SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Planning the next generation of stents for congenital heart defects - By : Lina Gundelwein, Joaquim Miro, Fransisco Gonzalez Barlatay, Chantale Lapierre, Karl Rohr, Luc Duong,

Planning the next generation of stents for congenital heart defects


Lina Gundelwein
Lina Gundelwein Author profile
Lina Gundelwein is a programmer in the field of medical image processing at 1000shapes, Germany. While studying at the University of Heidelberg, she completed her master’s project in the Department of Software Engineering at ÉTS.

Joaquim Miro
Joaquim Miro Author profile
Joaquim Miro is a pediatric cardiologist at the CHU Sainte-Justine and co-director of Sainte-Justine missions worldwide.

Fransisco Gonzalez Barlatay
Fransisco Gonzalez Barlatay Author profile
Fransisco Gonzalez Barlatay was a postdoctoral fellow in pediatric cardiology at the CHU Sainte-Justine and now works at the Bristol Royal Hospital for Children, in England.

Chantale Lapierre
Chantale Lapierre Author profile
Chantale Lapierre is a radiologist at the CHU Sainte-Justine.

Karl Rohr
Karl Rohr is head of the Biomedical Computer Vision Group at the University of Heidelberg. His research interests include biological and medical image analysis.

Luc Duong
Luc Duong is a professor in the Software Engineering and IT Department at ÉTS, and researcher at the CHU Research Center. His research focuses on medical imaging, computer vision, algorithms and artificial intelligence.

Stent

The featured image was bought from Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

To facilitate stent planning in severe pulmonary artery stenosis a computational fluid dynamics simulation is run on patient specific geometries with two different stents By comparing the simulated hemodynamic parameters pressure and wall shear stress the suitability of the tested stent structures is assessed.

Pulmonary artery stenosis

Congenital heart disease affects 1% of births. Thanks to breakthroughs in the field, nearly 90% of children with congenital heart disease will reach adulthood, compared to 20% around the 1950s. One of these heart diseases, the stenosis of the pulmonary artery is a vessel narrowing that restricts blood flow. In severe cases it must be treated by catheterization. The procedure involves dilating the affected lesion with a balloon and, in some cases, placing a stent to maintain the artery structure. During the intervention the physician navigates the catheter using only 2 x-ray views. However, stenting requires a good evaluation of the diameter and length of the lesion. Visualization of the stenosis is sometimes difficult, given the complexity of the pulmonary arteries.

Simulation based on the patient specific geometry

The primary objective of this study is to determine the personalized geometry of the patient’s pulmonary arteries. The geometry is extracted from preoperative imaging acquired in CT or MRI. Secondly, our study optimizes the size and positioning of the stent based on fluid dynamics simulated from preoperative imaging. Finally, the biomechanical simulation model incorporates the pulsatility of arteries and the fluid dynamics simulation in the vessel. To do this, we used datasets from 16 patients, including pressure data acquired in vivo. The center line and geometry of the arteries are extracted from the data volume MRI and CT. Two types of stent are modeled: a conventional stent and a Y-shaped stent.

A software was developed to solve the Navier – Stokes equations and the Cauchy linear elastic equations using the stabilized finite element method. A linear solver with pre-dimensioning based on resistance is used. Blood is treated as a Newtonian fluid with constant viscosity. Our model is characterized by the possibility to simulate not only the geometry of the patient, but also the effect of the flow under the influence of the pulsatile movement. We validated this movement using data from the literature, as well as observations on angiographies. The movement representation could be the cornerstone to a better understanding of the stent interventions and also lead to a design really adapted to the patient’s anatomy.

Modelling of a patient’s artery

Figure 1 Modeling steps of the pulmonary artery.

Comparison of simulated data with clinical data

Figure 2 illustrates the results of pressure gradients and shear stress difference at the artery wall for both stents, therewith showing the effect of the stent on the hemodynamic parameters. Pressure and shear stress were simulated because the pressure gradient and shear stress at the walls are good indicators of the severity of the stenosis. The simulation of the pressure is illustrated in the attached videos. Patient simulation is consistent with clinical observation. For patients P4, P7 and P8 no decrease in the gradient is observed, as predicted by the simulation. P14 already had a pressure gradient of zero before the procedure.

Evaluating the stenosis severity

Figure 2 (a) Pressure gradient difference and time averaged wall shear stress difference for a regular stent and (b) with a Y-shaped stent

Video 1 Simulation of a conventional stent

 Video 2 Simulation of a Y stent

 Conclusion

The use of CT and MRI preoperative imaging will one day assist clinicians and assess stenosis even before the intervention. Such simulation tools will lead to a better understanding of stenoses, through imaging and 3D modeling, better pre-intervention planning, and ultimately, improved patient care.

Additional information

For more information on this research, see the following article: Gundelwein L, Miró J, Barlatay FG, Lapierre C, Rohr K, Duong L. (2018). « Personalized stent design for congenital heart defects using pulsatile blood flow simulations » J Biomech. Vol 81. pp. 68-75.

Lina Gundelwein

Author's profile

Lina Gundelwein is a programmer in the field of medical image processing at 1000shapes, Germany. While studying at the University of Heidelberg, she completed her master’s project in the Department of Software Engineering at ÉTS.

Program : Software Engineering  Information Technology Engineering 

Research laboratories : LIVE – Interventional Imaging Laboratory 

Author profile

Joaquim Miro

Author's profile

Joaquim Miro is a pediatric cardiologist at the CHU Sainte-Justine and co-director of Sainte-Justine missions worldwide.

Author profile

Fransisco Gonzalez Barlatay

Author's profile

Fransisco Gonzalez Barlatay was a postdoctoral fellow in pediatric cardiology at the CHU Sainte-Justine and now works at the Bristol Royal Hospital for Children, in England.

Author profile

Chantale Lapierre

Author's profile

Chantale Lapierre is a radiologist at the CHU Sainte-Justine.

Author profile

Karl Rohr

Author's profile

Karl Rohr is head of the Biomedical Computer Vision Group at the University of Heidelberg. His research interests include biological and medical image analysis.

Author profile

Luc Duong

Author's profile

Luc Duong is a professor in the Software Engineering and IT Department at ÉTS, and researcher at the CHU Research Center. His research focuses on medical imaging, computer vision, algorithms and artificial intelligence.

Program : Software Engineering  Information Technology Engineering 

Research laboratories : LIVE – Interventional Imaging Laboratory 

Author profile


Research laboratories :

LIVE – Interventional Imaging Laboratory 

Field(s) of expertise :

Medical Imaging 

comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Concevoir les stents de demain pour les cardiopathies congénitales - Par : Lina Gundelwein, Joaquim Miro, Fransisco Gonzalez Barlatay, Chantale Lapierre, Karl Rohr, Luc Duong,

Concevoir les stents de demain pour les cardiopathies congénitales


Lina Gundelwein
Lina Gundelwein Profil de l'auteur(e)
Lina Gundelwein est programmeuse dans le domaine du traitement d’images médicales chez 1000shapes, en Allemagne. Étudiante à l’Université de Heidelberg, elle a effectué son projet de maîtrise dans le Département de génie logiciel à l’ÉTS.

Joaquim Miro
Joaquim Miro est pédiatre-cardiologue au CHU Sainte-Justine et coresponsable des missions Sainte-Justine au cœur du monde.

Fransisco Gonzalez Barlatay
Fransisco Gonzalez Barlatay Profil de l'auteur(e)
Fransisco Gonzalez Barlatay était stagiaire postdoctoral en cardiologie pédiatrique au CHU de Sainte-Justine et travaille maintenant au Bristol Royal Hospital for Children, en Angleterre.

Chantale Lapierre
Chantale Lapierre Profil de l'auteur(e)
Chantale Lapierre est radiologue au CHU Sainte-Justine

Karl Rohr
Karl Rohr est chef du Biomedical Computer Vision Group à l’Université de Heidelberg. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur l'analyse d'images biologiques et médicales.

Luc Duong
Luc Duong est professeur au Département de génie logiciel et des TI à l’ÉTS, et chercheur au Centre de Recherche du CHU. Ses recherches touchent l’imagerie médicale, la vision artificielle, les algorithmes et l’intelligence artificielle.

endoprothèse

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

Pour faciliter la planification de l'endoprothèse en cas de sténose artérielle pulmonaire grave, une simulation numérique de la dynamique des fluides est effectuée sur des géométries spécifiques du patient avec deux endoprothèses différentes. En comparant les paramètres hémodynamiques simulés, soit la pression et le cisaillement des parois, on évalue la pertinence des structures de l'endoprothèse testée.

La sténose de l’artère pulmonaire

Les cardiopathies congénitales touchent 1 % des naissances. Grâce aux percées technologiques dans le domaine, près de 90 % des enfants atteints de cardiopathies congénitales  parviendront à l’âge adulte, alors qu’ils n’étaient que 20 % à le faire  il y a plus de 60 ans. L’une de ces cardiopathies, la sténose de l’artère pulmonaire, doit être traitée dans certains cas graves par cathétérisme.  L’intervention consiste à dilater la paroi affectée à l’aide d’un ballon et dans certains cas, d’apposer un stent pour conserver la structure de l’artère. Cette intervention est réalisée en naviguant à partir de deux vues radiographiques. Bien que la pose d’un stent requière une bonne évaluation du diamètre et de la longueur de la lésion, la visualisation de la sténose est parfois difficile, étant donné la complexité des artères pulmonaires.

Simulation à partir de la géométrie du patient

Cette étude vise, en premier lieu, à déterminer la géométrie personnalisée des artères pulmonaires du patient. Cette géométrie est extraite de l’imagerie préopératoire acquise en tomodensitométrie (CT) ou en imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM).  En deuxième lieu, notre étude permet d’optimiser les dimensions et le positionnement du stent, en se basant sur la dynamique des fluides, simulée à partir de l’imagerie préopératoire. Finalement, le modèle de simulation biomécanique incorpore la pulsatilité des artères et la simulation de la dynamique des fluides dans le vaisseau. Pour ce faire, nous avons utilisé des données rétrospectives de 16 patients, dont les données de pression acquises in vivo.  La ligne centrale et la géométrie des artères sont extraites du volume de données IRM et CT (Figure 1). Deux types de stent ont été modélisés : un stent classique et un stent en Y.

Un logiciel a été développé pour résoudre les équations de Navier – Stokes et les équations d’élasticité linéaire de Cauchy à l’aide de la méthode des éléments finis stabilisés. Un solveur linéaire avec prédimensionnement basé sur la résistance est utilisé. Le sang est traité comme un fluide newtonien à viscosité constante. Notre modèle se distingue par la possibilité de simuler non seulement la géométrie particulière du patient, mais aussi l’effet du flot sur cette géométrie, sous l’influence du mouvement pulsatile. Nous avons validé ce mouvement à l’aide de données de la littérature, ainsi que des observations sur les angiographies. La représentation de ce mouvement pourrait être la pierre angulaire vers une meilleure compréhension des interventions par stent et également mener à une conception réellement adaptée à l’anatomie du patient.

Modélisation de l’artère d’un patient

Figure 1 Étapes de modélisation de l’artère pulmonaire.

Comparaison des données simulées aux données réelles

La figure 2 illustre les résultats de la différence du gradient de pression et de la différence de contrainte de cisaillement au niveau de la paroi artérielle pour les deux endoprothèses, montrant ainsi l’effet de l’endoprothèse sur les paramètres hémodynamiques. Les contraintes de pression et de cisaillement ont été simulées parce que le gradient de pression et les contraintes de cisaillement sur les parois sont de bons indicateurs de la gravité de la sténose. La simulation de la pression est illustrée dans les vidéos ci-jointes. La simulation du patient correspond à l’observation clinique. Pour les patients P4, P7 et P8, aucune diminution du gradient n’est observée, comme prévu par la simulation. P14 avait déjà un gradient de pression de zéro avant la procédure.

Évaluation de la gravité de la sténose

Figure 2 (a) Différence entre le gradient de pression et la contrainte de cisaillement aux parois de l’artère pour un stent classique (b) avec un stent en Y

 

Vidéo 1 Simulation d’un stent classique 

Vidéo 2 Simulation d’un stent en Y

 Conclusion

L’utilisation de l’imagerie préopératoire CT et IRM pour la mise en place de stents permettra un jour d’assister les cliniciens et d’évaluer les sténoses pulmonaires avant même l’intervention. Couplée à des outils de simulation, elle mènera à une meilleure compréhension des sténoses, grâce à l’imagerie, une meilleure planification pré-intervention et finalement à améliorer les soins aux patients.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, consulter l’article suivant : Gundelwein L, Miró J, Barlatay FG, Lapierre C, Rohr K, Duong L. (2018). « Personalized stent design for congenital heart defects using pulsatile blood flow simulations ». J Biomech. Vol 81. pp. 68-75.

Lina Gundelwein

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Lina Gundelwein est programmeuse dans le domaine du traitement d’images médicales chez 1000shapes, en Allemagne. Étudiante à l’Université de Heidelberg, elle a effectué son projet de maîtrise dans le Département de génie logiciel à l’ÉTS.

Programme : Génie logiciel  Génie des technologies de l'information 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIVE – Laboratoire d'imagerie interventionnelle 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Joaquim Miro

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Joaquim Miro est pédiatre-cardiologue au CHU Sainte-Justine et coresponsable des missions Sainte-Justine au cœur du monde.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Fransisco Gonzalez Barlatay

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Fransisco Gonzalez Barlatay était stagiaire postdoctoral en cardiologie pédiatrique au CHU de Sainte-Justine et travaille maintenant au Bristol Royal Hospital for Children, en Angleterre.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Chantale Lapierre

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Chantale Lapierre est radiologue au CHU Sainte-Justine

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Karl Rohr

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Karl Rohr est chef du Biomedical Computer Vision Group à l’Université de Heidelberg. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur l'analyse d'images biologiques et médicales.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Luc Duong

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Luc Duong est professeur au Département de génie logiciel et des TI à l’ÉTS, et chercheur au Centre de Recherche du CHU. Ses recherches touchent l’imagerie médicale, la vision artificielle, les algorithmes et l’intelligence artificielle.

Programme : Génie logiciel  Génie des technologies de l'information 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIVE – Laboratoire d'imagerie interventionnelle 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


Laboratoires de recherche :

LIVE – Laboratoire d'imagerie interventionnelle 

Domaines d'expertise :

Imagerie médicale 

commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *