SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Optical sensors to Study the Spinal Cord - By : Yann Facchinello, Bora Ung,

Optical sensors to Study the Spinal Cord


Yann Facchinello
Yann Facchinello Author profile
Yann Facchinello is a Ph.D. graduate from ÉTS. His thesis focuses on implant fabrication and assessing implant stability in porcine specimens.

Bora Ung
Bora Ung is a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the ÉTS and a member of the Strategic Center for Optics, Photonics and Laser (COPL).
Research laboratories : PHI_lab - PHotonic Innovations lab 

Header image bought from istock.com: copyright.

SUMMARY

On January 25, 2018, Professor Bora Ung of the École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS) of Montreal published an article on Substance entitled “Special Optical Fibres and Doughnut-Shaped Beams—New Photonic Tools.” In his article, Bora Ung presented his students’ research projects on special optical fibres, doughnut-shaped beams and their applications in telecommunications, as well as laser machining, sensors and optical fibres used in health technologies. On February 7, 2018, Professor Ung and former postdoctoral researcher Yann Facchinello gave a lecture at ÉTS entitled “Doughnut Beams, Special Optical Fibres and their Applications”. Following this presentation, three articles describe in greater detail the research projects at the ÉTS PHotonics Innovation Laboratory directed by Bora Ung. The first article described the projects of postdoctoral researcher Dipankar Sengupta on modal converters and optical moisture sensors, and of Ph.D. student Prabin Pradhan on distributed sensors and optical doughnut beams. The second article presented the research work of doctoral student Manish Sharma describing a special optical fibre designed for doughnut beams and biochemical detection, and of master’s student Bastian Lizut on parallel optical sensors measuring several parameters related to air quality. This third article presents the work of former postdoctoral researcher Yann Facchinello and student Pierre-Luc Verville, and ends with a description of upcoming research projects at the PHotonics Innovation Laboratory.

Yann Facchinello—Optical Fibre Sensors for the Spinal Cord

Yann Facchinello worked as a postdoctoral researcher at ÉTS under the direction of Éric Wagnac and Bora Ung from ÉTS, and orthopedic surgeon Jean-Marc Mac-Thiong from Hôpital Sacré-Coeur in Montreal. During his work at ÉTS, he collaborated closely with two researchers from the PHotonics Innovation Laboratory: Ph.D. student Prabin Pradhan and postdoctoral researcher Dipankar Sengupta. Mr. Facchinello is now a “System Designer” in the robotics department at Zimmer CAS, a biomedical company located close to ÉTS.

One of his projects at ÉTS was to better understand the biomechanics and therefore the neurological consequences of spinal cord injuries. In traumatic spinal injuries, bone fragments from damaged vertebrae exert localized pressure on the spinal cord, affecting the patient’s neurological functions. The biomechanics of these fractures are still poorly understood, and reproducing fractures in the laboratory is an effective way to study the dynamic compression of the spinal cord. However, measuring these compressions is complicated and represents a major technological challenge.

Dr. Facchinello and his collaborators proposed the use of a fibre-optic-innervated synthetic spinal cord to measure in real time the spinal cord compressions occurring during a fracture. He joined the PHotonics Innovation Laboratory to work on the integration of four optical fibres into this spinal cord. The fibres have a diameter of 250 microns—about the thickness of three human hair strands. These ultra-thin fibres inserted in the marrow do not affect the mechanical properties, and they made it possible to dynamically measure in real time the minute deformities in the synthetic marrow, while preserving adequate mechanical behaviour.

Pierre-Luc Verville—Oximetry Optical Sensors for Patient Simulators

Pierre-Luc Verville, a student from the Saguenay region of Quebec, will complete a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering at ÉTS in the spring of 2018. During his studies, he worked part-time at the PHotonics Innovation Laboratory on the development of an optoelectronic system for a fibre optic moisture sensor, in collaboration with Senswear Inc. He is now involved in an oximetry optical sensor project for patient simulator dummies, in collaboration with CAE Healthcare.

Upcoming Projects

The team of researchers at Bora Ung’s PHotonics Innovation Laboratory will continue to work in collaboration with Éric Wagnac’s team to develop new applications for biomedical optical sensors. As part of the project to better understand spinal cord functions, optical fibres will be inserted into the spinal cord of pig corpses. This study will provide a better understanding of the biomechanical impacts of an accident on the human spinal cord in order to establish better care protocols. Our researchers will also work in the dental sector to develop sensors made of optical fibres. These sensors will measure jaw forces in patients in order to design dentures that are perfectly adapted to their needs.

The research on biomedical optical sensors at the PHotonics Innovation Laboratory will be expanding in the coming years. Silicone-based optical fibre sensors and flexible waveguides, as well as optical measurement methods will be designed for various medical applications. There is a growing demand for smart devices embedded in clothing and for personalized medical applications.

In 2018, researchers from the PHotonics Innovation Laboratory will also design applications using doughnut beams for machining purposes, namely, drilling, marking and etching of metals and other types of materials. Laser machining is a fast-growing market.

Members of the Research Team

Professor Bora Ung’s research team consists of a postdoctoral fellow, three doctoral students, a master’s student and a bachelor’s student.

Research team from the PHotonics Innovation Laboratory

From left to right are PhD student Mahmoud Gadalla, postdoctoral researcher Dipankar Sengupta, Professor Bora Ung, PhD students Prabin Pradhan and Manish Sharma, and master’s student Bastian Lizut. Former postdoctoral researcher Yann Facchinello and undergraduate student Pierre-Luc Verville were not present when this photo was taken.

Other Articles on this Topic

Please read the articles on Substance presenting current research projects at the ÉTS PHotonics Innovation Laboratory directed by Bora Ung, namely:

Fibres optiques spéciales et faisceaux annulaires, de nouveaux outils

Optical Sensors for Biomaterials and Air Pollutants

 

Research Projects Available at the PHotonics Innovation Laboratory

Professor Bora Ung is looking for students to conduct master’s and Ph.D. projects at ÉTS in Electrical and Mechanical Engineering. Flexible silicone-based waveguides will be designed to produce flexible biometric sensors that can easily be integrated into clothing. Various applications in athletics may also be part of the research projects.

Professor Bora Ung is always ready to listen to students interested in laser, fibre-optic and electromagnetic applications, for end-of-studies projects and 15-credit master’s projects in engineering.

Yann Facchinello

Author's profile

Yann Facchinello is a Ph.D. graduate from ÉTS. His thesis focuses on implant fabrication and assessing implant stability in porcine specimens.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research laboratories : LAMSI – Shape Memory Alloys and Intelligent Systems Laboratory  PHI_lab - PHotonic Innovations lab 

Author profile

Bora Ung

Author's profile

Bora Ung is a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the ÉTS and a member of the Strategic Center for Optics, Photonics and Laser (COPL).

Program : Electrical Engineering 

Research laboratories : PHI_lab - PHotonic Innovations lab 

Author profile


Research laboratories :

PHI_lab - PHotonic Innovations lab 

comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Des capteurs optiques pour l’étude de la moelle épinière - Par : Yann Facchinello, Bora Ung,

Des capteurs optiques pour l’étude de la moelle épinière


Yann Facchinello
Yann Facchinello Profil de l'auteur(e)
Yann Facchinello est titulaire d'un doctorat de l’ÉTS depuis 2015. Sa thèse porte principalement sur la fabrication des implants et l’évaluation de leurs capacités de stabilisation sur spécimens porcins.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Bora Ung
Bora Ung est professeur au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS et membre du regroupement stratégique Centre d’optique, photonique et laser (COPL).
Programme : Génie électrique 
Laboratoires de recherche : PHI_lab - Laboratoire de photonique innovante 

Image d’entête achetée du site istock.com : protégée par des droits d’auteurs.

RÉSUMÉ:

Le 25 janvier 2018, le professeur Bora Ung de l’École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS) de Montréal a publié sur Substance l’article « Fibres optiques spéciales et faisceaux annulaires, de nouveaux outils ». Bora Ung a présenté dans cet article les travaux de recherche de ses étudiants sur les fibres spéciales, les faisceaux annulaires et leurs applications en télécommunication ainsi que l’usinage laser, les capteurs et les fibres optiques utilisées en technologies de la santé. Le 7 février 2018, Bora Ung et l’ex-chercheur postdoctoral Yann Facchinello ont donné une conférence à l’ÉTS intitulée « Faisceaux annulaires, fibres optiques spéciales et leurs applications ». À la suite de cette présentation, trois articles ont décrit plus spécifiquement les projets de recherche au laboratoire de photonique innovante de l’ÉTS dirigé par Bora Ung. Le premier article a présenté les projets du chercheur postdoctoral Dipankar Sengupta concernant les convertisseurs modaux et les capteurs optiques d’humidité et du doctorant Prabin Pradhan relatifs aux capteurs distribués et aux faisceaux optiques annulaires. Le deuxième article a présenté les travaux de recherche du doctorant Manish Sharma décrivant la fibre optique spéciale conçue pour les faisceaux annulaires et la détection de biomatériaux, et de l’étudiant à la maîtrise Bastian Lizut concernant les capteurs optiques mis en parallèle pour mesurer plusieurs paramètres de la qualité de l’air. Ce troisième article présente les travaux de l’ex-postdoctorant Yann Facchinello et de l’étudiant Pierre-Luc Verville. Le professeur présente par la suite les projets de recherche à venir au laboratoire de photonique innovante.

Yann Facchinello – Capteurs de fibres optiques pour moelles épinières

Yann Facchinello a travaillé en tant que chercheur postdoctoral à l’ÉTS sous la direction des professeurs Éric Wagnac et Bora Ung de l’ÉTS, et du chirurgien orthopédiste Jean-Marc Mac-Thiong de l’Hôpital Sacré-Cœur de Montréal. Lors de ses travaux à l’ÉTS, il a collaboré étroitement avec deux chercheurs du laboratoire de photonique innovante, le doctorant Prabin Pradhan et le postdoctorant Dipankar Sengupta. M. Facchinello est maintenant « Concepteur Système » dans le service de robotique au sein de l’entreprise biomédicale Zimmer CAS, située à deux pas de l’ÉTS.

Un de ses projets réalisés à l’ÉTS consistait à mieux comprendre la biomécanique et donc les conséquences neurologiques des blessures à la moelle épinière. Lorsque survient une fracture de la colonne vertébrale d’origine traumatique, des fragments d’os peuvent appliquer une pression localisée sur la moelle épinière, affectant ainsi les fonctions neurologiques du patient. La biomécanique de ces fractures est encore mal comprise et la reproduction des fractures en laboratoire est un moyen efficace pour étudier la compression dynamique de la moelle épinière. La mesure de ces compressions n’est cependant pas triviale et représente un défi technologique de taille.

M. Facchinello et ses collaborateurs ont proposé l’utilisation d’une moelle épinière synthétique instrumentée à l’aide de fibres optiques afin de mesurer en temps réel la compression de la moelle épinière lors de la fracture. Il a joint l’équipe du laboratoire photonique innovant pour travailler à l’intégration de quatre fibres optiques de 250 microns de diamètre dans cette moelle épinière (soit l’épaisseur d’environ trois cheveux humains). Ces fibres très minces, insérées dans la moelle, n’affectent pas les propriétés mécaniques. Elles ont ainsi permis de mesurer dynamiquement de très faibles déformations de la moelle synthétique en temps réel tout en conservant un comportement mécanique satisfaisant.

Pierre-Luc Verville – Capteurs optiques d’oxymétrie pour mannequins simulateurs

Pierre-Luc Verville, un étudiant en provenance de la région du Saguenay au Québec, terminera un baccalauréat en génie électrique à l’ÉTS au printemps 2018. Durant ses études, il a travaillé à temps partiel au laboratoire de photonique innovante en participant au développement du système optoélectronique d’un capteur d’humidité à fibre optique en collaboration avec l’entreprise Senswear Inc. Il participe actuellement à un projet de capteur optique d’oxymétrie pour mannequins simulateurs de patients en collaboration avec l’entreprise CAE Santé.

Projets à venir

L’équipe de chercheurs du laboratoire de photonique innovante de Bora Ung va continuer de travailler en collaboration avec des chercheurs d’Éric Wagnac pour le développement d’un nouveau créneau de capteurs optiques biomédicaux. Dans le cadre du projet de compréhension du fonctionnement de la moelle épinière, des fibres optiques seront insérées des moelles cadavériques porcines. Cette étude permettra de mieux comprendre les impacts biomécaniques d’un accident affectant la moelle épinière d’un humain afin d’établir de meilleurs protocoles de soins. Nos chercheurs vont aussi travailler dans le secteur de la dentisterie pour développer des capteurs faits de fibres optiques. Ces capteurs vont mesurer les forces maxillaires dans la bouche des patients dans le but de concevoir des prothèses dentaires parfaitement adaptées à leurs besoins.

L’axe de recherche de capteurs optiques biomédicaux va prendre de l’expansion dans le laboratoire de recherche en photonique innovante au cours des prochaines années. Des capteurs utilisant des fibres optiques et des guides d’ondes flexibles à base de silicone, et des méthodes de mesure optiques seront conçus pour diverses applications médicales. Il y a une demande croissante pour des dispositifs intelligents intégrés dans des vêtements et pour des applications en médecine personnalisée.

En 2018, les chercheurs du laboratoire de photonique innovante vont aussi concevoir des applications faisant usage de faisceaux annulaires pour l’usinage des matériaux, soit le perçage, le marquage et la gravure de métaux et autres types de matériaux. L’usinage laser est un marché en forte croissance.

Composition de l’équipe de recherche

L’équipe de recherche du professeur Bora Ung se compose d’un postdoctorant, de trois doctorants, d’un étudiant à la maîtrise et d’un étudiant au baccalauréat.

Équipe du laboratoire de photonique innovante de l’ÉTS

De gauche à droite, le doctorant Mahmoud Gadalla, le chercheur postdoctoral Dipankar Sengupta, le professeur Bora Ung, les doctorants Prabin Pradhan et Manish Sharma et l’étudiant à la maîtrise Bastian Lizut. L’ex-chercheur postdoctorant Yann Facchinello et l’étudiant au baccalauréat Pierre-Luc Verville n’étaient pas présents lors de la prise de cette photo.

Autres articles sur ce sujet

Nous vous invitons à lire les articles Substance de cette série présentant les projets de recherche des chercheurs du laboratoire de photonique innovante de l’ÉTS dirigée par Bora Ung, soit les articles :

Fibres optiques spéciales et faisceaux annulaires, de nouveaux outils

Des capteurs optiques de biomatériaux et des polluants de l’air

Projets disponibles en recherche – Laboratoire de photonique innovante

Le professeur Bora Ung recherche des étudiants pour des projets de maîtrise et de doctorat à l’ÉTS en génie électrique et en génie mécanique. Des guides d’ondes en silicone flexibles seront conçus pour des capteurs biométriques flexibles facilement intégrables dans les vêtements. Diverses applications en santé et dans le secteur athlétique peuvent aussi faire partie des projets de recherche.

Bora Ung est toujours intéressé à discuter avec des étudiants d’applications lasers, de fibres optiques et d’électromagnétisme pour des projets de fin d’études et des projets de 15 crédits de maîtrises en ingénierie.

Yann Facchinello

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Yann Facchinello est titulaire d'un doctorat de l’ÉTS depuis 2015. Sa thèse porte principalement sur la fabrication des implants et l’évaluation de leurs capacités de stabilisation sur spécimens porcins.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Laboratoires de recherche : LAMSI – Laboratoire sur les alliages à mémoire et les systèmes intelligents  PHI_lab - Laboratoire de photonique innovante 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Bora Ung

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Bora Ung est professeur au Département de génie électrique à l’ÉTS et membre du regroupement stratégique Centre d’optique, photonique et laser (COPL).

Programme : Génie électrique 

Laboratoires de recherche : PHI_lab - Laboratoire de photonique innovante 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *