SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS

Dynamic Classification of Abnormal Spinal Curves


Edgar GarciaCano
Edgar GarciaCano Author profile
Edgar García-Cano is a PhD candidate at École de technologie supérieure, Montreal. His current research focuses on applying machine learning to predict spinal curvatures in AIS.

Fernando Arambula
Fernando Arambula Author profile
Fernando Arámbula is a Lecturer at the Department of Computer Systems Engineering and Automation, UNAM. His research interests are computer-assisted surgery and medical image analysis, focusing on ultrasound.

Luc Duong
Luc Duong is a professor in the Software Engineering and IT Department at ÉTS, and researcher at the CHU Research Center. His research focuses on medical imaging, computer vision, algorithms and artificial intelligence.

Bellefleur Christian
Bellefleur Christian Author profile
Christian Bellefleur, a Research Associate at the École Polytechnique of Montréal since 1998, supervises a project on mechanical and data-processing development: SCOLIOSIS 3D.

Marjolaine RoyBeaudry
Marjolaine RoyBeaudry Author profile
Marjolaine Roy-Beaudry is a Clinical Research Associate at the Sainte-Justine Research Center. She contributed to the collection of data from patients with AIS.

Julien Joncas
Julien Joncas Author profile
Julie Joncas is a Clinical Coordinator at the Sainte-Justine Hospital Research Center. She is the author of “Scoliosis, Preparing for Surgery”, explaining the scoliosis condition and its corrective surgery.

Stefan Parent
Stefan Parent Author profile
Stefan Parent is a Pediatric Orthopedic Surgeon and a Clinician-Scientist. His research interests focus on AIS, its evaluation and progression factors.

Hubert Labelle
Hubert Labelle Author profile
Hubert Labelle is Professor of Surgery, Chief of Orthopedics Division at University of Montreal. His clinical and research interests focus on 3D evaluations of spinal deformities.

X-ray of Adolescent idiopathic scoliosis (AIS)

The header image was purchased on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis (AIS) is a 3D deformation of the spine. AIS usually affects the younger population in the early stages of puberty and is more frequent in females than in males. As in any other medical condition, assessment is an important step to provide adequate treatment and follow-up for each patient. The Lenke classification is the common criterion used by clinicians to categorize spinal curvatures based on 2D measurements. These are obtained from radiographs of the spine in a standing position. The goal of this study is to classify scoliotic curves. We propose a technique called leave-n-out angle to describe spines from 3D reconstructions, and a Dynamic Ensemble Selection (DES), a Machine Learning method to automatically assess curvature types. Keywords: spine classification, descriptors of the spine, Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis, Dynamic Ensemble Selection, machine learning

Introduction

Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis (AIS) is a spinal deformity [1,2]. The AIS causes the spine to look like an “S” or a “C”. AIS affects between 1% and 3% of the population, and it is predominant in adolescents between 10 and 18 years of age, mainly in females. Some serious cases (1 out of 1000) will require surgical treatment. The deformation is usually evaluated through X-rays from the back and side in a standing position. In clinical practice, to assess and treat the severity of the deformation, clinicians use a measurement called the Cobb angle (see Figure 1). This is calculated by finding the most tilted vertebra at the top and at the bottom of the spinal curve. Based on the severity of the curvature, spines can be classified into 6 types of deformation using the widely known Lenke classification method [3].

Cobb angle

Figure 1 Cobb angle measurement.

Although the Cobb angle and the Lenke classification are the primary strategies used to define and treat scoliosis, they do not describe the spine in 3D space. Two spines may look similar on X-rays, but different when viewed in 3D space [4]. Hence, 3D analysis of the spine is critical in understanding and describing the deformity. In this study, we propose a new technique called leave-n-out angles to describe spinal deformations from 3D reconstructions, as well as an automated classification method to assess spinal deformities.

Methodology and Results

Dataset

We collected and analyzed 3D spine models of patients with AIS, provided by the Sainte-Justine University Hospital Center. A total of 17 vertebrae are included in each of the 3D spine models, which were reconstructed from X-rays (see Figure 2a). From each vertebra, six landmarks were identified: superior and inferior endplates, left and right superior pedicles, and left and right inferior pedicles (see Figure 2b).

3D spine reconstruction and Digitalizing each vertebra

Figure 2 a) 3D reconstruction of a spine. b) Each vertebra is digitalized using superior and inferior endplates; left superior, right superior, left inferior, and right inferior pedicles.

Leave-n-out angles

To classify types of curvatures, we need descriptors to depict the shape of the spine (see Figure 3a). Knowing that the spine is a sequence of vertebrae, and assuming that similar spinal curvatures would share similar angles, we proposed the leave-n-out angles technique to describe the spine. It consists of automatically calculating the angle of one vertebra against adjacent vertebrae. Figures 3b and 3c show two examples of this technique. The spine is represented by a line running through the center of 5 adjoining vertebrae, T1 to T5. In example b), the leave-0-out angles show our calculations on the angles of all the adjoining vertebrae T1-T2, T2-T3, and T3-T4. In example c), using leave-1-out angles, we skipped one vertebra in between and calculated the angles of T1-T3 and T2-T4.

In a healthy spine, all the angles have similar magnitudes. Conversely, a spine with scoliosis shows more variation in angle magnitude (see Figure 3a). By varying n in the leave-n-out angles, we could describe the link between vertebrae.

Leave-n-out-angles

Figure 3 a) Illustration of two spines viewed from the back. The horizontal lines represent the centroids of each thoracic (T1-T12) and lumbar (L1-L2) vertebra. A healthy spine looks like a straight line. The spine with scoliosis has a curvature (black box). b) and c) are examples of leave-n-out angles calculations against the horizontal axis, with n=0 and n=1.

Dynamic Ensemble Selection (DES)

This method is called Dynamic Ensemble Selection because it is based on a set of predictors to categorize a sample. Each classifier was trained with different descriptors of the spine to determine the sample’s category. Depending on each case, the method automatically determines, from a set of predictors, which are the most suited to categorize complex samples.

As an example, imagine a set of trained experts (predictors) responsible for evaluating the spines of new patients. Those 5 experts learned to classify the spine based on different measurements that characterize it (descriptors). Their leader expert (DES) devised a way to use the experts’ knowledge to classify the spines in one Lenke classification type. Figure 4 presents two cases to classify a spine. In case A, when the leader expert asks about the classification of one spine, every specialist agrees on the type, and the spine is classified as 1. Case B is more complex, and the experts do not agree. Consequently, the leader expert decides to use two previous similar cases, knowing their Lenke type. When he asks how these older cases were classified, he realizes that specialists A, B and E classified them correctly, so he uses their opinion to classify the case.

Dynamic Ensemble Selection (DES)

Figure 4 Dynamic Ensemble Selection. Case A, all the experts agree on the type. Case B, when not all the experts agree on the type, the ones that can classify previous similar cases are the only ones considered in performing the final classification.

We generated 8 different descriptors of the spine, 3 of them obtained by using the leave-n-out angles technique. Another 3 descriptors correspond to the standard coordinate values in each plane, and the last two are based on the rate of change of the points that form the centerline of the spine [5]. In addition, we applied the DES to perform an automatic categorization of the spines. We train one Random Forest [6] predictor per descriptor, and these predictors act as the specialists in the example above. With our approach, we were able to outperform other ensemble methods to classify spinal deformities.

Conclusion

Our main contribution is the leave-n-out technique to identify the relation between each vertebra with the adjacent vertebrae. Also, we proposed the Dynamic Ensemble Selection as an approach to classify spine deformities automatically. DES offers the versatility of using an ensemble of predictors to categorize one sample. It can even select the set of predictors that is the most likely to classify difficult cases, based on how well they recognize similar cases of a known type. This approach could help clinicians improve the classification of spinal deformities.

Additional Information

For information on this research, please refer to the following paper

E García-Cano, F. Arámbula Cosío, L. Duong, C. Bellefleur, M. Roy-Beaudry, J. Joncas, S. Parent, H. Labelle, Dynamic ensemble selection of learner-descriptor classifiers to assess curve types in adolescent idiopathic scoliosis, Med. Biol. Eng. Comput. (2018) 1–11. doi:10.1007/s11517-018-1853-9.

Edgar GarciaCano

Author's profile

Edgar García-Cano is a PhD candidate at École de technologie supérieure, Montreal. His current research focuses on applying machine learning to predict spinal curvatures in AIS.

Program : Information Technology Engineering  Healthcare Technology 

Research laboratories : LIVE – Interventional Imaging Laboratory 

Author profile

Fernando Arambula

Author's profile

Fernando Arámbula is a Lecturer at the Department of Computer Systems Engineering and Automation, UNAM. His research interests are computer-assisted surgery and medical image analysis, focusing on ultrasound.

Author profile

Luc Duong

Author's profile

Luc Duong is a professor in the Software Engineering and IT Department at ÉTS, and researcher at the CHU Research Center. His research focuses on medical imaging, computer vision, algorithms and artificial intelligence.

Program : Software Engineering  Information Technology Engineering 

Research laboratories : LIVE – Interventional Imaging Laboratory 

Author profile

Bellefleur Christian

Author's profile

Christian Bellefleur, a Research Associate at the École Polytechnique of Montréal since 1998, supervises a project on mechanical and data-processing development: SCOLIOSIS 3D.

Author profile

Marjolaine RoyBeaudry

Author's profile

Marjolaine Roy-Beaudry is a Clinical Research Associate at the Sainte-Justine Research Center. She contributed to the collection of data from patients with AIS.

Author profile

Julien Joncas

Author's profile

Julie Joncas is a Clinical Coordinator at the Sainte-Justine Hospital Research Center. She is the author of “Scoliosis, Preparing for Surgery”, explaining the scoliosis condition and its corrective surgery.

Author profile

Stefan Parent

Author's profile

Stefan Parent is a Pediatric Orthopedic Surgeon and a Clinician-Scientist. His research interests focus on AIS, its evaluation and progression factors.

Author profile

Hubert Labelle

Author's profile

Hubert Labelle is Professor of Surgery, Chief of Orthopedics Division at University of Montreal. His clinical and research interests focus on 3D evaluations of spinal deformities.

Author profile

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS

Classification dynamique de courbes vertébrales anormales


Edgar GarciaCano
Edgar GarciaCano Profil de l'auteur(e)
Edgar García-Cano est candidat au doctorat à l’École de technologie supérieure de Montréal. Ses recherches actuelles portent sur l’apprentissage machine pour prédire les courbures rachidiennes dans la SIA.

Fernando Arambula
Fernando Arambula Profil de l'auteur(e)
Fernando Arámbula est chargé de cours au département Ingénierie et automatisation des systèmes informatiques de l’UNAM. Ses domaines de recherche sont la chirurgie assistée par ordinateur et l’analyse d’images médicales.

Luc Duong
Luc Duong est professeur au Département de génie logiciel et des TI à l’ÉTS, et chercheur au Centre de Recherche du CHU. Ses recherches touchent l’imagerie médicale, la vision artificielle, les algorithmes et l’intelligence artificielle.

Bellefleur Christian
Bellefleur Christian Profil de l'auteur(e)
Christian Bellefleur, chercheur associé à l’École Polytechnique de Montréal depuis 1998, supervise un projet sur le développement mécanique et informatique : SCOLIOSE 3D.

Marjolaine RoyBeaudry
Marjolaine RoyBeaudry Profil de l'auteur(e)
Marjolaine Roy-Beaudry est associée de recherche clinique au Centre de recherche de l’Hôpital Sainte-Justine. Elle a contribué à la collecte de données sur des patients atteints de SIA.

Julie Joncas
Julie Joncas est coordonnatrice clinique au Centre de recherche de l’Hôpital Sainte-Justine. Elle est l’auteure de La scoliose - Se préparer à la chirurgie, expliquant la scoliose et sa chirurgie correctrice.

Stefan Parent
Stefan Parent est chirurgien orthopédiste en pédiatrie et clinicien-chercheur. Ses recherches portent sur la SIA, ses facteurs d’évaluation et de progression.

Hubert Labelle
Hubert Labelle est professeur de chirurgie et chef de la division Orthopédie à l’Université de Montréal. Ses intérêts cliniques et de recherche portent sur les évaluations 3D des déformations de la colonne vertébrale.

Rayon X d’un adolescent souffrant de scoliose idiopathique (SIA)

L’image a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

La scoliose idiopathique adolescente (SIA) est une déformation en 3D de la colonne vertébrale. La SIA se manifeste généralement au début de la puberté et est plus fréquente chez les filles que chez les garçons. Comme dans toute autre condition médicale, l’évaluation est une étape importante pour fournir un traitement adéquat et un suivi à chaque patient. La classification de Lenke est le critère commun qu’utilisent les cliniciens pour classifier les courbures scoliotiques à partir de mesures 2D. Ces mesures sont obtenues par radiographies en position debout. L’objectif de cette étude consiste à classifier les courbures scoliotiques. Nous proposons une technique appelée « exclusion de n angles » (leave-n-out angle) pour décrire la colonne vertébrale à partir de reconstructions 3D, et une sélection dynamique d’ensembles (SDE), soit une méthode d’apprentissage machine pour évaluer automatiquement les types de courbure. Mots clés : classification de la colonne vertébrale, descripteurs de la colonne vertébrale, scoliose idiopathique chez l’adolescent, sélection dynamique d’ensembles, apprentissage machine

Introduction

La scoliose idiopathique chez l’adolescent (SIA) est une déformation de la colonne vertébrale [1,2]. La SIA se manifeste sous la forme d’une courbure de la colonne vertébrale en « S » ou en « C ». La SIA touche de 1 % à 3 % de la population, avec une prédominance chez les adolescents âgés de 10 à 18 ans, principalement chez les filles. Certains cas graves (1 patient sur 1000) nécessiteront un traitement chirurgical. La déformation est généralement évaluée par rayons X de dos et de côté, en position debout. En pratique clinique, pour évaluer et traiter la gravité de la déformation, les cliniciens utilisent une mesure appelée angle de Cobb (voir Figure 1). Cet angle est calculé à partir de la vertèbre la plus inclinée en haut et en bas de la courbe rachidienne. Selon le degré de la courbure, les colonnes sont classées en 6 types de déformation suivant la méthode largement connue de classification de Lenke [3].

Angle de Cobb

Figure 1 Mesure de l’angle de Cobb.

Bien que l’angle de Cobb et la classification de Lenke sont les principales stratégies utilisées dans la définition et le traitement de la scoliose, ils ne décrivent pas la colonne vertébrale dans un espace 3D. Deux colonnes peuvent se ressembler sur les rayons X, mais différer dans en 3D [4]. Par conséquent, l’analyse 3D de la colonne est essentielle à la compréhension et à la description de la déformation. Nous proposons ici une nouvelle technique appelée « exclusion de n angles » pour décrire les déformations de la colonne vertébrale à partir de reconstructions 3D, ainsi qu’une méthode de classification automatisée pour évaluer les déformations.

Méthodologie et résultats

Ensemble de données

Nous avons recueilli et analysé des modèles 3D de la colonne vertébrale de patients atteints de SIA, fourni par le Centre hospitalier universitaire Sainte-Justine. Au total, 17 vertèbres sont montrées dans chacun des modèles 3D reconstruits à partir de rayons X (voir Figure 2a). Six points de repère ont été localisés pour chaque vertèbre : plateaux supérieur et inférieur, pédicules supérieurs gauche et droit et pédicules inférieurs gauche et droit (voir figure 2b).

Reconstruction 3D de la colonne vertébrale et numérisation de chaque vertèbre

Figure 2 a) reconstruction 3D d’une colonne vertébrale ; b) chaque vertèbre est numérisée à partir des plateaux supérieur et inférieur, et des pédicules supérieur gauche, supérieur droit, inférieur gauche et inférieur droit.

 

 

Exclusion de n angles

Pour classifier les types de courbures, il faut des descripteurs sur la forme de la colonne vertébrale (voir la figure 3a). Sachant que la colonne est une séquence de vertèbres et en supposant que des courbures rachidiennes similaires partagent des angles similaires, nous avons proposé une nouvelle technique « d’exclusion de n angles » (Leave-n-out angles) pour la décrire. Il s’agit de calculer automatiquement l’angle d’une vertèbre par rapport aux vertèbres adjacentes. Les figures 3b et 3c montrent deux exemples de cette technique. La colonne vertébrale est représentée par une ligne passant par le centre de 5 vertèbres adjacentes, T1 à T5. Dans l’exemple b), « l’exclusion de 0 angle » montre nos calculs sur les angles de toutes les vertèbres adjacentes T1-T2, T2-T3 et T3-T4. Dans l’exemple c), en utilisant « l’exclusion de 1 angle », nous passons une vertèbre et calculons les angles de T1-T3 et T2-T4.

Dans une colonne vertébrale en bonne santé, tous les angles ont une amplitude similaire. Inversement, une colonne atteinte de scoliose présente des angles dont l’amplitude varie beaucoup (voir Figure 3a). En faisant varier n dans la méthode d’exclusion de n angles, nous pouvons décrire le lien entre les vertèbres.

Exclusion de n angles

Figure 3 a) Illustration de deux colonnes vertébrales vues de l’arrière. Les lignes horizontales représentent les centroïdes de chaque vertèbre thoracique (T1-T12) et lombaire (L1-L2). Une colonne en bonne santé ressemble à une ligne droite. La colonne avec scoliose a une courbure (encadré noire). b) et c) sont des exemples de calculs par exclusion de n angles selon l’axe horizontal, où n = 0 et n = 1.

Sélection dynamique d’ensembles (SDE)

Cette méthode s’appelle la sélection dynamique d’ensembles puisqu’elle est basée sur un ensemble de prédicteurs servant à classifier un échantillon. Chaque prédicteur est formé de différents descripteurs de la colonne vertébrale afin de déterminer la catégorie de l’échantillon. En fonction de chaque cas, la méthode détermine automatiquement, à partir d’un ensemble de prédicteurs, ceux qui conviennent le mieux pour catégoriser des échantillons complexes.

À titre d’exemple, imaginons un ensemble d’experts (prédicteurs) chargés d’évaluer la forme de la colonne vertébrale de nouveaux patients. Ces 5 experts ont appris à classifier les colonnes vertébrales à l’aide de différentes mesures qui la caractérisent (descripteurs). Un expert en chef (SDE) a établi un moyen d’utiliser les connaissances des experts pour classifier les colonnes dans un type de classification de Lenke. La figure 4 présente deux cas de classification d’une colonne vertébrale. Dans le cas A, lorsque l’expert en chef pose des questions sur une classification donnée, tous les experts s’accordent sur le type et la colonne est classée dans la catégorie 1. Le cas B est plus complexe et les experts ne s’entendent pas. En conséquence, l’expert en chef décide d’utiliser deux anciens cas similaires dont on connait le type de Lenke. En vérifiant comment ces cas anciens ont été classifiés, il se rend compte que ce sont les experts A, B et E qui les ont classifiées correctement; il utilise donc leur opinion pour classifier ce cas.

Sélection dynamique d’ensembles (SDE)

Figure 4 Sélection dynamique d’ensembles. Cas A, tous les experts sont d’accord sur le type. Cas B, lorsque tous les experts ne sont pas d’accord sur le type, ceux qui ont réussi à classifier d’anciens cas similaires sont les seuls pris en compte lors de la classification finale.

Nous avons généré 8 descripteurs différents de la colonne vertébrale, dont 3 ont été obtenus à l’aide de la technique d’exclusion de n angles. Trois autres descripteurs correspondent aux valeurs de coordonnées normales dans chaque plan et les deux derniers, au degré de déplacement des points qui forment l’axe central de la colonne [5]. De plus, la SDE nous a servi à effectuer une catégorisation automatique des colonnes. Nous avons entraîné une forêt d’arbres décisionnels [6] par descripteur, les prédicteurs agissant comme les spécialistes de l’exemple ci-dessus. Grâce à notre approche, nous avons pu surpasser d’autres méthodes pour classifier les déformations de la colonne vertébrale.

Conclusion

Notre contribution principale est la technique d’exclusion de n angles pour définir la relation entre chaque vertèbre et ses vertèbres adjacentes. Nous avons également proposé la sélection dynamique d’ensembles comme méthode permettant de classifier automatiquement les déformations de la colonne vertébrale. La SDE offre la possibilité d’utiliser un ensemble de prédicteurs pour classifier un échantillon. Cette approche peut même sélectionner les prédicteurs les plus susceptibles de classifier adéquatement les cas difficiles, en fonction de la reconnaissance passée de cas similaires. Cette approche pourrait aider les cliniciens à améliorer la classification des déformations de la colonne vertébrale.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, veuillez consulter l’article suivant :

E. García-Cano, F. Arámbula Cosío, L. Duong, C. Bellefleur, M. Roy-Beaudry, J. Joncas, S. Parent, H. Labelle, Dynamic ensemble selection of learner-descriptor classifiers to assess curve types in adolescent idiopathic scoliosis, Med. Biol. Eng. Comput. (2018) 1–11. doi:10.1007/s11517-018-1853-9

Edgar GarciaCano

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Edgar García-Cano est candidat au doctorat à l’École de technologie supérieure de Montréal. Ses recherches actuelles portent sur l’apprentissage machine pour prédire les courbures rachidiennes dans la SIA.

Programme : Génie technologies de la santé  Génie des technologies de l'information 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIVE – Laboratoire d'imagerie interventionnelle 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Fernando Arambula

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Fernando Arámbula est chargé de cours au département Ingénierie et automatisation des systèmes informatiques de l’UNAM. Ses domaines de recherche sont la chirurgie assistée par ordinateur et l’analyse d’images médicales.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Luc Duong

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Luc Duong est professeur au Département de génie logiciel et des TI à l’ÉTS, et chercheur au Centre de Recherche du CHU. Ses recherches touchent l’imagerie médicale, la vision artificielle, les algorithmes et l’intelligence artificielle.

Programme : Génie logiciel  Génie des technologies de l'information 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIVE – Laboratoire d'imagerie interventionnelle 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Bellefleur Christian

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Christian Bellefleur, chercheur associé à l’École Polytechnique de Montréal depuis 1998, supervise un projet sur le développement mécanique et informatique : SCOLIOSE 3D.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Marjolaine RoyBeaudry

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Marjolaine Roy-Beaudry est associée de recherche clinique au Centre de recherche de l’Hôpital Sainte-Justine. Elle a contribué à la collecte de données sur des patients atteints de SIA.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Julie Joncas

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Julie Joncas est coordonnatrice clinique au Centre de recherche de l’Hôpital Sainte-Justine. Elle est l’auteure de La scoliose - Se préparer à la chirurgie, expliquant la scoliose et sa chirurgie correctrice.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Stefan Parent

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Stefan Parent est chirurgien orthopédiste en pédiatrie et clinicien-chercheur. Ses recherches portent sur la SIA, ses facteurs d’évaluation et de progression.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hubert Labelle

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hubert Labelle est professeur de chirurgie et chef de la division Orthopédie à l’Université de Montréal. Ses intérêts cliniques et de recherche portent sur les évaluations 3D des déformations de la colonne vertébrale.

Profil de l'auteur(e)