SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Participatory Urban E-Agriculture - By : Hanen Hattab,

Participatory Urban E-Agriculture


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

hydroponic farm

Pixabay, Public Domain.

Automation is unavoidable in the agricultural sector. Whether using robots, or sensors to monitor crop conditions in real time, e-agriculture is about improving food quality and managing natural resources. Although the technology-agriculture duo may frighten people who associate it with GMOs, junk food, and bland foods, it is important to remember that, on the contrary, many small-scale farms are working to use technology appropriately, abandoning practices that gave the food industry its bad reputation, such as over-harvesting or using harmful chemicals. In recent years, universities have been following the trend within a framework of scientific research or the design of eco-sustainable buildings. At the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), a new research laboratory set up a farm in Middleton, Massachusetts, to democratize environmental farming practices.

Smart, Local and Participatory Agriculture

In the footsteps of urban agriculture, the OpenAg group is a cyber-plant laboratory inventing the farming methods of the future, taking climate change into consideration. In addition to food, the group aims to produce more effective medicinal plants. The laboratory uses machine learning, botany and chemistry and hopes to develop open-source technologies that study plant-environment interactions within a small-scale precision-farming context. In this regard, Caleb Harper, senior researcher at the MIT Media Lab, pointed out that data from the agricultural sector are not widely available to the public. By sharing the results of its research, the OpenAg group wishes to contribute to network science. To this end, the laboratory developed an educational and participatory project for young people to share their agricultural data on a web platform created for this purpose. University and high school students from 65 countries use “personal food computers”, designed by the laboratory, to monitor and regulate plant growth, and to send the captured information to the database.

The personal food computer

Current Projects

Basil is one of the cyber-plants grown in the lab’s small farm. The laboratory designed a smart experimental culture system to improve the taste of the aromatic plant. The study demonstrating the feasibility of this approach is entitled “Flavor-cyber-agriculture: Optimization of plant metabolites in an open-source control environment through surrogate modeling.” It was co-authored by Arielle J. Johnson, Elliot Meyerson, John Parra, Timothy L. Savas, Risto Miikkulainen and Caleb B. Harper, and published in Plos One on April 3, 2019. The method combines metabolomic analyses and deep learning to evaluate conditions that optimize plant flavour. This pilot experiment made it possible to study basil growing in a hydroponic farm. The study presented the following steps:

  • Finding the best weather conditions, including photoperiod and exposure to ultraviolet light, which can affect the production of aromatic molecules in edible plants.
  • Measuring flavour-active volatile levels in each plant using gas chromatography-mass spectrometry.
  • Studying environmental influences on the basil phenotype.

The algorithm, developed by the MIT team and researchers at Sentient Technologies, analyzed millions of combinations of exposure time to light and UV, and generated sets of conditions to improve flavours.

The team is currently working on several other projects, while continuing to study basil in order to increase compounds that can be used in the treatment of disease, such as diabetes. The laboratory is also studying other growing conditions, namely temperature, humidity, colour of light, and the effects of adding plant hormones or nutrients. Another ongoing project is the development of a technique for natural insect control using chitosan, a polymer found in insect shells. The team is also working on hazel trees for candy maker Ferrero whose process consumes about 25% of the world’s hazelnuts.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
La cyberagriculture urbaine et participative - Par : Hanen Hattab,

La cyberagriculture urbaine et participative


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

hydroponie

Pixabay, Domaine public.

L’automatisation est la voie inéluctable du secteur agricole. Qu’elle emploie des robots ou suive en temps réel l’état des cultures grâce à des capteurs, la cyberagriculture a pour but d’améliorer la qualité des aliments et la gestion des ressources naturelles. Bien que le duo technologie et agriculture puisse effrayer ceux qui l’associent aux OGM, à la malbouffe et aux aliments fades, il faut savoir que plusieurs exploitations agricoles à petite échelle œuvrent au contraire à utiliser la technologie à bon escient, en abandonnant les pratiques qui ont fait la mauvaise réputation de l’industrie alimentaire, comme la surexploitation ou encore l’utilisation des produits chimiques nuisibles. Ces dernières années les universités suivent ce mouvement dans le cadre de recherches scientifiques ou la conception de bâtiments écodurables. Au Massachusett Institute of Technology (MIT), un nouveau laboratoire de recherche a monté une ferme au Middleton, au Massachusetts, dans le but de démocratiser les pratiques agricoles écotechnologiques.

Agriculture intelligente, locale et participative

Sur les pas de l’agriculture urbaine, l’OpenAg group est un laboratoire de cyberplantation qui invente les méthodes agricoles du futur, en prenant en considération les changements climatiques. En plus des aliments, il vise notamment la production de plantes médicinales plus efficaces. Le laboratoire a recours à l’apprentissage machine, la botanique et la chimie et veut développer des technologies à code source ouvert qui étudient l’interaction plante/environnement dans un contexte agricole de précision, à petite échelle. À ce propos, Caleb Harper, chercheur principal au Media Lab du MIT, a souligné que les données du secteur agricole étaient peu accessibles au public. En partageant les résultats de ses recherches, l’OpenAg group souhaite contribuer à la science des réseaux. Pour ce faire, le laboratoire a mis au point un projet éducatif et participatif qui invite les jeunes à partager leurs données agricoles sur une plate-forme Web créée à cet effet. Des étudiants et des lycéens de 65 pays utilisent des « ordinateurs personnels d’alimentation », conçu par le laboratoire, dans le but de suivre et de réguler la croissance des plantes, et d’envoyer les informations captées à la base de données.

L’ordinateur personnel d’alimentation

Projets en cours

Parmi les cyberplantations cultivées au sein de la petite ferme du laboratoire, l’équipe compte le basilic. Le laboratoire a conçu un système intelligent de culture expérimentale dans le but d’améliorer le goût de la plante aromatique. L’étude qui montre la faisabilité de cette approche s’intitule « Flavor-cyber-agriculture: Optimization of plant metabolites in an open-source control environment through surrogate modeling ». Elle est coécrite par Arielle J. Johnson, Elliot Meyerson, John de la Parra, Timothy L. Savas, Risto Miikkulainen et Caleb B. Harper, et a été publiée dans Plos One le 3 avril 2019. La méthode combine les analyses métabolomiques et l’apprentissage profond afin d’évaluer les conditions qui optimisent le goût de la plante. Cette expérience pilote a permis d’étudier la croissance du basilic, qui a poussé dans une ferme hydroponique. L’étude a présenté les étapes suivantes :

  • La recherche des meilleures conditions climatiques, dont la photopériode et l’exposition aux rayons ultraviolets, qui peuvent affecter la production de molécules aromatiques chez les plantes comestibles.
  • La mesure des taux de molécules odorantes volatiles dans chaque plante en utilisant la chromatographie en phase gazeuse-spectrométrie de masse.
  • L’étude de l’influence du milieu sur le phénotype du basilic.

L’algorithme, conçu par l’équipe du MIT et des chercheurs de l’entreprise Sentient Technologies, a analysé des millions de combinaisons de durée d’exposition à la lumière et aux rayons UV, et a généré des ensembles de conditions permettant d’améliorer les arômes.

L’équipe travaille actuellement sur plusieurs autres projets. Elle continue à étudier le basilic afin d’augmenter des composés pouvant être utilisés dans les traitements de maladies comme le diabète. Le laboratoire se penche aussi sur d’autres conditions de culture, à savoir : la température, l’humidité, la couleur de la lumière, ainsi que les effets de l’ajout d’hormones végétales ou de nutriments. Un autre projet en cours est l’élaboration d’une technique naturelle pour lutter contre les insectes en utilisant le chitosane, un polymère présent dans les coquilles d’insectes. L’équipe travaille aussi sur les noisetiers pour le fabricant de bonbons Ferrero, qui consomme environ 25 % des noisettes au monde.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *