connus pour être nocifs pour l’environnement.

Parmi ces deux effets, nous allons nous concentrer sur l’effet Seebeck qui permet de transformer un gradient de température en électricité. À la suite de la récente prise de conscience concernant notre consommation énergétique grandissante et ses impacts sur la planète, exploiter l’effet Seebeck offre l’avantage de gagner en efficacité énergétique tout en réduisant le gaspillage. En effet, rien qu’aux États-Unis, la moitié de la production d’énergie est perdue sous forme de chaleur.[1] Or, si l’on considère des sources de chaleur comme les moteurs thermiques ou les appareils électroniques, les applications potentielles de la thermoélectricité dans notre quotidien apparaissent alors infinies! De nos jours, on utilise déjà ce phénomène physique, que ce soit, par exemple, dans les glacières électriques (effet Peltier) ou bien les fameuses sondes Voyager 1 et 2, qui continuent, 40 ans après leur lancement, d’émettre des signaux vers la Terre.[2]

Dispositif thermoélectrique d’une sonde Voyager

Figure 1 – Photo d’une sonde Voyager à gauche et du dispositif thermoélectrique à droite

Fabrication de dispositifs thermoélectriques par ablation laser pulsée

Grâce aux avancées technologiques des dernières décennies et à une puissance de calcul accrue des ordinateurs, il a été démontré que les performances des matériaux thermoélectriques les plus intéressantes se trouvent au sein de couches minces de l’ordre du nano, voire du micromètre. Contrairement aux matériaux dits « massifs », à ces échelles, il est possible d’influencer la structure et le positionnement des atomes. Afin d’obtenir un contrôle très précis sur la structure des couches déposées, on a recours à l’ablation par laser pulsé. Il s’agit d’un laser capable d’émettre des impulsions de très haute énergie sur des intervalles de temps très courts vers une cible du matériau à déposer. Cette dernière est au préalable placée dans une chambre sous un vide très poussé, voir figure 2. Les impulsions du laser vont alors ablater le matériau sous forme de plasma et éjecter un panache de matière perpendiculairement à la cible.

Système d’ablation laser pulsé

Figure 2 – Représentation d’un système d’ablation laser pulsé

Suivant les paramètres utilisés, ce panache va ensuite se condenser sur un substrat placé parallèlement à la cible. Le type de laser utilisé, le nombre d’impulsions envoyées, la température du substrat ou encore la pression à l’intérieur de la chambre sont autant de paramètres interreliés à prendre en compte. Encore aujourd’hui, toutes les interactions lumière-matière ne sont pas entièrement comprises et font l’objet de débats.

Un dispositif compact et performant

Dans le cadre de notre étude, nous souhaitons utiliser les pertes de chaleur d’appareils électroniques et réaliser de la récupération d’énergie en utilisant de faibles gradients de température (entre 5 °C à 80 °C). La méthode de fabrication de nos dispositifs planaires est relativement simple : elle utilise trois masques avec des ouvertures de dimensions micrométriques disposés sur une lame de verre (voir figure 3). Premièrement, il est nécessaire de déposer des contacts métalliques pour assurer une conduction électrique dans le dispositif. Ce dépôt d’or de plusieurs centaines de nanomètres se réalise par évaporation thermique. Par la suite, deux masques sont utilisés successivement pour déposer des lignes de matériaux thermoélectriques. Le recours à des masques est à la fois simple, efficace et permet de produire des dispositifs de récupération d’énergie à des coûts plus faibles que ceux réalisés par gravure ou lithographie.

Dépôts effectués à l’aide de masques

Figure 3- Schémas des masques utilisés ainsi que des dépôts effectués

Outre l’utilisation des masques, il a été possible de réaliser des dispositifs thermoélectriques offrant une meilleure récupération d’énergie que ceux, précédemment rapportés dans la littérature, ayant une géométrie similaire. Ces résultats sont d’autant plus intéressants si l’on considère la température du substrat lors des dépôts. Ceux-ci ont été effectués à 45 °C, là où habituellement des températures entre 200 °C et 300 °C sont nécessaires. Enfin, dernier avantage, aucun gaz dans la chambre ou recuit après dépôt n’a été utilisé. Ces caractéristiques sont particulièrement avantageuses, car elles permettent de réduire considérablement la complexité, le coût de production ainsi que le budget thermique nécessaire à la création de ces dispositifs. Ces résultats ont été possibles grâce à un contrôle très précis de l’ablation de la cible. Comme nous le présentons, c’est avant tout le respect de la stœchiométrie (proportion de chaque élément chimique) à 45 °C qui vient confirmer ces performances encore non égalées.

Conclusion et perspectives

Suivant la publication de ces découvertes, nous souhaitons encourager les chercheurs à poursuivre ces recherches afin de mieux comprendre les phénomènes mis en jeu. Nous désirons également ouvrir la voie à la conception de dispositifs thermoélectriques simplifiés, compacts et performants. Grâce à ces dispositifs, nous espérons optimiser l’efficacité énergétique de nos appareils électriques en convertissant des pertes thermiques en électricité.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, consulter l’article suivant : Fourmont, P.; Gerlein, L.F.; Fortier, F.-X.; Cloutier, S.G.; Nechache, R. 2018. « Highly Efficient Thermoelectric Microgenerators Using Nearly Room Temperature Pulsed Laser Deposition ». ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces. 10 (12), pp. 10194-10201.

Paul Fourmont

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Paul Fourmont est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les dispositifs de récupération d’énergie mécanique et thermique ainsi que sur des dispositifs photovoltaïques.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les matériaux et composants optoélectroniques hybrides imprimés 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Luis Felipe Gerlein Reyes

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Luis Felipe Gerlein est étudiant au doctorat à l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la nanofabrication et la caractérisation de dispositifs optoélectroniques à base de chalcogénures de plomb, de nanostructures à base de carbone et de matériaux pérovskite.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les matériaux et composants optoélectroniques hybrides imprimés 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Francois Xavier Fortier

Profil de l'auteur(e)

François-Xavier Fortier est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie électrique de l’ÉTS.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les matériaux et composants optoélectroniques hybrides imprimés 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Sylvain G. Cloutier

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Sylvain G. Cloutier est professeur au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS. Il est spécialiste des nanotechnologies et des matériaux optoélectroniques.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les matériaux et composants optoélectroniques hybrides imprimés  Chaire de recherche ArianeGroup sur les matériaux émergents dans le domaine de l’aéronautique et du spatial 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Riad Nechache

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Riad Nechache est chercheur à l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent les nanomatériaux et mettent l’accent sur la conception et la synthèse de nanostructures inorganiques de composition chimique, de morphologie physique et de dimension précises.

Programme : Génie électrique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les matériaux et composants optoélectroniques hybrides imprimés 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *