SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Structural Design Challenge for a C-Class Catamaran - By : Jonathan Laganière, Vincent Koronkiewicz, Jean-René Poulin, Vladimir Brailovski,

Structural Design Challenge for a C-Class Catamaran


Jonathan Laganière
Jonathan Laganière Author profile
Jonathan Laganière is completing his Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His active participation within the RAFALE team dates back to the first edition of the Class-C catamaran.

Vincent Koronkiewicz
Vincent Koronkiewicz Author profile
Vincent Koronkiewicz is a student completing a certificate in Quality Assurance Management at ÉTS. He joined RAFALE’s second edition. He is designing the future hull surfaces and related tools.

Jean-René Poulin
Jean-René Poulin Author profile
Jean-Rene Poulin is a Ph.D student at ÉTS, working on the damage tolerance of lattice structures obtained by additive manufacturing.

Vladimir Brailovski
Vladimir Brailovski Author profile
Vladimir Brailovski is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. He specializes in the design and manufacturing of shape memory alloy devices and in process engineering for additive manufacturing.

rafale II-catamaran-c-class-link-component

The featured image is from the authors. Substance CC license applies.

SUMMARY

Under close scrutiny by researchers for some time now, additive manufacturing finally made its appearance in an industry that can evaluate its potential. This type of shaping process is handy for single-use custom designs, and the RAFALE team wanted to evaluate the structural feasibility of this state-of-the-art technology by integrating it into the second prototype of the C-Class catamaran, at École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS). This article shows the development process of a structural link component resulting from additive manufacturing, whose aim was to join the carbon fibre elliptical tubes that are part of the catamaran’s cross-member. The component, made from an AlSi10Mg aluminum alloy, was shaped using the Laser Powder Bed Fusion (L-PBF) technology (also called Selective Laser Melting or SLM ).

Introduction

c-class-catamaran-rafale-ets

Figure 1 C-Class Catamaran

The simplicity of a C-Class catamaran is based on the quality of its components, allowing it to attain a high level of synergy. To succeed in making a new flying craft, members of the RAFALE team collaborated with the ETS Research Chair on Engineering of Processing, Materials and Structures for Additive Manufacturing and the Shape Memory Alloys and Intelligent Systems Laboratory (LAMSI). The structural challenges posed by additive manufacturing (AM) are significant ones and special knowledge is needed to take full advantage of the method.

C-Class Catamarans

The Rafale team is a scientific and technological club composed of ÉTS students passionate about boating, who practise sport sailing at the university, and who wanted to build their own sail craft. In a bold move, the design of the first ÉTS multihull prototype was launched in 2013. This project proved to be a springboard for their participation in the September 2015 Class-C World Championship, the “Little Cup“.

Over the last 50 years, performances of Class-C catamarans have been steadily improving by taking advantage of a well-known energy resource: the wind! Originally inspired by Pacific pirogues, these craft are now equipped with an aerodynamic-shaped rigid wing and hydrofoils, allowing them to fly above the water and reach speeds of up to 60 km/h. Handled by talented sailors, these sailing prototypes are known to be true platforms for small-scale technological innovation.

Motivated by the experience gained in the 2015 championship, the team wanted to pursue the adventure by creating a new, more competitive version of their sailing prototype: the RAFALE II.

Design and Technological Opportunities

rafale-II-catamaran-c-class-ets

Figure 2 – A: Structural component, B: Front crossbar, C: Martingale, D: Mast foot, E: Tensioner

As a student club, Rafale faces unique challenges, different from those of other “Little Cup” teams. For example, their budget is 26 times lower than that of the winning team of the previous cup: they must therefore make relevant and strategic choices. In addition, to make a high-performance water craft, all components must be perfectly integrated with one another.

As the forward main beam of the future craft will consist of two elliptical carbon fibre prepreg tubes, the challenge lies in making a centre joint that unifies the whole catamaran. This structural connection piece will be the metal core of a composite assembly that will support the wing, bind the hulls and provide rigidity to the platform.

At this stage, additive manufacturing is much more appropriate than traditional manufacturing processes since it reduces manufacturing times as well as demand on the team’s available resources. But above all, this technology has made it possible to optimize the catamaran structure by merging some parts of the final product.

An Iterative Collaborative Process

rafale-II-link-component-catamaran-c-class

Figure 3 – Cross-section view of the part during the design process; from the preliminary version (left) to the final version (right). The major evolving features are identified by colour: internal cavities in yellow, hydrofoil attachments in blue, adjustment pole assembly hole in green.

With additive manufacturing, almost any conceivable geometry can be produced. On the other hand, rigorous design is necessary because of the many factors that influence the mechanical properties of the final component. For example, internal micro cracks caused by metal oxidation may occur during the melting process (1). These characteristics must be taken into account during the design process. For a C-Class catamaran, a static value of 15,000 N of compression from the rigid wing to the mast base is a good starting point. Add to this platform tension loads, hull torsion, weight of the crew and potential loading of the craft. Considering the manufacturing method, the properties of the AlSi10Mg aluminum alloy (70 GPa E“Young's modulus, also known as the elastic modulus, is a measure of the stiffness of a solid material. It is a mechanical property of linear elastic solid materials. It defines the relationship between stress (force per unit area) and strain (proportional deformation) in a material.” Wikipedia, 230 MPa YS“Beyond the elastic limit, permanent deformation will occur. The elastic limit is therefore the lowest stress at which permanent deformation can be measured.” Wikipedia, 12% elongation at break), and the resulting loads on the component link, a maximum static stress of 100 MPa was established.

rafale-II-link-component-catamaran-c-class

Figure 4 – From left to right:
1- Beginning of the design process based on topological studies.
2- Perspective view of the final digital model.
3- Representation of forces and moments defining the assembly details.
4- Potential constraints on the component.

Inspired by a topological study using the Altair hyperWorks software, the final model is mainly hollow with walls that evolve according to the internal constraints of the component. Stiffeners have been added in order to reflect expected movements of the carbon fibre tubes (non-linear combined movements of 5.3 cm). The outer surface, which looks something like a golf ball, provides the specifications required for adhesive assembly.

 

Additive Manufacturing of the link Component

rafale-II-link-component-catamaran-c-class

Figure 5 – Recovery of link components after the selective laser melting process

The AM technology used to manufacture the link component is to fuse metal powder particles with a laser (2). This way, the three-dimensional object is the result of superposing multitude of metal layers, each with the thickness of a human hair (50 to 100 microns).

Model preparation for production is critical and is used to evaluate the elements that will have an impact on the final result. To prepare for the machining and anodizing tests, two copies of the component were made vertically. Although this orientation took more time to print, it reduced the number of supports to be integrated in the model. Supports are needed during the process to prevent any collapsing of the geometry while diffusing heat. Finally, the component, with a final mass of 1200 g, was heat-treated at 300° C for 2 hours in order to release the residual stresses generated during the process.

Conclusion

Rafale-II-link-component-catamaran-c-class

Figure 6 – Finished product: the structural link component

In short, knowledge of additive manufacturing among the team is acquired through experience. Made from acrylonitrile styrene acrylate (ASA), the structural web of the rudders (used to operate the catamaran) was also produced using the AM method. In this context, the process was the extrusion and shaping of material (FDM) using a Stratasys 900mc machine. Although the design is complete and manufacturing is still ongoing, team members would like to participate in Miami’s “Foiling Week” competition, from February 15 to 22, 2018.

Acknowledgements

The authors wish to thank Julien Chaussée and Louis Chevallier for their support and expertise in the development of numerical models for finite element analysis, and Gabriel Caron for his participation in the design process. They also wish to thank the active members of the summer 2017 RAFALE team for their commitment.

 

Jonathan Laganière

Author's profile

Jonathan Laganière is completing his Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His active participation within the RAFALE team dates back to the first edition of the Class-C catamaran.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research chair : ETS Research Chair on Engineering of Processing, Materials and Structures for Additive Manufacturing 

Research laboratories : LAMSI – Shape Memory Alloys and Intelligent Systems Laboratory 

Author profile

Vincent Koronkiewicz

Author's profile

Vincent Koronkiewicz is a student completing a certificate in Quality Assurance Management at ÉTS. He joined RAFALE’s second edition. He is designing the future hull surfaces and related tools.

Research chair : ETS Research Chair on Engineering of Processing, Materials and Structures for Additive Manufacturing 

Research laboratories : LAMSI – Shape Memory Alloys and Intelligent Systems Laboratory 

Author profile

Jean-René Poulin

Author's profile

Jean-Rene Poulin is a Ph.D student at ÉTS, working on the damage tolerance of lattice structures obtained by additive manufacturing.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research chair : ETS Research Chair on Engineering of Processing, Materials and Structures for Additive Manufacturing 

Research laboratories : LAMSI – Shape Memory Alloys and Intelligent Systems Laboratory 

Author profile

Vladimir Brailovski

Author's profile

Vladimir Brailovski is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. He specializes in the design and manufacturing of shape memory alloy devices and in process engineering for additive manufacturing.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research chair : ETS Research Chair on Engineering of Processing, Materials and Structures for Additive Manufacturing 

Research laboratories : LAMSI – Shape Memory Alloys and Intelligent Systems Laboratory 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Défi de conception structurale pour un catamaran Class-C - Par : Jonathan Laganière, Vincent Koronkiewicz, Jean-René Poulin, Vladimir Brailovski,

Défi de conception structurale pour un catamaran Class-C


Jonathan Laganière
Jonathan Laganière Profil de l'auteur(e)
Jonathan Laganière est finissant au baccalauréat en génie mécanique à l’ÉTS. Sa participation active au sein de l’équipe RAFALE remonte au moment de la première édition du catamaran Class-C.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Vincent Koronkiewicz
Vincent Koronkiewicz Profil de l'auteur(e)
Vincent Koronkiewicz est étudiant au certificat en gestion et assurance qualité à l’ÉTS et s’est joint à la seconde édition de RAFALE. Il conçoit les surfaces des prochaines coques et son outillage.

Jean-René Poulin
Jean-René Poulin Profil de l'auteur(e)
Jean-René Poulin est étudiant au doctorat à l’ÉTS. Il travaille sur la tolérance aux dommages des structures de titane obtenues par fabrication additive.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Vladimir Brailovski
Vladimir Brailovski Profil de l'auteur(e)
Vladimir Brailovski est professeur au département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Il est spécialiste en conception et en fabrication de dispositifs en alliages à mémoire de forme et de l'ingénierie des procédés pour la fabrication additive.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Rafale II-catamaran-class-c-composant-de-liaison

L’image d’en-tête provient des auteurs. La licence CC de Substance s’applique.

RÉSUMÉ:

Sous la loupe des chercheurs depuis un certain moment déjà, la fabrication additive fait enfin son apparition dans l’industrie qui en évalue le potentiel. Ce procédé de mise en forme est accommodant pour les conceptions personnalisées à usage unique et l’équipe RAFALE a voulu évaluer la faisabilité structurale de cette technologie de pointe afin de l’intégrer au second prototype de catamaran Class-C de l’École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS). Cet article montre le processus de création d’un composant de liaison structurale issue de la fabrication additive, dont le but est de joindre des tubes elliptiques construits en fibre de carbone qui font partie de la traverse maîtresse du catamaran. Le composant, réalisé à partir d’un alliage d’aluminium de type AlSi10Mg, a été mis en forme à l’aide de la méthode de fusion sélective au laser (FSL) sur lit de poudre.

Introduction

catamaran-class-c-rafale-ets

Figure 1 Catamaran Class-C

La simplicité d’un catamaran Class-C repose sur la qualité de ses composants permettant d’obtenir une synergie irréprochable à l’ensemble. Ainsi, pour arriver à confectionner une nouvelle embarcation volante, les membres de l’équipe RAFALE ont collaboré avec la Chaire de recherche de l’ÉTS sur l’ingénierie des procédés, des matériaux et des structures pour la fabrication additive et le Laboratoire sur les alliages à mémoire et système intelligent (LAMSI). Les défis structuraux imposés par la fabrication additive (FA) sont vraiment importants et pour en tirer pleinement profit, des connaissances particulières sont nécessaires.

Les catamarans class-C

L’équipe Rafale est un club scientifique et technologique de l’ÉTS regroupant des étudiants passionnés de nautisme pratiquant la voile sportive à l’université et qui, ont eu l’ambition de réaliser leur propre embarcation. C’est dans un élan audacieux que la conception du premier prototype multicoque de l’ÉTS a vu le jour au courant de l’année 2013. Ce projet a été un remarquable tremplin vers la participation au Championnat du monde des Class-C, la « Little Cup », en septembre 2015.

Depuis les 50 dernières années, les performances des catamarans Class-C ne cessent de s’améliorer en tirant profit d’une ressource énergétique bien connue : le vent! Originaires des pirogues océaniennes, ces embarcations sont aujourd’hui munies d’une aile rigide, de forme aérodynamique, et de dérives portantes leur permettant littéralement de voler au-dessus de l’eau et d’atteindre des vitesses frôlant les 60 km/h. Manipulés par de navigateurs talentueux, ces prototypes nautiques ont la réputation d’être de véritables plates-formes d’innovation technologique à petite échelle.

Motivée par l’expérience acquise lors du dernier championnat de 2015, l’équipe a souhaité poursuivre son aventure en créant une nouvelle version plus compétitive de son prototype nautique : Le RAFALE II.

La création et les opportunités technologiques

rafale-II-catamaran-class-c-ets

Figure 2- A : Composant structural, B : Traverse avant, C : Martingale, D : Pied de mât, E : Tensionneur

Rafale, en tant que club étudiant fait face à des défis particuliers, différents des autres équipes de la « Little Cup ». Par exemple, son budget est 26 fois inférieur à celui de l’équipe gagnante de la coupe précédente : ses choix se doivent d’être judicieux et stratégiques. De plus, pour arriver à confectionner une embarcation nautique de haute performance, il importe que tous les composants soient parfaitement intégrés les uns avec les autres.

Comme la traverse maîtresse de la prochaine embarcation sera constituée de deux tubes elliptiques laminés en fibre de carbone, le défi réside en la réalisation d’un joint central uni au reste du catamaran. Cette pièce de jonction structurale sera le cœur métallique d’un assemblage composite devant supporter l’aile, lier les coques et apporter de la rigidité à la plate-forme.

À cette étape, la fabrication additive est nettement plus appropriée que les procédés classiques de fabrication puisqu’elle permet de réduire le temps de fabrication ainsi que les ressources effectives de l’équipe. Mais surtout, cette technologie a permis d’optimiser la structure du catamaran en fusionnant certaines pièces de l’ensemble final.

Un processus de collaboration itératif

rafale-II-composant-de-liaison-catamaran-class-c

Figure 3-vue en coupe de la pièce lors du processus de conception; de la version préliminaire (gauche) à la version finale (droite). Les traits évolutifs importants sont illustrés par des couleurs : des cavités internent en jaune, l’attache pour dérive portante en bleu, le trou d’assemblage d’un pôle d’ajustement en vert.

La fabrication additive permet de réaliser presque toutes les géométries imaginables. En revanche, une conception rigoureuse est nécessaire en raison des nombreux facteurs qui viennent influencer les propriétés mécaniques du composant final. Par exemple, des microfissures internes causées par l’oxydation du métal peuvent survenir au moment du procédé de fusion (1). Ces caractéristiques doivent être considérées lors de la conception. Pour un catamaran Class-C, une valeur statique de 15 000 N de compression de l’aile rigide vers le socle du mât est une bonne valeur de départ. À cela s’ajoutent les charges de tension de la plate-forme, de la torsion des coques, du poids de l’équipage et l’enfournement possible de l’embarcation. Compte tenu de la méthode de fabrication, des propriétés de l’alliage d’aluminium AlSi10Mg (E « Le module de Young est la constante qui relie la contrainte de traction ou de compression et le début de la déformation d’un matériau élastique isotrope ». Réf. Wikipédia.de 70 GPa, YS« La limite d’élasticité est la contrainte à partir de laquelle un matériau arrête de se déformer d’une manière élastique, réversible et commence donc à se déformer de manière irréversible. » Réf. Wikipédia. de 230 MPa, élongation à la rupture 12 %) et des charges résultantes sur le composant de liaison, une contrainte statique maximale de 100 MPa a été établie.

Rafale-II-composant-de-liaison-catamaran-class-c

Figure 4-De gauche à droite :
1-Début du processus de conception réalisé à partir d’une étude topologique.
2-Vue de perspective illustrant le model numérique final.
3-Représentation des forces et moments définissant la situation de l’assemblage.
4-Contraintes que subira le composant.

 

Inspiré par une étude topologique réalisée à l’aide du logiciel Altair hyperWorks, le modèle final est principalement creux et muni de parois évolutives suivant les contraintes internes du composant. Des raidisseurs ont été ajoutés afin de refléter parfaitement les déplacements prévus des tubes en fibres de carbone (déplacements combinés non linéaires de 5,3 cm). La surface extérieure, ressemblant à celle d’une balle de golf, assure les spécifications requises pour un assemblage par collage.

 

Fabrication additive du composant de liaison

rafale-II-composant-de-liaison-catamaran-class-c

Figure 5 -Récupération des composants de liaison à la suite du procédé de fusion sélective au laser.

La technologie de FA employée pour fabriquer le composant de liaison consiste à fusionner les particules de poudre d’un métal à l’aide d’un laser (2). Ainsi, l’objet tridimensionnel est le résultat d’une superposition de plusieurs couches de métal dont l’épaisseur d’une seule est équivalente au diamètre d’un cheveu humain (50 à 100 µm).

La préparation du modèle pour la fabrication est primordiale et sert à évaluer les éléments influençant le résultat final. En prévision de la réalisation des essais d’usinage et d’anodisation, deux copies de ce composant ont été réalisées selon une orientation verticale. Bien que prenant plus de temps à l’impression, cette orientation a permis de réduire la quantité de supports à intégrer au modèle. Les supports sont utiles pendant le procédé puisqu’ils préviennent les risques d’affaissement de la géométrie tout en permettant de diffuser la chaleur. Pour finir, le composant, d’une masse finale de 1200 g, a subi un traitement thermique à 300 °C pendant 2 heures afin de relâcher les contraintes résiduelles générées pendant le procédé.

Conclusion

rafale-II-composant-de-liaison-catamaran-class-c

Figure 6 – Produit fini : le composant de liaison structurale

Bref, les connaissances particulières de la fabrication additive continuent d’être acquises par l’expérience au sein de l’équipe. Faites à partir d’acrylonitrile styrène acrylate (ASA), les âmes structurales des safrans (ce qui permet la direction du catamaran) ont également été réalisées par FA. Dans ce contexte, le procédé était de l’extrusion de matériau (FDM) mis en forme à partir de la machine 900mc de la compagnie Stratasys. Bien que la conception soit terminée et la fabrication toujours en cours, les membres de l’équipe souhaiteraient participer à la « Foiling Week » qui aura lieu du 15 au 22 février 2018 à Miami.

Remerciement

Les auteurs remercient Julien Chaussée et Louis Chevallier pour leur soutien et expertise au moment de l’élaboration des modèles numériques pour les analyses par éléments finis ainsi que Gabriel Caron pour sa participation au processus de conception. Ils remercient également les membres actifs de l’équipe RAFALE de l’été 2017 pour leur détermination.

 

 

Jonathan Laganière

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jonathan Laganière est finissant au baccalauréat en génie mécanique à l’ÉTS. Sa participation active au sein de l’équipe RAFALE remonte au moment de la première édition du catamaran Class-C.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche ÉTS sur l'ingénierie des procédés, des matériaux et des structures pour la fabrication additive 

Laboratoires de recherche : LAMSI – Laboratoire sur les alliages à mémoire et les systèmes intelligents 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Vincent Koronkiewicz

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Vincent Koronkiewicz est étudiant au certificat en gestion et assurance qualité à l’ÉTS et s’est joint à la seconde édition de RAFALE. Il conçoit les surfaces des prochaines coques et son outillage.

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche ÉTS sur l'ingénierie des procédés, des matériaux et des structures pour la fabrication additive 

Laboratoires de recherche : LAMSI – Laboratoire sur les alliages à mémoire et les systèmes intelligents 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jean-René Poulin

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jean-René Poulin est étudiant au doctorat à l’ÉTS. Il travaille sur la tolérance aux dommages des structures de titane obtenues par fabrication additive.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche ÉTS sur l'ingénierie des procédés, des matériaux et des structures pour la fabrication additive 

Laboratoires de recherche : LAMSI – Laboratoire sur les alliages à mémoire et les systèmes intelligents 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Vladimir Brailovski

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Vladimir Brailovski est professeur au département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Il est spécialiste en conception et en fabrication de dispositifs en alliages à mémoire de forme et de l'ingénierie des procédés pour la fabrication additive.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche ÉTS sur l'ingénierie des procédés, des matériaux et des structures pour la fabrication additive 

Laboratoires de recherche : LAMSI – Laboratoire sur les alliages à mémoire et les systèmes intelligents 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *