SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Noise, One of the Limitations of Wireless Transmissions - By : Jérôme Leclère,

Noise, One of the Limitations of Wireless Transmissions


This original article was written in French as part of the 2018 Plume de science competition, adult category. It won third place.

http://www.sciencepresse.qc.ca/blogue/24-heures-science/2018/07/19/bruit-limites-transmissions-fil

Jérôme Leclère
Jérôme Leclère Author profile
Jérôme Leclère is a postdoctoral researcher at the LASSENA laboratory. Previously, he obtained his Ph.D. at EPFL (Switzerland) on the acquisition of GNSS signals. He was also involved in the development of GPS and GNSS receivers on FPGAs.

Noise in a telecommunication signal

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

Wireless transmissions are ubiquitous in our everyday lives, encompassing phones, Wi-Fi, TV and GPS. Transmission speed is steadily increasing due to technological advances and the use of higher frequencies. Let’s take a look at one of the main inhibiting factors of this output: noise.

In layman’s terms, noise is one or more sounds that disrupt our hearing. It is the same for transmissions. To understand the origin of noise, we will look at its makeup, including temperature and electric current.

Temperature is related to the movement of particles. With no movement, temperature is minimal; at −273.15 °C (0 kelvin) it is known as absolute zero. Our usual temperatures therefore indicate considerable movement at the microscopic level.

As for an electric current, it is a flow of electrons circulating in a conductive material. This flow usually comes from a generator (battery, alternator, solar panel, etc.) and is “organized”, i.e. it is constant or follows a specific pattern (e.g. sinusoidal or square).

Now, let’s link the two notions. When a conductive material is at room temperature, its particles are in motion and electrons circulate inside, creating an electric current. The flow of electrons is not “organized”: the electrical signal is random and contains no information (see 1st figure). It is therefore a nuisance, which is why it is called “noise”, or thermal noise.

Therefore, all receivers create noise that is superimposed on the useful signals it receives. This noise is extremely low, in the order of a femtowatt (millionth of a billionth of a watt), but since signals received by wireless transmission are also very weak, the noise is certainly not negligible. As proof, the figure represents in reality a GPS signal masked by noise a hundred times more powerful. The direct consequence is the potential for errors during transmission; which makes it necessary to compromise between a desired data rate and a tolerable error level.

However, noise does not run amok either. Like any random phenomenon, such as the outcome of a dice roll or the size of an individual, it has certain rules related to probabilities and statistics. For example, when we observe the signal amplitude histogram (centre figure), i.e. the amplitude distribution, we see the well-known Gaussian pattern. Thanks to these rules, we know how to characterize noise and calculate its power in order to predict transmission performance and estimate achievable data rate.

Impact of noise in a telecommunication signal

Additional Information

This article was submitted to the science journalism competition Plume de science, organized by Science pour tous for the 24 hours of science 2018, and finished 3rd in the adult category. The winning articles can be found on the Science pour tous blog on the Agence Science Presse website.

Jérôme Leclère

Author's profile

Jérôme Leclère is a postdoctoral researcher at the LASSENA laboratory. Previously, he obtained his Ph.D. at EPFL (Switzerland) on the acquisition of GNSS signals. He was also involved in the development of GPS and GNSS receivers on FPGAs.

Program : Aerospace Engineering 

Research laboratories : LASSENA – Laboratory of Space Technologies, Embedded Systems, Navigation and Avionic 

Author profile


Get the latest scientific news from ÉTS

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Le bruit, une des limites des transmissions sans fil - Par : Jérôme Leclère,

Le bruit, une des limites des transmissions sans fil


Cet article a été écrit dans le cadre du concours plume de science catégorie adulte 2018. Il a remporté la troisième place.

http://www.sciencepresse.qc.ca/blogue/24-heures-science/2018/07/19/bruit-limites-transmissions-fil

Jérôme Leclère
Jérôme Leclère Profil de l'auteur(e)
Jérôme Leclère est chercheur postdoctoral au laboratoire LASSENA. Il a auparavant obtenu son Ph. D. à l’EPFL (Suisse) sur l’acquisition des signaux GNSS. Il a également participé au développement de récepteurs GPS et GNSS sur FPGA.
Programme : Génie aérospatial 

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteurs.

 

Les transmissions sans fil sont omniprésentes dans notre quotidien, notamment avec les téléphones, le Wi-Fi, la télévision et le GPS. Le débit des transmissions augmente régulièrement grâce aux avancées technologiques et à l’utilisation de fréquences plus élevées. Jetons un œil à l’un des principaux facteurs qui limitent ce débit : le bruit.

En langage courant, le bruit est un ou plusieurs sons qui viennent perturber notre audition. L’idée est la même pour les transmissions. Pour comprendre l’origine du bruit, intéressons-nous à ce qui le compose, à la température et au courant électrique.

La température est liée au mouvement des particules. Sans aucun mouvement, la température est minimale, avec −273,15 °C (0 kelvin) : il s’agit du zéro absolu. Nos températures habituelles indiquent donc de nombreux mouvements au niveau microscopique.

Quant au courant électrique, c’est un flux d’électrons qui circule dans un matériau conducteur. Ce flux d’électrons est habituellement issu d’un générateur (pile, batterie, alternateur, panneau solaire…) et est « organisé », c’est à dire qu’il est constant ou qu’il suit un motif précis (p. ex. sinusoïdal ou carré).

Maintenant, lions ces deux notions. Lorsqu’un matériau conducteur est à température ambiante, ses particules sont en mouvement et des électrons circulent à l’intérieur, créant alors un courant électrique. Le flux d’électrons n’est pas « organisé » : le signal électrique est aléatoire et ne contient pas d’information (voir 1ere figure). C’est donc une nuisance, c’est pourquoi on l’appelle « bruit ». Ce bruit particulier est appelé bruit thermique.

Par conséquent, tout récepteur crée du bruit qui vient se superposer aux signaux utiles qu’il reçoit. Ce bruit est extrêmement faible, de l’ordre du femtowatt (millionième de milliardième de watt), mais comme les signaux reçus par transmission sans fil sont également très faibles, le bruit n’est absolument pas négligeable. Pour preuve, la figure représente en fait un signal GPS masqué par le bruit dont la puissance est cent fois supérieure. La conséquence directe est la possibilité d’erreurs lors de la transmission; il faut alors faire un compromis entre le débit désiré et l’erreur tolérée.

Toutefois, le bruit ne fait pas n’importe quoi non plus. Comme tout phénomène aléatoire, tel que le résultat d’un lancer de dé ou la taille d’un individu, il répond à certaines règles liées aux probabilités et statistiques. Par exemple, lorsqu’on observe l’histogramme de l’amplitude du signal (figure du milieu), c’est à dire la répartition de l’amplitude, nous apercevons un motif bien connu : une Gaussienne. C’est grâce à ces règles que l’on sait caractériser le bruit et calculer sa puissance, afin de prédire les performances d’une transmission et d’estimer le débit atteignable.

Influence du bruit sur un signal de télécommunication

Information supplémentaire

Cet article a été soumis au concours de journalisme scientifique Plume de science, organisé par Science pour tous dans le cadre du 24 heures de science 2018, et a obtenu la 3e place dans la catégorie adulte. Les articles lauréats peuvent être consultés sur le blogue de Science pour tous sur le site de l’Agence Science Presse.

Jérôme Leclère

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Jérôme Leclère est chercheur postdoctoral au laboratoire LASSENA. Il a auparavant obtenu son Ph. D. à l’EPFL (Suisse) sur l’acquisition des signaux GNSS. Il a également participé au développement de récepteurs GPS et GNSS sur FPGA.

Programme : Génie aérospatial 

Laboratoires de recherche : LASSENA – Laboratoire des technologies spatiales, systèmes embarqués, navigation et avionique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)