SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Behavior Characterization of Large Dimension Composite Plate - By : Ngoc-Hung Vu, Xuan-Tan Pham, Vincent François, Jean-Christophe Cuillière,

Behavior Characterization of Large Dimension Composite Plate


Ngoc-Hung Vu
Ngoc-Hung Vu Author profile
Ngoc-Hung Vu is a PhD student in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interests include solid mechanics, modelling and characterization of composite.

Xuan-Tan Pham
Xuan-Tan Pham Author profile
Xuan-Tan Pham is a Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interests include solid mechanics, modelling and characterization of materials and material forming processes.

Vincent François
Vincent François Author profile
Vincent François is a Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR). His research interests include CAD, geometric modeling, finite element analysis.

Jean-Christophe Cuillière
Jean-Christophe Cuillière Author profile
Jean-Christophe Cuillière is a Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières. His research interests include CAD and manufacturing, geometric modeling and finite element analysis.

Aircraft wing

The header image was bought on Istock.com and is protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

The assembly process of a large flexible aerospace panel made of multilayered fiber-reinforced composites is highly complex due to its nonlinear material behavior. Therefore, the aim of our research work is to characterize the mechanical behavior of fiber reinforced composites applied to inspection and assembly. Keywords: Mechanical characterization; fiber-reinforced composites; assembly process, finite element method.

Introduction

The quality control of their products is one of the main aspects that manufacturing companies must consider in technological developments. At the end of a manufacturing process, the produced part must satisfy a level of required tolerance. In aerospace and automotive industries, flexible parts with large dimensions in relation to their thickness may have different forms due to geometric variations or gravity loads. For example, an aircraft skin panel may be slightly warped in free-state, making it potentially unacceptable for assembly [1]. Therefore, one of the most important issues in quality control is to inspect the geometry of flexible parts prior to assembly. Special fixtures are needed to compensate for shape changes of flexible parts. This process is usually costly and very time-consuming. For instance, Figure 1a and Figure 1b show an aerospace panel in free-state and in a constrained state on its fixture array.

Difference in shape of an aerospace panel when in free-state and constrained.

Figure 1. An aerospace panel: (a) in free-state, and (b) constrained on its inspection fixture array [2]

 

 

It is widely considered that a virtual inspection method, which is usually performed by numerical simulations to compensate for deformation of flexible parts in free-state, could lead to significant time and cost savings. Nowadays, the use of parts made of composite materials is gradually increasing, especially in the aerospace industry. However, up to now, no virtual inspection method was developed for flexible composite parts, at least to our knowledge. The reason is that the deformation behavior of flexible composite parts is much more complex than that of linear elastic materials like aluminum. Therefore, a deep understanding of the behavior of flexible composite parts is not only very challenging, but also crucial to various applications, such as developing specific virtual inspection methods.

Problem and Solution

Thin orthotropic materials like fiber reinforced composites can be described as a laminar structure with four independent in-plane elastic parameters (Young’s modulus and , shear modulus , Poisson’s ratio ). However, during its assembly process a flexible part undergoes large deformations, which makes the constitutive properties of the material change considerably. Consequently, this model is no longer valid for assembly processes. Instead, hyperelasticity could provide a framework for modelling large anisotropic deformations [3-6].

Based on this approach, we propose a hyperelastic material model being capable of capturing the behavior of flexible fiber-reinforced composites (see Equation (17), Vu et al. [7]). The parameters of this model were identified through experimental characterization work.

Characterization Work

The material model parameters are obtained by curve-fitting when minimizing the difference between the experimental bending test data and the numerical simulation.

Experimental Testing

 

Experimental panels for three-point bending testing

Figure 2. Test specimens

Tests using a MTS machine

Figure 3. Three-point bending test using the MTS machine

The composite material used in this study is a four-layer consolidated plate of polyphenylene sulphide (PPS) matrix and carbon fiber fabrics (CF/PPS). The fiber volume fraction ( ) is 50%. The total thickness of the four-layer laminate is about 1.24 mm (0.31 mm per layer). Specimens of dimensions 300 mm × 34 mm × 1.24 mm were fabricated with two different types of fiber orientation configurations: (1) four layers of and (2) four layers of  as shown in Figure 2.

Three-point bending tests were performed on a MTS testing machine with displacement control as presented in Figure 3. Five tests were conducted for each configuration as summarized in Table 1.

Table 1. Specimen and test parameters

Results

Figure 4 shows the comparison between numerical results and experimental data. We can see a good correlation between predicted results and experimental data for our proposed material model.

Numerical data obtained with calculation and compared with experimental data.

Figure 4. Comparison between numerical results and experimental data

Results showed that relative errors between numerical results and experimental data were quite small, with the relative error = 0.0160. It turns out that the mechanical response of the proposed material model was well suited for the mechanical behavior of multilayered CF/PPS in the three-point bending test.

Conclusion

This paper presents a hyperelastic material model used to assess the mechanical behavior of multi-layer fiber-reinforced composite sheets. The material parameters were identified through experimental characterization work. Results showed that:

  • Proposed models are appropriate for the CF/PPS multi-layer composite material.
  • The material parameters of proposed models can be identified in three-point bending tests with two different types of fiber orientation configurations.

 

Additional information

For more information on this research, please refer to the following article:

Vu, N.-H.; Pham, X.-T.; François, V; Cuillière, J.-C. 2018. “Characterization of multilayered carbon-fiber–reinforced thermoplastic composites for assembly process“. Journal of Thermoplastic Composite Materials.

Numerical data obtained with calculation and compared with experimental data.

Figure 4. Comparison between numerical results and experimental data

Ngoc-Hung Vu

Author's profile

Ngoc-Hung Vu is a PhD student in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interests include solid mechanics, modelling and characterization of composite.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research laboratories : LFCMC – Composite Materials Manufacturing and Characterization Laboratory 

Author profile

Xuan-Tan Pham

Author's profile

Xuan-Tan Pham is a Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. His research interests include solid mechanics, modelling and characterization of materials and material forming processes.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research laboratories : DYNAMO – Research Laboratory in Machine, Process and Structural Dynamics  P2SEL – Products, Processes and Systems Engineering Laboratory 

Author profile

Vincent François

Author's profile

Vincent François is a Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR). His research interests include CAD, geometric modeling, finite element analysis.

Author profile

Jean-Christophe Cuillière

Author's profile

Jean-Christophe Cuillière is a Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières. His research interests include CAD and manufacturing, geometric modeling and finite element analysis.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Caractérisation du comportement d’une plaque composite de grande dimension - Par : Ngoc-Hung Vu, Xuan-Tan Pham, Vincent François, Jean-Christophe Cuillière,

Caractérisation du comportement d’une plaque composite de grande dimension


Ngoc-Hung Vu
Ngoc-Hung Vu est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la mécanique des solides, la modélisation et la caractérisation des composites.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Xuan-Tan Pham
Xuan-Tan Pham est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la mécanique des solides, la modélisation, la caractérisation de matériaux et les procédés de mise en forme des matériaux.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Vincent François
Vincent François Profil de l'auteur(e)
Vincent François est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR). Ses recherches portent sur la conception et la CAO, la modélisation géométrique et l’analyse par éléments finis.

Jean-Christophe Cuillière
Jean-Christophe Cuillière Profil de l'auteur(e)
Jean-Christophe Cuillière est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR). Ses recherches portent sur la conception et la CAO, la modélisation géométrique et l’analyse par éléments finis.

Aile d’aéronef

L’image a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

L’assemblage de grands panneaux aéronautiques flexibles, à composites multicouches renforcés de fibres, est très complexe en raison du comportement non linéaire du matériau. L’objectif de nos travaux de recherche est donc de caractériser le comportement mécanique des composites renforcés de fibres lors de l’inspection et de l’assemblage. Mots-clés : Caractérisation mécanique; composites renforcés de fibres; processus d’assemblage; méthode des éléments finis.

Introduction

L’un des principaux aspects que les entreprises manufacturières doivent prendre en compte dans les développements technologiques est le contrôle de qualité de leurs produits. À la fin d’un procédé de fabrication, la pièce produite doit respecter un niveau de tolérance prescrit. Dans l’industrie aéronautique et automobile, les pièces flexibles de grandes dimensions dans un plan par rapport à leur épaisseur peuvent prendre différentes formes, en fonction des variations géométriques ou des charges gravitationnelles. Par exemple, un panneau de revêtement d’avion peut se déformer légèrement à l’état libre, le rendant potentiellement inacceptable pour l’assemblage [1]. Par conséquent, l’un des problèmes les plus importants en matière de contrôle de qualité est l’inspection de la géométrie des pièces flexibles avant l’assemblage. Des montages spéciaux sont nécessaires pour compenser les déformations des pièces flexibles. Le processus est généralement coûteux et prend beaucoup de temps. Par exemple, les figures 1a et 1b montrent respectivement un panneau d’aéronef à l’état libre, et contraint par un agencement de supports.

Différence dans la forme d’un panneau d’aéronef à l’état libre et contraint par des supports

Figure 1. Un panneau d’aéronef : (a) à l’état libre, et (b) contraint sur un montage de supports [2]

 

Il est largement admis qu’une inspection virtuelle, généralement effectuée par simulations numériques pour remédier à la déformation de pièces flexibles à l’état libre, entraînerait des économies de temps et d’argent considérables. De nos jours, le recours aux pièces en matériaux composites augmente progressivement, en particulier dans l’industrie aéronautique. Toutefois, jusqu’à présent, aucune méthode d’inspection virtuelle n’a été élaborée pour les pièces composites flexibles, du moins à notre connaissance. La raison est que le comportement de déformation des pièces composites flexibles est beaucoup plus complexe que celui des matériaux élastiques linéaires, comme l’aluminium. Par conséquent, mieux comprendre le comportement des pièces composites flexibles est, bien que très difficile, nécessaire pour diverses applications, telles que l’inspection virtuelle.

Problème et solution

Les matériaux orthotropes minces, comme les composites renforcés de fibres, peuvent être représentés par une structure laminaire à quatre paramètres élastiques indépendants dans un plan (modules de Young E1 et E2, module de cisaillement G12, coefficient de Poisson ). Toutefois, lors de l’assemblage, une pièce flexible subit de grandes déformations, ce qui modifie considérablement les propriétés constitutives du matériau. Par conséquent, ce modèle n’est plus valide lors des procédés d’assemblage. Une autre approche est l’hyperélasticité, qui pourrait fournir un cadre pour la modélisation de grandes déformations anisotropes [3-6].

Selon cette approche, nous proposons un modèle de matériaux hyperélastique capable de reproduire le comportement de composites renforcés de fibres flexibles (voir l’équation (17), Vu et coll. [7]). Les paramètres de ce modèle ont été déterminés grâce à un travail expérimental de caractérisation.

Travail de caractérisation

Les paramètres du modèle de matériaux sont obtenus par régression non linéaire en minimisant la différence entre les données des essais expérimentaux de flexion et de la simulation numérique.

Essais expérimentaux

Panneaux expérimentaux pour essais de flexion en trois points

Figure 2. Échantillons d’essai

Essais sur appareil MTS

Figure 3. Essais de flexion en trois points avec l’appareil MTS

Le matériau composite utilisé dans cette étude est une matrice de plaque consolidée à quatre couches de polyphénylène sulfide (PPS) et de tissus en fibre de carbone (CF/PPS). La fraction volumique de fibres ( ) est de 50 %. L’épaisseur totale du stratifié à quatre couches est d’environ 1,24 mm (0,31 mm par couche). Des échantillons de 300 mm × 34 mm × 1,24 mm ont été fabriqués selon deux différentes configurations d’orientation des fibres : (1) quatre couches de  et (2) quatre couches de , comme indiqué à la figure 2.

Des essais de flexion en trois points ont été effectués sur un appareil MTS où le déplacement est régulé, comme présenté à la figure 3. Cinq tests ont été effectués pour chaque configuration, comme résumé au tableau 1.

Tableau 1. Échantillon et paramètres d’essai

Résultats

La figure 4 compare les résultats numériques aux données expérimentales. Nous pouvons constater une bonne corrélation entre les résultats prévus par le modèle de matériaux proposé et les données expérimentales obtenues.

Données numériques après calculs et comparées aux données expérimentales.

Figure 4. Comparaison entre les résultats numériques et les données expérimentales

Les résultats ont démontré que les erreurs relatives entre les résultats numériques et les données expérimentales étaient assez faibles, l’erreur relative moyenne étant de 0,0160. Il s’avère que la réponse mécanique du modèle de matériaux proposé était bien adaptée au comportement mécanique du CF/PPS multicouches lors de l’essai de flexion à trois points.

Conclusion

Cet article présente un modèle de matériaux hyperélastique pour évaluer le comportement mécanique de feuilles composites renforcées de fibres multicouches. Les paramètres du matériau ont été déterminés par des travaux expérimentaux de caractérisation. Les résultats ont démontré que :

  • Les modèles proposés conviennent au matériau composite multicouche CF/PPS.
  • Les paramètres de matériaux des modèles proposés peuvent être déterminés lors d’essais de flexion en trois points menés sur des spécimens comportant deux différentes configurations d’orientation des fibres.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, consulter l’article de suivant :

Vu, N.-H., Pham, X.-T., François, V., Cuillière, J.-C. 2018. « Characterization of multilayered carbon-fiber–reinforced thermoplastic composites for assembly process« . Journal of Thermoplastic Composite Materials.

Ngoc-Hung Vu

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Ngoc-Hung Vu est étudiant au doctorat au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la mécanique des solides, la modélisation et la caractérisation des composites.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Laboratoires de recherche : LFCMC – Laboratoire de fabrication et de caractérisation de matériaux composites 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Xuan-Tan Pham

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Xuan-Tan Pham est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la mécanique des solides, la modélisation, la caractérisation de matériaux et les procédés de mise en forme des matériaux.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Laboratoires de recherche : DYNAMO – Équipe de recherche en dynamique des machines, des structures et des procédés  LIPPS – Laboratoire d'ingénierie des produits, procédés et systèmes 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Vincent François

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Vincent François est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR). Ses recherches portent sur la conception et la CAO, la modélisation géométrique et l’analyse par éléments finis.

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jean-Christophe Cuillière

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jean-Christophe Cuillière est professeur au Département de génie mécanique de l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR). Ses recherches portent sur la conception et la CAO, la modélisation géométrique et l’analyse par éléments finis.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *