SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Creating Algae-Inspired Photovoltaic Cells - By : Hanen Hattab,

Creating Algae-Inspired Photovoltaic Cells


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Red algae

Purchased on Istock. Copyright.

Since the beginning of time, life has come up with chemical processes that have evolved at the rate of the planet’s climate changes. The basic ingredients are always the same, approximately 99% carbon, nitrogen, oxygen, hydrogen, and about twenty other elements that interact with external elements to grow, reproduce and perform other biological functions. However, the mechanisms are complex and ingenious. Researchers are particularly interested in one of these, crucial in the emergence of life: photosynthesis. In fact, researchers hope to optimize the yield of photovoltaic solar panels by studying this phenomenon in algae.

The First Photosynthetic Organisms

Cyanobacteria and red algae were among the first species to inhabit the earth. For billions of years, they used photosynthesis to produce the energy needed for survival. This process uses light to attach the CO2 carbon and release O2. These sea creatures were among the first able to take advantage of light at a time when its intensity was rather weak. In fact, they developed a mechanism capable of capturing light energy very effectively. While plants are able to convert 12% of solar energy, cyanobacteria and red algae can reach an absorption rate of 98%. These organisms demonstrate the most efficient solar energy conversion systems on Earth. They owe this property to a special antenna located on their surfaces.

This antenna, called the phycobilisome—a light energy collector in the photosynthetic apparatus of some marine organisms, including cyanobacteria and red algae—has yet to reveal all its secrets.

Cyanobacteria

Sea Creatures under Scrutiny by Bioscience and Molecular Engineering

A team of researchers from the School of Biosciences at Birmingham University and the Netherlands Proteomics Center at Utrecht University focused on the phycobilisome protein complex to discover how it captures and transfers light energy. Results of this study will be used to improve photovoltaic cell performance. While domestic solar panels in the UK display conversion rates of 10 to 20%, the team wants to achieve an efficiency rate of 95%. To do this, they initiated the first stage of the research focusing on the operation of the phycobilisome molecular structure.

Their study entitled “A Colorful Pallet of B-Phycoerythrin Proteoforms Exposed by a Multimodal Mass Spectrometry Approach,” published on May 9, 2019, was co-authored by Sem Tamara, Max Hoek, Richard Scheltema, Aneika Leney and Albert J.R. Heck.

Phycobilisome Probed Using Mass Spectrometry

Phycobilisome is composed of two major families of proteins: chromophores that transfer absorbed energy—the “donors”—and those that receive energy—the “recipients”. When they receive light, recipients give cyanobacteria their fluorescent appearance. Studying the spectrometric properties of chromophores helps the team understand how the molecules absorb different light waves. For this purpose, researchers used advanced methods of mass spectrometry (MS). It is a technique that detects and identifies molecules of interest by measuring their mass, and characterizes their chemical structure.

This approach revealed distinct chromophore details that had never been analyzed before. Researchers found that phycobilisome is composed of about twenty different chromophores and that these molecules achieve different rates of light conversion. According to Albert Heck, professor in MS, such diversity is what allows the system to work optimally, in all circumstances. It can permanently adapt and could, in fact, be more refined than previously thought by the researchers.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Des cellules photovoltaïques inspirées des algues - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Des cellules photovoltaïques inspirées des algues


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Algues rouges

Achetée sur Istock. Droit d’auteur.

La vie invente depuis la nuit des temps des procédés chimiques qui évoluent au rythme des changements climatiques de la planète. Ses ingrédients de base sont toujours les mêmes, environ 99 % de carbone, d’azote, d’oxygène, d’hydrogène et d’une vingtaine d’autres éléments qui interagissent avec des éléments extérieurs pour croître, se reproduire et réaliser d’autres fonctions biologiques. Ses mécanismes sont cependant complexes et ingénieux. Des chercheurs s’intéressent à l’un d’eux, qui a été crucial dans l’apparition de la vie : la photosynthèse. Des chercheurs espèrent optimiser le rendement des panneaux solaires photovoltaïques en étudiant ce phénomène chez les algues.

Les premiers organismes photosynthétiques

Les cyanobactéries et les algues rouges font partie des premières espèces qui ont habité la terre. Depuis des milliards d’années, elles ont eu recours à la photosynthèse pour produire l’énergie nécessaire à leur survie. Ce processus a besoin de la lumière pour fixer le carbone du CO2 et dégage du O2. Ces créatures marines ont été les premières à avoir su profiter de la lumière à une époque où l’intensité lumineuse était plutôt faible. Leur mécanisme a de fait développé la capacité de capter très efficacement l’énergie lumineuse. Alors que les plantes sont capables de convertir 12 % de l’énergie solaire, les cyanobactéries et les algues rouges peuvent atteindre 98 % d’absorption. Ces organismes présentent les systèmes de conversion de l’énergie solaire les plus efficients sur Terre. Ils doivent cette propriété à une antenne particulière qui se trouve à l’extrémité de leurs surfaces.

Les secrets de cette antenne appelées phycobilisome, soit le collecteur d’énergie lumineuse de l’appareil photosynthétique chez certains organismes marins, dont les cyanobactéries et les algues rouges, n’ont pas été encore tous révélés à ce jour.

Cyanobactéries

Créatures marines dans la loupe des biosciences et du génie moléculaire

Une équipe de chercheurs de la School of Biosciences de la Birmingham University et du Netherlands Proteomics Centre de la Utrecht University s’est penchée sur le complexe protéique qu’est le phycobilisome afin de découvrir son système de captation et de transfert d’énergie lumineuse. Les résultats de cette étude serviront à améliorer les performances des cellules photovoltaïques. Alors que les panneaux solaires domestiques au Royaume-Uni présentent des taux de conversion de 10 à 20 %, l’équipe veut atteindre un taux d’efficacité de 95 %. Pour ce faire, ils ont entamé la première étape de la recherche qui porte sur le fonctionnement de la structure moléculaire du phycobilisome.

Leur étude s’intitule « A Colorful Pallet of B-Phycoerythrin Proteoforms Exposed by a Multimodal Mass Spectrometry Approach » et a été publiée le 9 mai 2019. Elle est coécrite par Sem Tamara, Max Hoek, Richard, Scheltema, Aneika, Leney et Albert J.R. Heck.

Le phycobilisome sondé par la spectrométrie de masse

Le phycobilisome est composé de deux grandes familles de protéines, à savoir les chromophores qui absorbent l’énergie pour la transférer, appelées aussi « donneurs », et ceux qui reçoivent l’énergie, dits « accepteurs ». Quand ils reçoivent la lumière, les accepteurs donnent aux cyanobactéries leur aspect fluorescent. L’étude des propriétés spectrométriques des chromophores amène l’équipe à comprendre l’absorption des différentes ondes lumineuses par ces molécules. Dans ce but, les chercheurs ont utilisé les méthodes avancées de la spectrométrie de masse (SM). Il s’agit d’une technique qui permet « de détecter et d’identifier des molécules d’intérêt par mesure de leur masse, et de caractériser leur structure chimique. »

Cette approche a permis de révéler des détails de chromophores distincts qui n’avaient jamais été analysés auparavant. Les chercheurs ont constaté notamment que le phycobilisome est composé d’une vingtaine de différents chromophores et que ces molécules réalisent différents taux de conversion de la lumière. Cette diversité est ce qui permet au système de fonctionner de manière optimale, en toutes circonstances, selon Albert Heck, professeur en SM. Il peut s’adapter en permanence et serait, de fait, plus raffiné que ce qu’en pensaient les chercheurs auparavant.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *