SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Comparing Thermal and Photovoltaic Water-Heaters - By : Diane Le Roux, Daniel R. Rousse,

Comparing Thermal and Photovoltaic Water-Heaters


Diane Le Roux
Diane Le Roux Author profile
Diane Le Roux is a candidate for a master’s at ÉTS, as well as a mechanical engineering diploma at INSA Toulouse. Her research focuses on solar energy.

Daniel R. Rousse
Daniel R. Rousse Author profile
Daniel R. Rousse is a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department. His research interests include sustainable and renewable energy, Measurements in energy, and transfer, conservation, conversion and production of energy.

Photovoltaic solar collectors on the roof of a house

The header image was purchased on Isock.com and is protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

The significant drop in prices of solar photovoltaic (PV) collectors makes it possible to consider new profitable applications depending on geographical context. Can their use for domestic water heating be cost effective when compared to solar thermal heating? Modelling and numerical simulation of the different systems have made it possible to compare their economic performance over 20 to 40 years. The PV water heater is very advantageous for hot regions such as Cuzco and Marseille, and advantageous for northern communities such as Kuujjuaq and Kuujjuarapik. For Montreal and Saguenay, the system has a net present value over 40 years of close to zero, an economic equilibrium because of the very low cost of hydroelectricity used in Quebec. Key words: Water heater, solar, thermal, photovoltaic, economic return

Introduction

Solar thermal (ST) heating systems are well-documented, mature technologies (Figure 1). Their efficiency is high for regions of the world with medium to strong insolation. However, their lifespan remains relatively short and their maintenance and purchase costs remain high. Hydro-Quebec’s (HQ) Energy Technology Laboratory concludes that in the context of Quebec’s large hydroelectric network, they are not profitable [1]: the measured energy saving is 33% to 38%, as opposed to the advertised 50% to 60% saving. In addition, operating limitations inherent to STs in the colder climate are encountered.

 

Hot water reservoir heated by thermal solar power

Figure 1 Operating diagram of a conventional solar thermal heating system

Meanwhile, PV collectors can maintain almost constant conversion efficiency for about 40 years, perform better in the cold and require little maintenance. The exponential growth of global demand has resulted in a price drop for PV collectors of about 80% since 2010. However, the electronic conversion required to adapt the fluctuating electricity produced to the electrical distribution network increases the cost of this process. One of the avenues explored to make photovoltaic heating (PVS) more economical is to eliminate electronic conversion equipment and to use the electricity produced for heating water directly. A preliminary study by the TERRE Chair [2], conducted near Saguenay, shows that the cost of energy produced by self-installation is equivalent to that of the HQ network (Figure 2).

Photovoltaic solar water heater

Figure 2 Operating diagram of a PV solar water heater

Methodology

Data set

In this context, this work aims to compare the economic profitability of the ST with that of the PVS without regulation equipment and maximum power management. The formal objectives are to estimate the profitability of passive ST, active ST and PVS for six selected locations based on their sunlight characteristics, their current energy supply, and the cost of their energy. Parameters that must be determined include the annual energy produced, the initial investment, the cost of energy and the return on investment period.

 Principle of the PVS water heater

The PVS works in conjunction with electricity on a standard domestic tank with tree heating elements. The central element is directly connected to the PV collectors, while the other two are connected to the network, to maintain a minimum temperature of 55°C and to avoid legionellosis. The central element can superheat the water up to 85°C, which makes it possible to store a maximum of energy and to restore it later. This hot water is mixed with cold water before being distributed. PVSs can only heat water to between 60 and 85°C (Figure 2).

Results

Net Present Value (NPV) represents the 20-year gains or losses for each solar heating system, based on the reference energy used (Figure 3). The results show that the PVS is the most profitable, regardless of the location. The biggest gaps are visible in cold regions, because STs lose their technological efficiency, which is the opposite for PV collectors. The warm regions see the gap being reduced between the PVS and the ST. In this case, the ST is much less expensive, because the technique is more widespread, the system is much less complex and the coolant does not freeze in winter, reducing the costs of installation.

Net present value of water heaters according to locality

Figure 3 Net present value over 20 years of water heaters according to the localities studied

Given that PV Systems are usable for up to 40 years, with storage tank replacements every 10 years, the calculation of 40-year NPVs provides a greater insight into the performance of PV Systems. For PV Systems, they would be 2 to 3 times greater than over 20 years. For Montreal and Saguenay, they would be almost nil (respectively $5 and -$800), an economic equilibrium despite the very low cost of hydroelectricity in Quebec.

Conclusion

Modeling domestic hot water (DHW) heating systems demonstrates that PVSs are more profitable than STs. In cold regions, the difference in profitability is more pronounced, with average returns 8 times higher for PV Systems. In hot regions, STs are less expensive than in cold regions and are subject to less energy loss due to extreme temperatures and less intensive maintenance. The differences between PVSs and STs are then less significant.

In general, the cost price of PV Systems, including the back-up power, per kilowatt hour ranges from $0.059 to $0.135.

With global demand increasing for PV collectors, cost reductions are expected to continue, and thus gradually increase the profitability of PV Systems over time. Bloomberg’s last 2018 report indicates that since 1976 prices have fallen from over $80 USD/W to less than $0.30 USD/W. The authors of the report expect that “prices of PV collectors will keep pace with the 28.5% decline they have experienced over the last 40 years” [3]. This will result in increased competitiveness over the years of the PVS compared to the ST and reference energies, even in Quebec where electricity rates increase each year.

Additional information

For more information on this research, please refer to the following conference article: Le Roux, D.; Bourbonnais, M.; Dèry, P. Rousse, D.R. 2019. “Modélisation et simulations technico-économiques comparatives du chauffage solaire de l’eau par des capteurs photovoltaïque et thermique”. XIVème Colloque International Franco-Québécois en énergie. Baie St-Paul, Canada.

Diane Le Roux

Author's profile

Diane Le Roux is a candidate for a master’s at ÉTS, as well as a mechanical engineering diploma at INSA Toulouse. Her research focuses on solar energy.

Program : Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Engineering 

Research laboratories : t3e-Industrial Research Group in Technologies of Energy and Energy Efficiency 

Author profile

Daniel R. Rousse

Author's profile

Daniel R. Rousse is a professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department. His research interests include sustainable and renewable energy, Measurements in energy, and transfer, conservation, conversion and production of energy.

Program : Mechanical Engineering  Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Engineering 

Research laboratories : t3e-Industrial Research Group in Technologies of Energy and Energy Efficiency 

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Comparaison entre les chauffe-eau thermiques et photovoltaïques - Par : Diane Le Roux, Daniel R. Rousse,

Comparaison entre les chauffe-eau thermiques et photovoltaïques


Diane Le Roux
Diane Le Roux est candidate à la maîtrise à l’ÉTS et au diplôme d’ingénieur mécanique à l’INSA Toulouse. Ses recherches portent sur l’énergie solaire.

Daniel R. Rousse
Daniel R. Rousse Profil de l'auteur(e)
Daniel R. Rousse est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur l’énergie durable et renouvelable, la métrologie énergétique, le transfert, la conservation, la conversion et la production de l’énergie.

Capteurs solaires photovoltaïques sur le toit d’une maison

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Isock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

La chute importante des prix des capteurs solaires photovoltaïques (PV) permet d’envisager de nouvelles applications rentables selon le contexte géographique. Leur utilisation pour le chauffage de l’eau domestique peut-elle s’avérer rentable par rapport au chauffage solaire thermique ? La modélisation et la simulation numérique des différents systèmes ont permis de comparer leur rendement économique sur 20 et 40 ans. Le chauffe-eau PV s’avère très avantageux pour les régions chaudes telles celles de Cuzco et de Marseille, et avantageux pour les communautés nordiques telles celles de Kuujjuaq et Kuujjuarapik. Pour Montréal et Saguenay, le système a une valeur actualisée nette sur 40 ans proche de zéro, soit un équilibre économique en raison du très bas coût de l’hydroélectricité utilisée au Québec. Mots-clés : Chauffe-eau, solaire, thermique, photovoltaïque, rendement économique

Introduction

Les systèmes de chauffage solaire thermique (ST) sont des technologies matures et bien documentées (figure 1). Leur rendement est élevé pour les régions du monde comportant de moyennes à fortes insolations. Cependant, leur durée de vie reste relativement faible, leurs coûts d’entretien et d’achat demeurent élevés. Le Laboratoire des technologies de l’énergie d’Hydro-Québec (HQ) conclut à leur non-rentabilité dans le contexte du grand réseau hydroélectrique québécois [1] : l’économie d’énergie mesurée atteint de 33 % à 38 %, alors que les économies annoncées devaient être de 50 % à 60 %. De plus, des limites d’exploitation inhérentes aux ST dans le climat plus froid sont rencontrées.

Réservoir d’eau chaude chauffé par énergie solaire thermique

Figure 1 Schéma de fonctionnement d’un système de chauffage solaire thermique classique

 

En parallèle, les panneaux PV peuvent conserver une efficacité de conversion presque constante pendant une quarantaine d’années, performent mieux au froid et requièrent peu d’entretien. La croissance exponentielle de la demande mondiale a entraîné une chute de prix d’environ 80 % des capteurs PV depuis 2010. Toutefois, la conversion électronique pour adapter l’électricité fluctuante produite au réseau de distribution électrique augmente le coût de cette filière. Une des avenues explorées pour rendre le chauffage photovoltaïque (SPV) plus économique est d’éliminer les équipements électroniques de conversion et d’utiliser directement l’électricité produite pour le chauffage de l’eau. Une étude préliminaire de la Chaire TERRE [2], réalisée près de Saguenay, démontre que le coût de l’énergie produite en auto-installation est équivalent à celui du réseau HQ (figure 2).

Chauffe-eau solaire photovoltaïque

Figure 2 Schéma de fonctionnement d’un chauffe-eau solaire PV

Méthodologie

Ensemble de données

Dans ce contexte, le but de ce travail consiste à comparer la rentabilité économique du ST à celle du SPV sans équipements de régulation et de gestion de la puissance maximale. Les objectifs formels sont d’estimer la rentabilité du ST passif, du ST actif et du SPV pour six endroits choisis en fonction de leurs caractéristiques d’ensoleillement, leur approvisionnement actuel en énergie et le coût de leur énergie. L’énergie annuelle produite, l’investissement initial, le coût de revient de l’énergie et la période de retour sur investissement sont les paramètres qui doivent être déterminés.

 Principe du chauffe-eau solaire PV

Le SPV fonctionne conjointement avec l’électricité sur un réservoir domestique standard à trois éléments. L’élément central est directement relié aux panneaux PV, alors que les deux autres sont reliés au réseau, permettant de maintenir une température minimale de 55 °C et d’éviter la légionellose. L’élément central peut surchauffer l’eau jusqu’à 85 °C, ce qui permet de stocker un maximum d’énergie et de la restituer par la suite. Cette eau chaude est mélangée avec de l’eau froide avant d’être distribuée. Les SPV permettent de chauffer l’eau uniquement entre 60 et 85 °C (figure 2).

Résultats

La valeur actualisée nette (VAN) représente les gains ou pertes engendrées sur 20 ans pour chacun des systèmes de chauffage solaire, selon l’énergie de référence utilisée (figure 3). Les résultats démontrent que le SPV est le plus rentable, quel que soit le lieu considéré. Les plus gros écarts sont visibles dans les régions froides, car les ST perdent de leur efficacité technologique, ce qui est l’inverse pour les capteurs PV. Les régions chaudes voient l’écart se réduire entre le SPV et le ST. Dans ce cas, le ST est beaucoup moins onéreux, car la technique est plus répandue, le système est beaucoup moins complexe et le liquide caloporteur ne gèle pas en hiver, ce qui réduit les coûts de l’installation.

Valeur actualisée nette des chauffe-eau selon l’endroit

Figure 3 Valeur actualisée nette sur 20 ans des chauffe-eau en fonction des localités étudiées

 

Sachant que les SPV sont utilisables jusqu’à 40 ans, moyennant les remplacements du réservoir de stockage tous les 10 ans, le calcul des VAN sur 40 ans donne un plus grand aperçu du rendement des SPV. Pour les SPV, elles seraient de 2 à 3 fois plus grandes que sur 20 ans. Pour Montréal et Saguenay, elles seraient presque nulles (respectivement 5 $ et -800 $), soit un équilibre économique malgré le très bas coût de l’hydroélectricité au Québec.

Conclusion

La modélisation des systèmes de chauffage de l’eau chaude sanitaire (ECS) démontre que les SPV sont plus rentables que les ST. Dans les régions froides, la différence de rentabilité est plus prononcée, avec en moyenne des rentabilités 8 fois plus importantes pour les SPV. Dans les régions chaudes, les ST sont moins onéreux que dans les régions froides et sont soumis à moins de pertes énergétiques dues à des températures extrêmes et des entretiens moins poussés. Les écarts entre SPV et ST sont alors moins importants.

De manière générale, le prix de revient des SPV, incluant la part de l’énergie d’appoint, au kilowattheure varient de 0,059 $ à 0,135 $.

La demande mondiale augmentant pour les capteurs PV, la baisse des coûts devrait se poursuivre, et donc augmenter progressivement la rentabilité des SPV au fil des ans. Le dernier rapport de Bloomberg en 2018 indique que depuis 1976 les prix ont chuté de plus de 80 $USD/W à moins de 0,30 $USD/W. Les auteurs du rapport s’attendent à ce que « les prix des capteurs PV suivent le rythme de décroissance de 28,5 % qu’ils ont connu au cours des 40 dernières années » [3]. Il en découlera une compétitivité accrue au fil des ans du SPV en regard du ST et des énergies de référence, même au Québec où les tarifs d’électricité augmentent chaque année.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, consulter l’article de conférence suivant : Le Roux, D.; Bourbonnais, M.; Dèry, P. Rousse, D.R. 2019. « Modélisation et simulations technico-économiques comparatives du chauffage solaire de l’eau par des capteurs photovoltaïque et thermique ». XIVème Colloque International Franco-Québécois en énergie. Baie St-Paul, Canada.

Diane Le Roux

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Diane Le Roux est candidate à la maîtrise à l’ÉTS et au diplôme d’ingénieur mécanique à l’INSA Toulouse. Ses recherches portent sur l’énergie solaire.

Programme : Génie énergies renouvelables et efficacité énergétique 

Laboratoires de recherche : t3e - Groupe de recherche industrielle en technologies de l'énergie et en efficacité énergétique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Daniel R. Rousse

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Daniel R. Rousse est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur l’énergie durable et renouvelable, la métrologie énergétique, le transfert, la conservation, la conversion et la production de l’énergie.

Programme : Génie mécanique  Génie énergies renouvelables et efficacité énergétique 

Laboratoires de recherche : t3e - Groupe de recherche industrielle en technologies de l'énergie et en efficacité énergétique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *