SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Creating Thermoregulating Clothing - By : Hanen Hattab,

Creating Thermoregulating Clothing


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Climate variations

Pixabay. Public Domain.

In many trades, workers are exposed to harsh climate conditions. Thermal comfort can help improve their working conditions and reduce risks of getting sick. A technology invented by researchers at the University of California (UC) San Diego could be an innovative solution for this type of situation: it can regulate body temperature in cold and warm environments alike.

Designing a Thermoelectric Module

The UC team designed a module offering an alternative to heating and cooling buildings, in order to reduce energy consumption.

The module prototype is presented in a study entitled “Wearable thermoelectrics for personalized thermoregulation,” co-authored by a team under the direction of Renkun Chen, professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering at the UC San Diego Jacobs School of Engineering, and published in Science Advances on May 17, 2019.

The module heats or cools the wearer without affecting ambient temperatures. Flexible and lightweight, it can be worn on the back, neck, feet or arms, and is easily integrated into a garment. The prototype measures 5 cm by 5 cm and consumes up to 0.2 W of power.

According to the research team, a jacket that could adequately regulate body temperature should include about 144 modules.  The study showed that the prototype is capable of producing a cooling effect greater than 10° C and could be the first system to provide active cooling for a sustained period (more than one hour) as well as customized and comfortable temperature control. The module produces heat and cold using thermoelectricity: a thermoelectric conduction phenomenon found in several fields of application, such as refrigeration and electrical energy generation.

Functional Structure

The module includes small pillars made of bismuth telluride alloys (Bi2Te3), welded to thin copper electrodes sandwiched between two elastomer sheets. The Bi2Te3 semiconductor is one of the most widely used thermoelectric materials since the discovery of this property, in the 1950s. It is found in the manufacture of Peltier modules used in refrigeration systems. The flexible sheets spread heat or cold through the electrodes. They are made with a mixture of Ecoflex rubber and aluminum nitride powder.

Heat is transferred from one sheet to the other by applying an electric current. When used as a coolant, the current flows through the pillars causing the Peltier effect, which induces heat on one side of the module and cold on the other.

When the module needs to generate heat, current polarity is reversed. This is another thermoelectric phenomenon called the Seebeck effect.

Each module is powered by a flexible battery, consisting of a set of lithium batteries.

The research team tested the prototype on an arm, attaching the module to a mesh cuff and varying the ambient temperature. In two minutes, the tester’s skin was cooled when reaching a setpoint temperature of 32o C. The module maintained the skin at this temperature while ambient temperature ranged between 22 o and 36o C.

Future plans in the project include making a jacket that can heat and cool the body as needed. The team is also planning to design an application connected to the garment, making it possible to control temperature.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Vers la création de vêtements thermorégulateurs - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Vers la création de vêtements thermorégulateurs


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Variations du climat

Pixabay. Domaine public.

Dans plusieurs métiers, les travailleurs sont exposés à des contextes climatiques rudes. Le confort thermique peut contribuer à améliorer leurs conditions de travail et à diminuer le risque d’attraper des maladies. Une technologie inventée par des chercheurs de la University of California (UC) San Diego pourrait être une solution novatrice pour ce type de situations. En effet, elle peut réguler la température du corps tant en milieux froids et qu’en milieux chauds.

Conception d’un module thermoélectrique

L’équipe de l’UC a conçu un module qui se veut une solution de rechange au chauffage et à la climatisation dans les bâtiments, afin de réduire la consommation énergétique.

Le prototype du module est présenté dans une étude qui s’intitule « Wearable thermoelectrics for personalized thermoregulation ». Elle est coécrite par une équipe dirigée par Renkun Chen, professeur de génie mécanique et aérospatial à la Jacobs School of Engineering de l’UC San Diego, et a été publiée dans Science Advances le 17 mai 2019.

Le module chauffe ou rafraîchit l’usager sans intervenir sur la température de l’environnement dans lequel il se trouve. Il est flexible et léger et peut être placé sur le dos, la nuque, les pieds ou les bras, et intégré facilement dans un vêtement. Le prototype mesure 5 cm sur 5 cm et consomme jusqu’à 0,2 W de puissance.

Selon l’équipe de recherche, une veste qui régulerait convenablement la température corporelle devrait comporter environ 144 modules.  L’étude a montré que le prototype est capable de produire un effet de refroidissement supérieur à 10 °C et serait, de fait, le premier système à fournir un refroidissement actif pendant une période soutenue (supérieure à une heure) et une régulation thermique personnalisée et confortable. Le module produit la chaleur et le froid grâce à la thermoélectricité : un phénomène de conduction électrique et thermique utilisé dans plusieurs domaines d’application, en outre, dans la réfrigération et la génération d’énergie électrique d’appoint.

Structure fonctionnelle

Le module est composé de petits piliers à base d’alliages de tellurure de bismuth (Bi2Te3), soudés à des électrodes en cuivre minces, lesquelles sont fixées entre deux feuilles d’élastomère. Le Bi2Te3 est un semi-conducteur qui fait partie des matériaux thermoélectriques les plus utilisés depuis la découverte de cette propriété, à partir des années 1950. Il est employé dans la fabrication des modules Peltier utilisés dans les systèmes de réfrigération. Les feuilles flexibles servent à propager la chaleur ou le froid qui circulent dans les électrodes. Elles sont créées à base d’un mélange de caoutchouc appelé Ecoflex et de poudre de nitrure d’aluminium.

La chaleur est transférée d’une feuille à l’autre par l’application d’un courant électrique. Lorsqu’il fonctionne comme climatiseur, le courant traverse les piliers afin de provoquer l’effet Peltier, lequel entraîne un échauffement d’un côté du module et un refroidissement de l’autre.

Quand le module doit générer la chaleur, la polarité du courant est inversée. Dans ce cas il s’agit d’un autre effet thermoélectrique appelé l’effet Seebeck.

Chaque module est alimenté par une batterie flexible, constituée d’un ensemble de piles au lithium.

L’équipe de recherche a testé le prototype sur le bras en fixant le module sur un brassard maillé et en variant la température de l’environnement occupé. En deux minutes, la peau du testeur a été rafraîchie par l’atteinte d’une température de consigne de 32 oC. Le module a réussi à maintenir la peau à cette température alors que la température ambiante variait entre 22 et 36 oC.

Le projet se poursuit et vise à fabriquer une veste qui chauffe et rafraîchit le corps selon le besoin. L’équipe projette aussi de concevoir une application connectée au vêtement qui permet de commander la température.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *