SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Developing True Passion for Research at the Dynamo Laboratory - By : Nicolas Tremblay,

Developing True Passion for Research at the Dynamo Laboratory


Nicolas Tremblay
Nicolas Tremblay Author profile
Nicolas Tremblay is completing a Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. After two internships in research, he is also a research assistant. He plans to pursue his studies with a Master’s degree, and a Ph.D.

An intership in a research lab at ÉTS

The featured image was bought from Istock.com. Copyrights.

In the aviation industry, safety is a key issue. In this respect, rigorous maintenance and prevention work is regularly performed. These inspections are usually lengthy and expensive. As a result, the industry is constantly looking for innovative ways to shorten investigation time, malfunction repair time, and ultimately, inspection frequency. Currently, the approach is to comply with planned maintenance schedules, but a more response-based approach is increasingly being recommended. This approach consists of monitoring structural health. The technique involves ongoing structural analysis in order to detect or monitor defects using non-invasive methods. These inspections are generally quick and efficient, with the ultimate goal of planning interventions only when appropriate or absolutely necessary.

In such finely specialized fields as non-destructive analysis, university research is very exciting. It helps expand knowledge on a continual basis and, by the same token, train specialists who are valuable to the industry, as they can use, understand and improve on current techniques. I am the recipient of two NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Awards (USRA). I had the opportunity to complete two internships in a university research environment at ÉTS, with Professor Pierre Bélanger at the Research Laboratory in Machine, Process and Structural Dynamics, Dynamo. These experiences literally changed my life. They gave me the drive to succeed throughout my studies and additional motivation to excel.

aircraft inspection before flight

A Defining Experience

For me, the revelation came at the beginning of my first internship. I was working with a Ph.D. student who needed high-temperature measurement results—I’ll spare you the details. Finally, after a month of hard work, we were successful. We had before us something that no one else in the world had managed to achieve. It was not the answer to a given physics problem, but the result of several weeks of trial and error. It is very rewarding to be the first to see something unique in the world. This sense of accomplishment is incredible and represented a turning point in my life.

That being said, there are not only incredible discoveries in the life of a researcher. My job involves conducting simulations with different software and calculating wave propagation behaviours. Most of it involves programming with Matlab and Python. Each day, I find that my research activities greatly facilitate my learning process. Indeed, I often implement concepts from my classes that I never thought I could use. And I also learn the foundations of concepts that will be addressed in upcoming courses. The knowledge that I use in my research activities reinforces the notions acquired in my previous classes. What is more, I learn more advanced concepts that allow me to focus on new elements when I start new classes. In addition, a certain level of scientific rigour must be maintained within the research environment, which is a great advantage when comes the time to do laboratory work and report writing, often requiring less effort, and the results are more complete and more professional. In addition, given the physical proximity to the school, it is easy to take a class during the internship, which can speed up the journey.

A Taste for Research

As a student researcher, I cannot see myself stopping at the undergraduate level. I am currently applying for funding to complete the ÉTS Undergraduate to Master’s Fast Track Program, in the fall of 2018. Through this program, a master’s degree can be started before having completed the bachelor’s degree, and be shortened by eight months. The goal of my Master’s degree will be to increase my knowledge and to gain professional skills applicable to non-destructive testing, or more specifically, to ultrasound imaging. I am also excited by the opportunity of being able to exchange with members of the scientific community in that field. After my master’s degree, I am seriously considering pursuing a Ph.D., ultimately to become a professor or researcher in a national research centre.

Nicolas Tremblay is a student at ÉTS

Finally, it is true that a researcher’s work is somewhat solitary, taking place mostly between a student and a supervisor. As a result, social interaction becomes very important and I am fortunate to be part of the best laboratory team I know. This sense of belonging is so important to me that it is where I get most of my day-to-day motivation. The prevailing team spirit and sense of collaboration really promote knowledge sharing.

Nicolas Tremblay

Author's profile

Nicolas Tremblay is completing a Bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. After two internships in research, he is also a research assistant. He plans to pursue his studies with a Master’s degree, and a Ph.D.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research laboratories : DYNAMO – Research Laboratory in Machine, Process and Structural Dynamics 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Découvrir sa passion pour la recherche au Laboratoire Dynamo - Par : Nicolas Tremblay,

Découvrir sa passion pour la recherche au Laboratoire Dynamo


Nicolas Tremblay
Nicolas Tremblay Profil de l'auteur(e)
Nicolas Tremblay effectue un baccalauréat en génie mécanique à l’ÉTS. Ayant fait deux stages en recherche universitaire, il est aussi assistant de recherche en dynamique. Il compte poursuivre à la maîtrise, puis au doctorat.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Un stage en recherche à l'ÉTS

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com. Des droits d’auteurs s’appliquent.

Dans l’industrie aéronautique, la sécurité est un enjeu primordial. Dans cette optique, des travaux méthodiques de maintenance et de prévention sont régulièrement requis. Ces inspections sont généralement longues et coûteuses. L’industrie est ainsi constamment à la recherche de procédés innovants afin de réduire le temps d’investigation, le temps de traitement des défaillances, et ultimement, la fréquence des inspections. Actuellement, l’usage est de se conformer à des plans de maintenance, mais une approche plus interventionniste est de plus en plus préconisée. Cette dernière se nomme la surveillance de l’état des structures. Cette technique consiste à analyser une structure continuellement afin de détecter ou de surveiller différentes défaillances avec des méthodes non invasives. Ces inspections sont généralement rapides et efficaces, et ont pour but de planifier une intervention seulement lorsque c’est opportun ou absolument nécessaire.

Dans les domaines aussi pointus que l’analyse non destructive, la recherche universitaire devient très intéressante. Elle permet d’en repousser sans cesse la connaissance et, par le fait même, forme des spécialistes très utiles à l’industrie, capables d’utiliser, de comprendre et d’améliorer ses techniques. J’ai bénéficié à deux reprises de bourses de recherche de 1er cycle (BRPC) offertes par le CRSNG. J’ai eu ainsi la chance de pouvoir effectuer deux stages en milieu de recherche universitaire à l’ÉTS avec le professeur Pierre Bélanger au Laboratoire en dynamique des machines, des structures et des procédés, Dynamo. Ces expériences ont littéralement changé ma vie. Elles m’ont donné un but à atteindre tout au long de mes études et une motivation supplémentaire à exceller.

Inspection d'un avion avant un vol

Une expérience décisive

Pour moi, le déclic s’est passé au début de mon premier stage. Je travaillais avec un doctorant qui avait besoin d’obtenir le résultat d’une mesure à haute température — je vous passe les détails. Finalement, après un mois de travail acharné, nous avons réussi à obtenir ce que nous désirions. Nous avions devant les yeux quelque chose que personne d’autre au monde n’avait réussi à obtenir. Ce n’était pas la réponse à un problème de physique quelconque, mais bien le fruit de plusieurs semaines d’essais-erreurs. C’est très gratifiant d’être le premier à observer quelque chose d’unique au monde. Ce sentiment d’accomplissement est incroyable et représente un moment tournant dans ma vie.

Cela étant dit, il n’y a pas que des découvertes incroyables dans la vie d’un chercheur. Mon travail consiste notamment à effectuer des simulations avec différents logiciels et à calculer des comportements de propagation d’ondes. La majeure partie se fait par de la programmation sur Matlab et Python. Au jour le jour, je constate que mes activités de recherche facilitent grandement mon apprentissage. En effet, souvent, je mets en œuvre des notions de cours que je n’imaginais jamais utiliser. Mais aussi, j’apprends les prémisses de notions à venir dans mon cheminement. Les connaissances que j’utilise en recherche consolident mes acquis des cours passés. Mais aussi, j’acquiers des notions plus avancées qui font que, quand je commence de nouveaux cours, je peux me concentrer sur ce qui est nouveau. De plus, le milieu de la recherche  force à acquérir une certaine rigueur scientifique, ce qui donne un gros avantage dans l’exécution des laboratoires et la rédaction des rapports. Ces derniers me demandent souvent moins d’efforts, sont complets et professionnels. De plus, vu la proximité physique avec l’école, il est facile de suivre un cours pendant le stage, ce qui peut accélérer le cheminement.

Le goût de la recherche

Étant étudiant-chercheur, je ne peux me résoudre à arrêter ma formation universitaire au premier cycle. Je suis actuellement en demande de financement pour effectuer la passerelle bac-maîtrise de l’ÉTS à l’automne 2018. Cette passerelle permet de commencer une maîtrise avant d’avoir fini son baccalauréat et d’accélérer l’obtention du diplôme de deuxième cycle de huit mois. L’objectif de ma maîtrise sera d’approfondir mes connaissances et d’en retirer un savoir professionnel applicable au contrôle non destructif, plus précisément, à l’imagerie par ultrasons. Je suis également enthousiaste à l’idée d’avoir de nombreux échanges avec la communauté scientifique du milieu. Après ma maîtrise, j’envisage fortement la poursuite au doctorat pour ultimement devenir professeur ou alors chercheur dans un centre de recherche national.

Nicolas Tremblay est étudiant à l'ÉTS

Pour finir, il est vrai que le travail de chercheur est en majorité un travail solitaire qui se passe essentiellement entre un étudiant et son superviseur. Par contre, il est très important d’accorder de l’importance aux échanges sociaux. En effet, j’ai la chance de faire partie intégrante de la meilleure équipe de laboratoire que je connaisse. Ce sentiment d’appartenance est tellement important pour moi que j’en tire la majeure partie de ma motivation au jour le jour. Il y règne un esprit de fraternité et de collaboration, ce qui favorise grandement les échanges de connaissances.

Nicolas Tremblay

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Nicolas Tremblay effectue un baccalauréat en génie mécanique à l’ÉTS. Ayant fait deux stages en recherche universitaire, il est aussi assistant de recherche en dynamique. Il compte poursuivre à la maîtrise, puis au doctorat.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Laboratoires de recherche : DYNAMO – Équipe de recherche en dynamique des machines, des structures et des procédés 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *