SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Automatic Detection of Alzheimer’s from Picture Descriptions - By : Laura Hernandez-Dominguez, Sylvie Ratté, Gerardo Sierra, Andres Roche-Bergua,

Automatic Detection of Alzheimer’s from Picture Descriptions


Laura Hernandez-Dominguez
Laura Hernandez-Dominguez Author profile
Laura Hernandez-Dominguez is a Ph.D. candidate from ÉTS. She majored in Computer Engineering at Universidad Tecnológica de la Mixteca and earned her Computer Science Master’s degree from UNAM.

Sylvie Ratté
Sylvie Ratté Author profile
Sylvie Ratté is a professor in the Software and IT Engineering Department at ÉTS. Her research interests include linguistic engineering, artificial intelligence, ontology, data and text mining, formal and visual languages.

Gerardo Sierra
Gerardo Sierra Author profile
Gerardo Sierra is a National Researcher for Mexico and a Professor of the Engineering Institute of UNAM, where he leads the Language Engineering Group. His research interest focuses on language engineering.

Andres Roche-Bergua
Andres Roche-Bergua Author profile
Andrés Roche-Bergua is the Medical Chief and founder of the Psychogeriatric Unit at the “Fray Bernardino Álvarez” Psychiatric Hospital in Mexico. He specializes in Psychiatry.

An elderly woman suffering from Alzheimer’s disease

The feature image was bought on Istock.com and is protected by copyrights.

SUMMARY

Picture description tasks are regularly used in clinical practice to assess cognitive alterations in patients. In this work, we present a computer-based approach to automatically evaluate the performance of older patients during picture description tasks. Our approach measures how much information patients are able to retrieve from the picture, and how pertinent their descriptions are. Our method also provides an evaluation of subtle language alterations that have been identified by clinical researchers as signs of cognitive problems. With this inexpensive and non-invasive evaluation, we were able to identify up to 85% of patients with Alzheimer’s disease, even in early stages. Keywords: Alzheimer’s disease; early detection; picture description; automatic analysis; natural language processing; information coverage; language alterations; Cookie Theft;

Introduction

Although being the most prevalent form of dementia, Alzheimer’s disease (AD) is commonly diagnosed several years after its onset. The search for biomarkers to detect AD earlier is advancing at a high speed [1], but the acquisition of some existing biomarkers, by extraction of cerebrospinal fluid or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), can be invasive and expensive for this already vulnerable population. It is therefore important to use biomarkers, not as regular monitoring tools, but to support the diagnosis of patients that are highly suspected of having the disease. But how can we identify patients for detection of early signs of AD using inexpensive and non-invasive tools?

People with Alzheimer’s disease loose their memories

Figure 1 Memory loss

Several cognitive testing tools are commonly used in clinical practice to screen patients. Some of the most effortless tests for patients to perform are picture description tasks. In these tasks, patients are shown an image and they must describe what is happening in that image with as much detail as they can. In our work, we proposed a methodology to automatically perform an evaluation of a picture description task that can be adapted to different populations.

Methods and Results

The Dataset

For our study, we used the Pitt Corpus [2] of the DementiaBank database. This dataset consists of 542 transcriptions and audio recordings of patients performing the Cookie Theft [3] picture description task (see Figure 2). From this dataset, we extracted a set of 25 transcriptions by healthy controls to form a referent. We used this referent to evaluate 517 transcriptions: 257 from participants with AD, 217 healthy controls, and 43 with Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI). MCI is a form of cognitive impairment that does not affect a person’s everyday life; it is often a very early stage of AD.

The Cookie Theft is used to evaluate cognition

Figure 2 The Cookie Theft picture from the Boston diagnostic aphasia examination booklet [4].

The Information Coverage Measure

When evaluating a picture description task, the clinician measures the amount and quality of the information that patients provide from the image. The description of the image is rated according to a pre-defined reference list of elements that the evaluator considers “important” to be mentioned when describing the image. This list can be based on the literature or made by the evaluator. However, these lists made by experts are not standardized and do not necessarily cover the observations made from the point of view of an older population. We consider that the best referent for population screening is a healthy population with similar characteristics.

Patient describing an image during a cognitive evaluation

Figure 3 Patient during a picture description task

In our paper, we proposed a methodology adapted from the information coverage measure proposed by Velazquez [5] to automatically create a referent to evaluate information coverage in the transcriptions. This referent was comprised of the things that 25 known healthy participants mentioned when describing the Cookie Theft picture.

For the evaluation, we used Velazquez’s [5] measure to perform a two-way information coverage measure: we tested a) how many elements in the referent were mentioned by the participant (informativeness), and b) how many elements the participant mentioned were in the referent (pertinence).

Linguistic Features

Many studies have found that language is one of the first cognitive abilities to change due to AD [6]. These changes, at the early stages, are very subtle and can go unnoticed. However, a computer-based analysis can reveal meaningful statistical cues that can work as an early warning mechanism for the disease. We estimated several phonetic and linguistic characteristics, such as vocabulary richness measures, speech rate, conjunction and preposition rates, and measures based on audio signals, to evaluate the linguistic properties of the descriptions.

Trees showing the concept of communication skills

Figure 4 Communication

Automatic Classification

We used two machine learning algorithms, Support Vector Machine (SVM) and Random Forest (RF) to perform a classification over the dataset and see how well we could automatically distinguish healthy controls from AD and MCI patients based on our automatic evaluations. Our system had a sensitivity of 85% in detecting AD and MCI patients when using a combination of the linguistic features and our proposed information coverage measure (see Figure 5).

Figure 5 Sensitivity of the machine learning algorithms to Alzheimer’s disease and mild cognitive impairment when trained with different features. The best results were obtained with the combination of the linguistic features and our proposed information coverage measure.

Conclusions

Although Picture Description tasks provide an insight into the cognitive ability of patients, they have to be complemented with an entire set of cognitive examinations that evaluate different aspects of the patient’s cognition, such as language and attention. Also, populations with different educational and sociodemographic backgrounds could focus their attention on different characteristics.

Our method can be easily be adapted specifically for different populations. It uses an already established and widely used clinical testing which is inexpensive and noninvasive and takes its evaluation further. In a single test, we automatically evaluate the informativeness and pertinence of a picture description, and also perform a general evaluation of the language functions of patients, providing a more comprehensive portrayal of some of the patient’s cognitive functions.

Additional Information

For information on this research, please refer to the following paper:

Hernández-Domínguez, L.; Ratté, S.; Sierra-Martínez, G.; Roche-Bergua, A. 2018. “Computer-based evaluation of Alzheimer’s disease and mild cognitive impairment patients during a picture description task”. Alzheimer’s & Dementia, 10, pp. 260–268.

Laura Hernandez-Dominguez

Author's profile

Laura Hernandez-Dominguez is a Ph.D. candidate from ÉTS. She majored in Computer Engineering at Universidad Tecnológica de la Mixteca and earned her Computer Science Master’s degree from UNAM.

Program : Software Engineering  Information Technology Engineering 

Research laboratories : LiNCS - Cognitive and Semantic Interpretation Engineering Laboratory 

Author profile

Sylvie Ratté

Author's profile

Sylvie Ratté is a professor in the Software and IT Engineering Department at ÉTS. Her research interests include linguistic engineering, artificial intelligence, ontology, data and text mining, formal and visual languages.

Program : Software Engineering  Information Technology Engineering 

Research laboratories : LiNCS - Cognitive and Semantic Interpretation Engineering Laboratory 

Author profile

Gerardo Sierra

Author's profile

Gerardo Sierra is a National Researcher for Mexico and a Professor of the Engineering Institute of UNAM, where he leads the Language Engineering Group. His research interest focuses on language engineering.

Author profile

Andres Roche-Bergua

Author's profile

Andrés Roche-Bergua is the Medical Chief and founder of the Psychogeriatric Unit at the “Fray Bernardino Álvarez” Psychiatric Hospital in Mexico. He specializes in Psychiatry.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Détection automatique de l’Alzheimer par description d’image - Par : Laura Hernandez-Dominguez, Sylvie Ratté, Gerardo Sierra, Andres RocheBergua,

Détection automatique de l’Alzheimer par description d’image


Laura Hernandez-Dominguez
Laura Hernandez-Dominguez Profil de l'auteur(e)
Laura Hernandez-Dominguez est candidate au doctorat à l’ÉTS. Elle s’est spécialisée en génie informatique à l’Universidad Tecnológica de la Mixteca et a obtenu une maîtrise en sciences informatiques de UNAM.

Sylvie Ratté
Sylvie Ratté est professeur au Département de génie logiciel et TI de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur l’intelligence artificielle, les ontologies, le forage de textes et de données, les langages formels et visuels en génie logiciel.

Gerardo Sierra
Gerardo Sierra est chercheur national au Mexique et professeur à l’Institut d’ingénierie de l’UNAM, où il dirige le groupe d’ingénierie linguistique. Ses recherches portent sur l’ingénierie linguistique.

Andres RocheBergua
Andres RocheBergua Profil de l'auteur(e)
Andrés Roche-Bergua est directeur médical et fondateur de l’unité de psychogériatrie de l’hôpital psychiatrique Fray Bernardino Álvarez au Mexique. Il s’est spécialisé en psychiatrie au Secrétariat de la santé de l’UNAM.

Femme âgée souffrant de la maladie d’Alzheimer

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

La description d’images sert généralement en pratique clinique à évaluer le déclin cognitif des patients. Cet article présente notre approche computationnelle pour évaluer automatiquement les performances de patients âgés décrivant une image. Notre approche mesure la quantité d’informations que les patients peuvent tirer de l’image et la pertinence de leurs descriptions. Elle fournit également une évaluation des modifications subtiles du langage que les chercheurs cliniques considèrent comme étant des signes de troubles cognitifs. Cette évaluation peu coûteuse et non invasive nous a permis d’identifier jusqu’à 85 % des patients atteints de la maladie d’Alzheimer, même à un stade précoce. Mots clés : maladie d’Alzheimer, détection précoce, description d’images, analyse automatique, traitement des langages naturelles, couverture d’information, altérations du langage, Le voleur de biscuits.

Introduction

Bien qu’étant la forme de démence la plus répandue, la maladie d’Alzheimer (MA) est généralement diagnostiquée plusieurs années après son apparition. La recherche de biomarqueurs permettant de détecter la MA plus tôt avance à grande vitesse [1], mais l’acquisition de certains biomarqueurs existants, par extraction du liquide céphalo-rachidien ou par imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM), peut être coûteuse et invasive pour cette population déjà vulnérable. Il est donc important d’utiliser des biomarqueurs, non pas comme outils de surveillance courants, mais pour faciliter le diagnostic des patients chez lesquels on soupçonne fortement la maladie. Mais comment dépister les patients présentant des signes précoces de MA à l’aide d’outils peu coûteux et non invasifs?

Les personnes souffrant de la maladie d’Alzheimer perdent la mémoire

Figure 1 Perte de mémoire

Plusieurs tests cognitifs sont couramment utilisés en pratique clinique pour dépister les patients. Un des tests les plus faciles pour les patients est la description d’images. En effet, le patient n’a qu’à décrire ce qui se passe dans l’image qui lui est présentée avec le plus de détails possible. Nous proposons ici une méthodologie pour évaluer automatiquement la description d’une image, tâche qui peut être adaptée à différentes populations.

Méthodes et résultats

Ensemble de données

Nous avons utilisé la base de données Pitt Corpus [2] de DementiaBank. Cet ensemble de données comprend 542 transcriptions et enregistrements audio de patients décrivant l’image Le voleur de biscuits [3] (voir figure 2). De cet ensemble de données, nous avons tiré 25 transcriptions de sujets sains pour servir de référent. Ce référent nous a servi à évaluer 517 transcriptions : 257 participants atteints de la MA, 217 témoins en bonne santé et 43 personnes présentant un déficit cognitif léger (DCL). Le DCL est une forme de déficit qui n’affecte pas la vie quotidienne d’une personne ; c’est souvent un stade très précoce de la MA.

L’image le Voleur de biscuits sert à évaluer la cognition

Figure 2 Image Le voleur de biscuits provenant du Boston diagnostic aphasia examination booklet [4].

Mesure de couverture d’information

Pour évaluer la description d’une image, le clinicien mesure la quantité et la qualité des informations que le patient donne durant sa description. Cette description est notée en fonction d’une liste prédéfinie d’éléments de référence que l’évaluateur considère comme « importants » à mentionner. Cette liste peut être tirée de la documentation ou définie par l’évaluateur même. Toutefois, les listes établies par les experts ne sont pas normalisées et ne couvrent pas nécessairement les observations du point de vue d’une population plus âgée. Nous considérons que le meilleur référent pour le dépistage de cette population est une population en bonne santé présentant des caractéristiques similaires.

Patiente décrivant une image dans le cadre d’une évaluation cognitive

Figure 3 Patiente en train de décrire une image

Dans cet article, nous proposons une méthodologie adaptée de la mesure de couverture d’information proposée par Velázquez [5], créant automatiquement un référent qui permet d’évaluer la couverture d’information dans les transcriptions. Ce référent comprend les éléments mentionnés par 25 participants en bonne santé lors de la description de l’image Le voleur de biscuits.

Nous nous sommes inspirés de Velázquez [5] pour établir une mesure de couverture d’information bidirectionnelle : nous avons testé a) combien d’éléments du référent ont été mentionnés par le participant (informativité) ; et b) combien d’éléments mentionnés par le participant se retrouvent dans le référent (pertinence).

Caractéristiques linguistiques

De nombreuses études ont démontré que la langue est l’une des premières capacités cognitives à changer en raison de la MA [6]. Ces changements, au début, sont très subtils et peuvent passer inaperçus. Toutefois, une analyse computationnelle peut révéler des indices statistiques significatifs menant à des mécanismes d’alerte précoce relative à la maladie. Plusieurs caractéristiques phonétiques et linguistiques — mesures de la richesse du vocabulaire, du débit, des conjonctions et des prépositions, et mesures des signaux audio — nous ont servis à évaluer les propriétés linguistiques des descriptions.

Arbres illustrant le concept de communication

Figure 4 Communication

Classification automatique

À partir de deux algorithmes d’apprentissage machine, SVM (Machine à vecteurs de support) et RF (Forêt d’arbres décisionnels) nous avons classifié l’ensemble de données et constaté à quel point nous pouvions automatiquement distinguer les sujets sains des patients MA et DCL sur la base de nos évaluations automatiques. Notre système présente une sensibilité de 85 % dans la détection des patients MA et DCL en combinant les caractéristiques linguistiques et la mesure proposée de couverture d’information (voir la figure 5).

Sensibilité de détection des patients MA et DCL

Figure 5. Sensibilité des algorithmes d’apprentissage automatique à détecter la maladie d’Alzheimer et le déficit cognitif léger, lorsque formés à partir de différentes caractéristiques. Les meilleurs résultats ont été obtenus en combinant les caractéristiques linguistiques et notre mesure proposée de couverture d’information.

Conclusion

Bien que la description de l’image donne un aperçu des capacités cognitives des patients, elle doit être complétée par un ensemble d’examens cognitifs qui évaluent différents aspects de la cognition du patient, comme le langage et l’attention. Aussi, les populations de différents niveaux d’instruction et milieux sociodémographiques pourraient se concentrer leurs observations sur des caractéristiques différentes.

Notre méthode peut facilement être adaptée à différentes populations. Elle se base sur un test clinique déjà établi et largement utilisé, peu coûteux et non invasif, et l’amène plus loin encore. Dans un seul test, nous pouvons évaluer automatiquement l’informativité et la pertinence de la description d’une image ainsi que les fonctions langagières du patient, établissant ainsi une description plus complète de certaines de ses fonctions cognitives.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, veuillez consulter l’article suivant :

Hernández-Domínguez, L. ; Ratté, S. ; Sierra-Martínez, G.; Roche-Bergua, A. 2018. “Computer-based evaluation of Alzheimer’s disease and mild cognitive impairment patients during a picture description task.” Alzheimer’s & Dementia, 10, pp. 260–268.

Laura Hernandez-Dominguez

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Laura Hernandez-Dominguez est candidate au doctorat à l’ÉTS. Elle s’est spécialisée en génie informatique à l’Universidad Tecnológica de la Mixteca et a obtenu une maîtrise en sciences informatiques de UNAM.

Programme : Génie logiciel  Génie des technologies de l'information 

Laboratoires de recherche : LiNCS – Laboratoire en ingénierie cognitive et sémantique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Sylvie Ratté

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Sylvie Ratté est professeur au Département de génie logiciel et TI de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur l’intelligence artificielle, les ontologies, le forage de textes et de données, les langages formels et visuels en génie logiciel.

Programme : Génie logiciel  Génie des technologies de l'information 

Laboratoires de recherche : LiNCS – Laboratoire en ingénierie cognitive et sémantique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Gerardo Sierra

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Gerardo Sierra est chercheur national au Mexique et professeur à l’Institut d’ingénierie de l’UNAM, où il dirige le groupe d’ingénierie linguistique. Ses recherches portent sur l’ingénierie linguistique.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Andres RocheBergua

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Andrés Roche-Bergua est directeur médical et fondateur de l’unité de psychogériatrie de l’hôpital psychiatrique Fray Bernardino Álvarez au Mexique. Il s’est spécialisé en psychiatrie au Secrétariat de la santé de l’UNAM.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *