SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Determining Properties of Materials at High Temperatures - By : James William Chuitcheu, Damien Texier, Philippe Bocher,

Determining Properties of Materials at High Temperatures


James William Chuitcheu
James William Chuitcheu Author profile
James William Chuitcheu is a graduate student in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, and is also a Teaching Assistant at ÉTS.

Damien Texier
Damien Texier Author profile
Damien Texier is a CNRS researcher at the Clément Ader Institute. He is working on the micromechanics of heterogeneous materials, graded materials and thin materials.

Philippe Bocher
Philippe Bocher Author profile
Philippe Bocher is a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research includes manufacturing processes, aerospace, residual stress, characterization of manufactured parts, and improvement of material properties.

Characterization of properties at high temperature is a challenge

The featured image was bought from Istock.com. Copyrights.

SUMMARY

This article highlights the importance of integrating time-limited micro structural changes and local material properties when sizing structural parts at high temperatures. It also reviews different technological solutions found in the literature while presenting their limits every time. Finally, the article describes the overall goal and the methodology used to reach it.

Editor’s Note

This article discusses the challenges of conducting high temperature tensile tests and the methodology leading to the design of a micromachine that can perform tensile tests in a controlled atmosphere. A second article entitled Hot Tensile Strength Micromachine for Aeronautics will present the micromachine that was designed.

Introduction

The growing interest in maximizing design space and high-temperature structural performance in various industrial sectors (aeronautics, aerospace, energy, waste management) introduces the need to develop new materials, but also to better understand the behaviour of materials at high temperatures under different scales, from structural to micro structural [1]. In fact, some parts like jet engines have to withstand very high temperatures (above 1200°C) while exhibiting good durability in relatively challenging atmospheres [2]. Characterizing, modelling, simulating and predicting mechanical responses of materials at high temperatures and at increasingly finer scales have become the main objectives of industrial and academic communities.

The materials subjected to external stresses (temperature, mechanical loading, environment) evolve over time [3]. Therefore, it is essential to integrate micro structural evolution and local mechanical properties into the sizing of parts or structural components. The experimental characterization of materials is difficult at such micro structural gradient scales and properties, especially at high temperatures. To obtain the material data, or design data, mechanical tests must be carried out on samples sized to the gradient of microstructures and properties, in other words, on micron-sized samples (a few microns thick), but also on samples of conventional size (a few millimetres thick). This brings the need to develop multi-scale characterization benches in order to supply the models with sizing, behaviour and lifetime predictions, thus obtaining local properties of materials that evolve over time. Testing such thin materials in this temperature range (from room temperature to temperatures around 1200°C) by controlling atmospheric effects is a serious challenge.

Atmosphere-Controlled Test Benches

The micromachine will have an enclosed casing

Figure 1 Example of a completely enclosed system allowing testing under controlled atmosphere.

This issue (characterizing materials at high temperatures using ultra-thin samples) has been the subject of some test bench developments since the early 2000s [4] (Professor K.J. Hemker and team, John Hopkins University) [5]. Adapting the tools used in high-temperature micro-optoelectronic characterization laid the groundwork for the characterization of so-called freestanding samples at more than 1000°C through Joule heating (sample thickness ranging from 10 to 100 microns and several hundred microns in width). Similar test benches were set up by Alam et al. [1] to carry out uniaxial tests on refractory alloys, from room temperature up to 1200°C, with strain rates ranging from 10-5 to 10-1s-1.

Joule heating facilitates access to the test tube (no heating elements around the sample), in order to couple different complementary techniques (optical devices to monitor deformation, thermal imaging cameras for temperature mapping, etc.). This technique ensures easy use of complementary techniques. However, Joule heating is highly sensitive to variations in effective cross-sections and to damage caused by mechanical testing. Therefore, this technique demonstrates major limits in the presence of test tube necking“The localized reduction in cross-section that may occur in a material under tensile stress.” Definition standardized by ISO. Ref. Termium Plus. or in localizing the deformation and damage development, but also because of the range of materials that can be tested, in other words, conductive materials. The recent creation of atmosphere-controlled micro mechanical characterization benches using infrared lamp furnace heating has overcome the thermal limitations associated with sample deformations during mechanical testing [6, 7]. The test benches had the advantage of enabling tests at very high temperatures (beyond 1100°C), under controlled atmosphere. A detailed view of this micromachine is shown in Figure 2.

Micromachine previously designed in LOPFA at ÉTS

Figure 2 Micromachine designed during the research work of Texier et al. [6]. a) Detailed view of the design assembly, b) View of the mooring housing the micro test tube.

However, designing this type of micromachine has its limits in relation to the need we would like to fulfill with this research with regard to corrosive atmospheres. In addition, the design solution does not allow easy handling in installing ultra-thin samples, requiring great dexterity. Nevertheless, this study removed scientific and technological barriers and was able to demonstrate the feasibility of this type of mechanical testing, although challenging in its execution, concerning aeronautical coatings and their impact on the substrate [8, 9].

Micromachine Design Methodology

Therefore, despite the limitations described in the literature, this research project proposes the development of a micro-mechanical characterization prototype to carry out high temperature tests (up to 1200°C) on all types of materials, under controlled atmosphere (neutral, corrosive or oxidizing). The instrumentation used for this micromachine will also conduct contactless macroscopic and local deformation monitoring on the sample, using recent techniques applied to photo mechanics.

This research is part of the OGFPA project (PSR-PSIIRI 954 – Part 4), funded by Québec’s Ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation (MESI), led by ETS Professor Philippe Bocher. The test bench development is the subject of a master’s research project directed by James William Chuitcheu IV Tchouambe. The project is carried out in close collaboration with Jean-Marc Zisa, director of Instruments Innovatorr Inc. and Intercovamex, and with Damien Texier, CNRS researcher at the Clément Ader Institute.

After drafting the complete technological specifications required, the adopted functional analysis is detailed below (Figure 3):

Different functions performed by the micromachine

Figure 3 Functional analysis of the hot tensile strength micromachine
under controlled atmosphere

In order to meet the requirements contained in this functional analysis, the selected methodology is summarized in the figure below (Figure 4):

Sizing of a micromachine

Figure 4 Sizing methodology for a hot tensile strength micromachine under controlled atmosphere

To Be Continued

The resulting micromachine will be presented in an upcoming article entitled Hot Tensile Strength Micromachine for Aeronautics.

Acknowledgements

  • Our sincere thanks to the program of Québec’s Ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation (PSR-SIIRI-954).
  • Our sincere thanks to Damien Texier, CNRS researcher at the Clément Ader Institute – UMR CNRS 5312, for helping to refine this work through his technical advice.
  • My sincere thanks to my research director, Professor Philippe Bocher for his guidance and the relevant ideas he suggested in completing this work.
  • My thanks to the Quebec companies Instruments Innovatorr Inc. and Intercovamex.

James William Chuitcheu

Author's profile

James William Chuitcheu is a graduate student in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, and is also a Teaching Assistant at ÉTS.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research laboratories : DYNAMO – Research Laboratory in Machine, Process and Structural Dynamics  LOPFA – Optimization of Aerospace Manufacturing Processes Laboratory 

Author profile

Damien Texier

Author's profile

Damien Texier is a CNRS researcher at the Clément Ader Institute. He is working on the micromechanics of heterogeneous materials, graded materials and thin materials.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research laboratories : LOPFA – Optimization of Aerospace Manufacturing Processes Laboratory 

Author profile

Philippe Bocher

Author's profile

Philippe Bocher is a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research includes manufacturing processes, aerospace, residual stress, characterization of manufactured parts, and improvement of material properties.

Program : Aerospace Engineering  Mechanical Engineering 

Research laboratories : DYNAMO – Research Laboratory in Machine, Process and Structural Dynamics  LOPFA – Optimization of Aerospace Manufacturing Processes Laboratory 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Déterminer les propriétés des matériaux à haute température - Par : James William Chuitcheu, Damien Texier, Philippe Bocher,

Déterminer les propriétés des matériaux à haute température


James William Chuitcheu
James William Chuitcheu Profil de l'auteur(e)
James William Chuitcheu est étudiant à la maîtrise au Département de génie mécanique et assistant d’enseignement à l’ÉTS.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Damien Texier
Damien Texier est chargé de recherche CNRS à l’Institut Clément Ader. Il a été postdoctorant et associé de recherche à l’ÉTS. Il travaille sur les matériaux hétérogènes, les matériaux à gradients et les produits minces.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Philippe Bocher
Philippe Bocher Profil de l'auteur(e)
Philippe Bocher est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les procédés de fabrication, l’aérospatiale, la caractérisation des produits manufacturés et l’amélioration des propriétés mécaniques.

La caractérisation des propriétés à haute température est un défi

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com. Des droits d’auteur s’appliquent.

RÉSUMÉ:

Cet article met en lumière l’importance d’intégrer les évolutions microstructurales et les propriétés locales des matériaux dans le temps lors du dimensionnement des pièces de structure à haute température. Il fait également une revue des différentes solutions technologiques présentes dans la littérature tout en présentant leur limite à chaque fois. Ensuite, cet article présente l’objectif global et la méthodologie employée pour atteindre ce dernier.

Note de l’éditeur

Cet article aborde les défis entourant la réalisation d’essais de traction à haute température et la méthodologie menant à la conception d’une micromachine pouvant effectuer des tests de traction sous atmosphère contrôlée. Un deuxième article intitulé Une micromachine de traction à chaud pour l’aéronautique présentera la micromachine conçue.

Introduction

L’intérêt croissant pour maximiser l’espace de conception et la performance des structures à haute température dans divers secteurs industriels (aéronautique, aérospatiale, énergétique, gestion des déchets) conduit à la nécessité de développer de nouveaux matériaux, mais aussi à mieux comprendre le comportement des matériaux à haute température à différentes échelles, allant de la structure à la microstructure [1]. En effet, certaines pièces, comme les moteurs d’avion à réaction, doivent résister à de très hautes températures (températures supérieures à 1200 °C) et en plus, doivent offrir une bonne durabilité dans des atmosphères relativement difficiles [2]. Caractériser, modéliser, simuler et prédire la réponse mécanique des matériaux à des températures élevées et à des échelles de plus en plus fines sont devenus les objectifs principaux des communautés industrielles et universitaires.

Ces matériaux, du fait des sollicitations externes (température, chargement mécanique, environnement) auxquelles ils sont soumis, évoluent dans le temps [3]. Il devient dès lors primordial d’intégrer les évolutions microstructurales et les propriétés mécaniques locales dans le dimensionnement des pièces ou des composantes de structure. La caractérisation expérimentale de ces matériaux à l’échelle de ce gradient de microstructures et de propriétés reste délicate, d’autant plus à haute température. Afin d’obtenir ces données matériaux, soit ces données de conception, il est nécessaire d’effectuer des essais mécaniques sur des échantillons de taille représentative du gradient de microstructures et de propriétés, c’est-à-dire sur des échantillons de taille micrométrique (quelques microns d’épaisseur), mais aussi sur des échantillons de taille conventionnelle (quelques millimètres d’épaisseur). D’où la nécessité de développer des bancs de caractérisation multi-échelles dans le but d’alimenter les modèles de dimensionnement, de comportement, de prédiction de durée de vie, afin d’obtenir des propriétés locales de matériaux, évolutives dans le temps. Tester des matériaux aussi minces dans cette gamme de température (allant de la température ambiante à des températures avoisinant les 1200 °C) en maîtrisant les effets d’atmosphères est un véritable défi.

Bancs d’essai sous atmosphère contrôlée

La micromachine aura une enceinte étanche

Figure 1 Exemple d’enceinte étanche permettant des essais sous atmosphère contrôlée

Cette problématique (caractérisation des matériaux à haute température par l’emploi d’échantillons ultraminces) a fait l’objet de quelques développements de bancs d’essai, et ce depuis le début des années 2000 [4] (équipe du prof. K.J. Hemker à l’Université Johns Hopkins) [5]. L’adaptation des outils employés en caractérisation micro-optoélectronique à haute température a permis de poser les prémices de la caractérisation à plus de 1000 °C d’échantillons dits freestanding au moyen de l’échauffement par effet Joule (épaisseur d’échantillons allant de 10 à 100 microns et largeur de plusieurs centaines de microns). Des bancs d’essai similaires ont été mis en place par Alam et al. [1] pour la réalisation d’essais uniaxiaux sur des alliages réfractaires, de la température ambiante jusqu’à 1200 °C, avec des vitesses de déformation allant de 10-5 à 10-1 s-1.

Le chauffage par effet Joule facilite l’accès à l’éprouvette (pas d’éléments chauffants autour de l’échantillon), permettant ainsi le couplage de différentes techniques complémentaires (moyens optiques pour le suivi de la déformation, caméras thermiques pour la cartographie de température, etc.). Cette technique permet ainsi l’emploi aisé de techniques complémentaires. Néanmoins, le chauffage par effet Joule est très sensible aux variations de section utile et à l’endommagement créé lors d’essais mécaniques. Ainsi, cette technique présente des limites considérables lors d’une striction« Réduction localisée de la section transversale, qui peut se produire dans une matière soumise à une contrainte de traction. » Définition normalisée par l’ISO. Réf. Termium Plus. d’éprouvette ou lors de la localisation de la déformation et développement d’endommagement, mais aussi du fait de l’éventail de matériaux testables, c’est-à-dire les matériaux conducteurs. La création récente de bancs de caractérisation micromécanique sous atmosphère contrôlée comprenant un chauffage par four à lampes infrarouges a permis de palier les limitations thermiques associées à la déformation des échantillons durant l’essai mécanique [6, 7]. Ces bancs d’essai avaient l’avantage de permettre la réalisation d’essais à très haute température (au-delà de 1100 °C), sous atmosphère contrôlée. Une vue détaillée de cette micromachine est présentée à la Figure 2.

Micromachine déjà conçue au LOPFA de l'ÉTS

Figure 2 Micromachine conçue lors du travail de recherche de Texier et al. [6]. a) Vue détaillée de l’ensemble de conception, b) Vue sur l’amarrage de la microéprouvette.

Cependant la conception de ce type de micromachines rencontre des limites par rapport au besoin que nous désirons combler dans notre recherche en ce qui concerne les atmosphères corrosives. De plus, cette solution de conception ne permet pas une manipulation aisée pour la mise en place d’échantillons ultraminces, demandant une grande dextérité. Cette étude a quand même permis de lever des verrous scientifiques et technologiques et a pu démontrer la faisabilité de ce type d’essais mécaniques, délicats à mettre en œuvre, portant sur les revêtements aéronautiques et leur influence sur le substrat [8, 9].

Méthodologie de conception de la micromachine

Ainsi face à ces limites présentes dans la littérature, ce projet de recherche propose le développement d’un prototype de caractérisation micromécanique offrant la possibilité de réaliser des essais à haute température (jusqu’à 1200 °C) sur tout type de matériaux, sous atmosphère contrôlée (atmosphères neutres, corrosives ou oxydantes). L’instrumentation qui accompagnera cette micromachine devra aussi être capable d’aller chercher les déformations macroscopiques et locales sur l’échantillon sans contact, en utilisant des techniques récentes appliquées à la photomécanique.

Ces travaux de recherche s’inscrivent dans le projet OGFPA, financé par le ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation (MESI) québécois (PSR-PSIIRI 954 – Volet 4) et porté par le professeur Philippe Bocher de l’ÉTS. Le développement de ce banc d’essai fait l’objet d’un projet de maîtrise recherche mené par James William Chuitcheu IV Tchouambe. Ce projet est réalisé en étroite collaboration avec Jean-Marc Zisa, directeur de l’entreprise Instruments Innovatorr Inc. et Intercovamex, et avec Damien Texier, chargé de recherche CNRS à l’Institut Clément Ader.

Après élaboration du cahier de charges pour l’ensemble des spécifications technologiques à respecter, l’analyse fonctionnelle arrêtée est détaillée ci-dessous (Figure 3) :

Différentes fonctions remplies par la micromachine

Figure 3 Analyse fonctionnelle de la micromachine de traction à chaud sous atmosphère contrôlée

Afin de remplir les exigences contenues dans cette analyse fonctionnelle, la méthodologie résumée à la figure ci-dessous a été adoptée (figure 4) :

Dimensionnement d'une micromachine

Figure 4 Méthodologie de dimensionnement de la micromachine de traction à chaud sous atmosphère contrôlée

À suivre

La micromachine conçue sera présentée bientôt dans un article intitulé Une micromachine de traction à chaud pour l’aéronautique.

Remerciements

  • Un grand merci au programme du Ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation du Québec (PSR-SIIRI-954).
  • Un grand merci à Damien Texier, chargé de recherche CNRS à l’Institut Clément Ader, pour ses conseils techniques ayant aidé à peaufiner ce travail.
  • Un grand merci à mon directeur de recherche, le Professeur Philippe Bocher pour son encadrement et les idées pertinentes qu’il a suggérées pour l’accomplissement de ce travail.
  • Merci à l’entreprise québécoise Instruments Innovatorr Inc. Et Intercovamex.

James William Chuitcheu

Profil de l'auteur(e)

James William Chuitcheu est étudiant à la maîtrise au Département de génie mécanique et assistant d’enseignement à l’ÉTS.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Laboratoires de recherche : LOPFA – Laboratoire d’optimisation des procédés de fabrication en aéronautique  DYNAMO – Équipe de recherche en dynamique des machines, des structures et des procédés 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Damien Texier

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Damien Texier est chargé de recherche CNRS à l’Institut Clément Ader. Il a été postdoctorant et associé de recherche à l’ÉTS. Il travaille sur les matériaux hétérogènes, les matériaux à gradients et les produits minces.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Laboratoires de recherche : LOPFA – Laboratoire d’optimisation des procédés de fabrication en aéronautique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Philippe Bocher

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Philippe Bocher est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les procédés de fabrication, l’aérospatiale, la caractérisation des produits manufacturés et l’amélioration des propriétés mécaniques.

Programme : Génie mécanique  Génie aérospatial 

Laboratoires de recherche : DYNAMO – Équipe de recherche en dynamique des machines, des structures et des procédés  LOPFA – Laboratoire d’optimisation des procédés de fabrication en aéronautique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *