SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Starting a Business in Montreal - By : Clarisse Bascans, Sophie Jeandel, Caroline Lau,

Starting a Business in Montreal


Clarisse Bascans completed a Master of Research (abbreviated MRes.) Degree as part of the combined undergraduate/master program agreement between ÉTS and INSA Lyon. She also successfully completed the ÉTS Short Graduate Program in Surgical Innovation.

Sophie Jeandel was an exchange student and completed a MRes. as part of the agreement between ÉTS and Compiègne University of Technology. She was introduced to research during an internship on the morphofunctional analysis of the shoulder, supervised by Professor Nicola Hagemeister.

Clarisse Bascans
Clarisse Bascans Author profile
Clarisse Bascans completed a Master of Research degree specialized in Healthcare Technology at ÉTS. She holds a Mechanical Engineering degree from INSA Lyon (France) and a Certificate in Surgical Innovation from ÉTS.

Sophie Jeandel
Sophie Jeandel Author profile
Sophie Jeandel completed a Master of Research degree specialized in Healthcare Technology at ÉTS. She holds a degree in Biological Engineering from UTC (France). She is co-founder of Avisio Qualité.

Caroline Lau
Caroline Lau Author profile
Caroline Lau holds a Master of Research degree in, specialized in Healthcare Technology at ÉTS and a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering at McGill. She worked at the LIO as research professional and quality manager.

City of Montreal

Header image was purchased on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

Introduction

We are two young French ÉTS graduates (August 2018), with a MRes. degree in health technology engineering. By the end of our Master’s degree, we set up a company with Caroline Lau, a Quebecer who also earned a MRes. at ÉTS in 2010. Both holding an engineering degree in France, we wanted to start our professional career through entrepreneurship. With this article, we want to explain what guided our choice to stay in Montréal as well as the benefits of our Master of Research.

Montréal, Our Adopted City

Our two years of graduate studies gave us time to appreciate Montreal’s charm and multicultural diversity, and to become attached to this unique city that, although expansive, remains quite human and accessible. In addition, Montréal is a very dynamic and highly innovative city, most recently in healthcare, thanks to government initiatives like the Stratégie québécoise des sciences de la vie, launched in 2017. The City of Montréal allows initiatives of all kinds to emerge, and health innovation events flourish every day, allowing for easy networking. Furthermore, we could easily be made to feel that we lack experience but the Quebec mentality is such that we feel very supported in this ecosystem. Having recently graduated is not a problem for our partners who, on the contrary, are happy to hear new ideas from young people and to give us a chance.

The Rewards of Our ÉTS Research Masters

Sophie discovered the research community during her end-of-studies internship, under the direction of Nicola Hagemeister at the LIO. Her project made her want to expand her knowledge in the health sector and acquire skills that complemented her engineering degree in biology, while acquiring actual experience in project management over two years. Sophie finally decided to complete a Master of Research, during which she acquired data on osteoarthritis patients in order to establish links between pain and muscles. Meanwhile, Clarisse, following her studies in mechanical engineering, planned to pursue a career in aerospace. After discovering Montreal’s dynamic health sector, she wanted to learn more about this field through research.

During the two years of our Master of Research, we each managed a project from beginning to end: from defining a problem and its related objectives, to developing a method, its verification as well the results analysis. Research also means discovery sharing: we became involved in national and international scientific conferences, made oral and poster presentations, and wrote a paper. Project management, autonomy and the ability to write and popularize our work are all skills that we developed during our Master’s studies. This path also brings self-confidence, because we realize that we are able to carry out a longer-term and more challenging project than before, as students.

When we arrived at ETS, we were immediately struck by the professors’ availabity and the confidence they showed us, something we have greatly appreciated and not taken for granted. We completed our Master’s degree at the Imaging and Orthopedics Research Laboratory (LIO), directed by Professor Jacques de Guise. This is where we met Caroline who was working at the Laboratory. The laboratory, made up of a group of professors including Nicola Hagemeister, our research director, is an open innovation laboratory that places the patient front and centre and maintains numerous partnerships with industry. It is also the first in Canada with an ISO 13485 certified quality management system. The dynamic nature of the laboratory has allowed us to meet and work with patients and health professionals of diverse profiles, and to be aware of new developments and opportunities.

In addition, the confidence instilled by the professors helped us to get involved in ÉTS student life, particularly in the student association, and more specifically in the Graduate Student Committee. We were part of the team that created the first ÉTS student researcher conference (Congrès des étudiants chercheurs), in November 2017. In addition, during her Master’s degree, Sophie represented the ÉTS graduate students and Clarisse completed a short joint program in surgical innovation at ÉTS and McGill and Concordia universities. These experiences allowed us to develop skills valuable in the professional world: taking initiatives, managing problems and unforeseen events, showing autonomy, etc.

Our Business – Avisio Qualité

 

Caroline Lau, Clarisse Bascans and Sophie Jeandel, founders of Avisio Qualité

Caroline Lau, Clarisse Bascans and Sophie Jeandel,
founders of Avisio Qualité

Avisio Qualité is a quality management consulting company in the field of medical devices. We offer personalized support services for the implementation and maintenance of quality management systems according to the ISO 13485 international standard, and short-term training and audit services. These services are offered to all stakeholders of the health innovation ecosystem including university research laboratories, start-ups and SMEs. Created in April 2018, our start-up company already has two clients.

 

Having evolved in an ISO 13485 certified environment has shown us the importance of the certification of healthcare research laboratories, as much for the standardization of working methods and traceability of results, as for facilitating transfer to industry. The need for support regarding quality issues in the design and development of medical devices is growing both in companies and in research centres. Through Avisio Qualité, we aim to position ourselves in the heart of the health innovation exosystem, in order to accelerate the transfer of innovative medical technologies and bring them more easily to the patient’s bedside

Throughout the creation of our company, we have received strong support and still benefit from the mentorship of the LIO professors and counsel from our mentors: Richard Chénier, director of Centech, Eric Szmutny, himself a consultant and industrial partner of the LIO (EMOVI) and Jacques de Guise, director of the LIO. Attracted by new skills external to engineering, we are now part of the 2018–2019 cohort of HEC Montréal incubator’s EntrePrism program.

Conclusion

Since arriving in Montreal, we have been constantly learning, which has driven us to seize opportunities and take risks. Completing a Master of Research or starting a business can be daunting, however our field training has allowed us to learn a great deal about ourselves, our chosen field, and the working world. We urge everyone to follow their dreams and seek new adventures, to give themselves the means of attaining their goals, and even more so, to do it in a supportive environment such as Montreal!

Clarisse Bascans

Author's profile

Clarisse Bascans completed a Master of Research degree specialized in Healthcare Technology at ÉTS. She holds a Mechanical Engineering degree from INSA Lyon (France) and a Certificate in Surgical Innovation from ÉTS.

Program : Healthcare Technology 

Research laboratories : LIO – Imaging and orthopedics research laboratory 

Author profile

Sophie Jeandel

Author's profile

Sophie Jeandel completed a Master of Research degree specialized in Healthcare Technology at ÉTS. She holds a degree in Biological Engineering from UTC (France). She is co-founder of Avisio Qualité.

Program : Healthcare Technology 

Research laboratories : LIO – Imaging and orthopedics research laboratory 

Author profile

Caroline Lau

Author's profile

Caroline Lau holds a Master of Research degree in, specialized in Healthcare Technology at ÉTS and a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering at McGill. She worked at the LIO as research professional and quality manager.

Program : Healthcare Technology 

Research laboratories : LIO – Imaging and orthopedics research laboratory 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Créer son entreprise à Montréal - Par : Clarisse Bascans, Sophie Jeandel, Caroline Lau,

Créer son entreprise à Montréal


Clarisse Bascans a effectué une maîtrise recherche dans le cadre de l’entente de cursus imbriqué entre l’ÉTS et l’INSA de Lyon. Elle a également suivi avec succès le microprogramme en innovation en chirurgie de l’ÉTS.

Sophie Jeandel a effectué un échange étudiant puis une maîtrise recherche dans le cadre de l’entente entre l’ÉTS et l’Université de technologie de Compiègne. Elle s’est initiée à la recherche au cours d’un stage de recherche portant sur l’Analyse morphofonctionnelle de l’épaule, supervisé par la professeure Nicola Hagemeister.

Clarisse Bascans
Clarisse Bascans Profil de l'auteur(e)
Clarisse Bascans a terminé une maîtrise recherche, concentration technologies de la santé, à l’ÉTS. Elle est titulaire d’un diplôme d’ingénieur mécanique obtenu à l’INSA Lyon (France) et d’un certificat en innovation en chirurgie de l’ÉTS

Sophie Jeandel
Sophie Jeandel a terminé une maîtrise recherche, concentration technologies de la santé, à l’ÉTS. Elle est titulaire d’un diplôme d’ingénieur biologique obtenu à l’UTC (France). Elle est cofondatrice d’Avisio Qualité.

Caroline Lau
Caroline Lau est titulaire d’une maîtrise recherche, concentration technologies de la santé, à l’ÉTS et d’un baccalauréat en génie électrique à McGill. Elle a travaillé au LIO comme professionnelle de recherche et responsable qualité.

Ville de Montréal

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Introduction

Nous sommes deux jeunes Françaises diplômées de l’ÉTS en août 2018, d’une maîtrise recherche en génie technologies de la santé. Durant la fin de notre maîtrise, nous avons créé une entreprise avec Caroline Lau, Québécoise et aussi diplômée en maîtrise recherche de l’ÉTS en 2010. Titulaires d’un diplôme d’ingénieur en France, nous avons souhaité commencer notre carrière professionnelle en choisissant la voie de l’entrepreneuriat. Avec cet article, nous souhaitons expliquer ce qui a guidé notre choix de rester à Montréal ainsi que ce que nous a apporté notre maîtrise recherche.

Montréal, notre ville d’adoption

Nos deux ans d’études supérieures nous ont permis d’apprécier le charme de Montréal et de nous attacher à cette ville multiculturelle, restant à taille humaine et ayant une atmosphère chaleureuse bien à elle grâce aux influences américaines et européennes. De plus, Montréal est une ville très dynamique et très axée sur l’innovation, particulièrement en santé ces derniers temps, grâce à des initiatives du gouvernement, notamment  la Stratégie québécoise des sciences de la vie, lancée en 2017. La ville de Montréal permet à des initiatives en tout genre d’émerger et des événements relatifs à l’innovation en santé fleurissent chaque jour, ce qui permet de réseauter facilement. Aussi, la mentalité québécoise fait que nous nous sentons en confiance dans cet écosystème, alors que nous pourrions penser que nous manquons d’expérience. Le fait d’être tout fraîchement diplômées n’est pas un problème pour nos interlocuteurs qui, au contraire, sont heureux d’entendre de nouvelles idées de la part de jeunes et de nous laisser notre chance.

Les retombées de notre maîtrise recherche à l’ÉTS

Sophie a découvert le milieu de la recherche lors d’un stage de fin d’études, qu’elle a effectué sous la direction de Nicola Hagemeister au LIO. Ce projet lui a donné envie d’approfondir ses connaissances dans le milieu de la santé et ainsi d’acquérir des compétences complémentaires à son diplôme d’ingénieure en biologie, tout en ayant une expérience concrète de gestion de projet sur deux ans. Sophie a finalement décidé de faire une maîtrise recherche pendant laquelle elle a acquis des données sur des patients arthrosiques pour faire un lien entre douleur et muscles. Clarisse, quant à elle, prévoyait, suivant son parcours en génie mécanique, faire une carrière en aérospatiale. Après avoir découvert le dynamisme de Montréal dans le milieu de la santé, elle a souhaité découvrir ce domaine par le biais de la recherche.

Pendant les deux ans de notre maîtrise recherche, nous avons géré chacune un projet de A à Z : de la définition du problème et des objectifs à la création de la méthode, sa vérification ainsi que l’analyse des résultats. La recherche, c’est aussi le partage des découvertes : nous avons donc participé à des conférences scientifiques nationales et internationales, effectué des présentations orales et par affiche, et écrit un mémoire. La gestion de projet, l’autonomie et la capacité à écrire et à vulgariser nos travaux sont toutes des compétences que nous avons développées durant notre maîtrise. Ce parcours donne aussi une meilleure confiance en soi, car on se rend compte qu’on est capable de mener à bien un projet plus long et comprenant plus d’embûches que ce qu’on a pu connaître avant, en tant qu’étudiant.

Le Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie (LIO) de l’ÉTS

En arrivant à l’ÉTS, nous avons tout de suite apprécié la disponibilité des professeurs et la confiance qu’ils nous ont témoignée. Nous avons fait notre maîtrise au Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie (LIO), dirigé par le professeur Jacques de Guise C’est d’ailleurs dans ce laboratoire que travaillait Caroline lorsque nous nous sommes rencontrées. Ce laboratoire, regroupement de plusieurs professeurs dont la professeure Nicola Hagemeister, notre directrice de recherche, est un laboratoire d’innovation ouverte qui place le patient au centre de la réflexion et qui entretient de nombreux partenariats industriels. Il est aussi le premier au Canada à posséder un système de gestion de la qualité certifié ISO 13485. Le caractère vivant du laboratoire nous a permis de rencontrer et de travailler avec des professionnels de la santé aux profils divers ainsi que des patients, et d’être au courant des nouveautés et opportunités.

De plus, cette confiance donnée par les professeurs nous a permis de nous investir dans la vie étudiante de l’ÉTS, au sein de l’association étudiante, notamment, et plus précisément au Comité étudiant des cycles supérieurs. Nous avons fait partie de l’équipe qui a créé, en novembre 2017, le premier congrès des étudiants chercheurs de l’ÉTS. En plus de cela, Sophie a été, durant sa maîtrise, représentante des étudiants de 2e cycle de l’ÉTS et Clarisse a effectué un microprogramme en innovation en chirurgie conjoint à l’ÉTS et aux universités McGill et Concordia. Ces différentes expériences nous ont permis de développer des compétences appréciées dans le monde professionnel : la prise d’initiatives, la gestion des difficultés et des imprévus, l’autonomie, etc.

Avisio Qualité, notre entreprise

 

Caroline Lau, Clarisse Bascans et Sophie Jeandel, les fondatrices d’Avisio Qualité

Caroline Lau, Clarisse Bascans et Sophie Jeandel, les fondatrices d’Avisio Qualité

Avisio Qualité est une entreprise de service-conseil en gestion de la qualité dans le domaine des dispositifs médicaux. Nous offrons des services personnalisés d’accompagnement pour l’implantation et le maintien de systèmes de gestion de la qualité selon la norme internationale ISO 13485 et des services ponctuels de formations et d’audits. Ces services sont offerts à tous les acteurs de l’écosystème de l’innovation en santé comprenant des laboratoires de recherche universitaires, des start-ups et des PME. Créée en avril 2018, notre entreprise en démarrage possède déjà deux clients.

 

Le fait d’avoir évolué dans un environnement certifié ISO 13485 nous a montré l’importance de la certification des laboratoires de recherche en santé autant pour l’homogénéisation des méthodes de travail et la traçabilité des résultats que pour faciliter le transfert vers l’industrie. Le besoin d’accompagnement pour les questions de qualité lors de la conception et du développement de dispositifs médicaux est grandissant autant chez les entreprises que dans les centres de recherche. Avec Avisio Qualité, nous voulons nous placer au cœur de l’écosystème de l’innovation en santé pour accélérer le transfert de technologies médicales innovantes et simplifier  leur arrivée au chevet du patient.

Nous avons été grandement soutenues pour la création de l’entreprise, et le sommes encore, par les professeurs du LIO ainsi que par nos mentors : Richard Chénier, directeur du Centech, Eric Szmutny, lui-même consultant et partenaire industriel du LIO (EMOVI) et Jacques  de Guise, directeur du LIO. Attirées par de nouvelles compétences externes au génie, nous faisons maintenant partie de la cohorte 2018-2019 du programme EntrePrism de l’incubateur d’HEC Montréal.

Conclusion

Depuis notre arrivée à Montréal, nous ne cessons d’apprendre et c’est ce qui nous pousse à saisir les opportunités et à ne pas avoir peur de prendre des risques. Faire une maîtrise recherche ou démarrer une entreprise peut faire peur, mais ce sont des formations sur le terrain qui permettent d’apprendre sur soi-même, sur son domaine de prédilection et sur le monde du travail. Nous recommandons vivement à chacun de suivre ses envies, de se donner les moyens et de se lancer dans de nouvelles aventures, et encore plus, de le faire dans un milieu propice comme Montréal!

Clarisse Bascans

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Clarisse Bascans a terminé une maîtrise recherche, concentration technologies de la santé, à l’ÉTS. Elle est titulaire d’un diplôme d’ingénieur mécanique obtenu à l’INSA Lyon (France) et d’un certificat en innovation en chirurgie de l’ÉTS

Programme : Génie technologies de la santé 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIO – Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Sophie Jeandel

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Sophie Jeandel a terminé une maîtrise recherche, concentration technologies de la santé, à l’ÉTS. Elle est titulaire d’un diplôme d’ingénieur biologique obtenu à l’UTC (France). Elle est cofondatrice d’Avisio Qualité.

Programme : Génie technologies de la santé 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIO – Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Caroline Lau

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Caroline Lau est titulaire d’une maîtrise recherche, concentration technologies de la santé, à l’ÉTS et d’un baccalauréat en génie électrique à McGill. Elle a travaillé au LIO comme professionnelle de recherche et responsable qualité.

Programme : Génie technologies de la santé 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIO – Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *