SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Densified Wood to Replace Metals - By : Hanen Hattab,

Densified Wood to Replace Metals


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Wooden log before densification

The featured image was bought on Istock.com. Copyrights.

Densifying wood improves its mechanical properties and diversifies its uses. Various types of this processed wood are used as fuel, in residential construction, furniture manufacturing, etc. However, in the long term, this material shows a dimensional instability that makes it less interesting for certain applications. A team of researchers has succeeded in producing a much more stable densified wood.

Researchers at the University of Maryland’s Department of Materials Science and Engineering developed a densification process that makes wood more resistant and durable than many metals. They presented it in a study entitled “Processing bulk natural wood into a high-performance structural material”, published on February 8, 2018, in the scientific journal Nature, nicknaming it “super wood”.

The project is co-directed by Teng Li, professor of mechanical engineering, and Hu Liangbing, lecturer and member of the Bing Research Group who focus their research on nanomaterials, energy and flexible electronics. The project started in 2016, after six years of research on wood.

“Super Wood”—An Inexpensive Solution for Structural Materials

According to Li, this wood can be used in car manufacturing. Since it is as strong as and lighter than the metals used in this industry, it could lead to the design of more fuel-efficient vehicles.

“Super wood” is six times lighter than steel and much less expensive than carbon fibre. Like natural wood, it can be transformed by moulding and bending. The purpose of producing densified wood is to replace precious and threatened wood species like teak, with faster-growing wood like pine or balsa. Current densification processes produce wood with inconsistent density that expands when exposed to moisture. The method created by the team makes it possible to produce wood that is resistant to several distortion and spoilage factors.

Steps Involved in the Transformation of Natural Wood into Densified Wood

The first step is to partially remove the hemicellulose and lignin. Lignin is found inside and between the cells, giving the wood its brown colour and rigidity. Hemicellulose binds the cellulose fibres. To break it down, the wood is boiled in a sodium-hydroxide (NaOH) and sodium-sulphite (Na2SO3) solution for seven hours. This treatment does not affect the starchy cellulose.

Then, the wood is compressed for 24 hours under moderate heat, at about 100 °C. This operation compacts the wood by squeezing the cellulose fibres and eliminating cavities and knots.

The two operations brought approximately an 80% reduction in wood thickness. The resulting material is 3 times denser than natural wood, 11.5 times more resistant to mechanical stress and 10 times more durable.

Tests and Conclusions

The team performed a variety of tests on the wood’s mechanical properties, demonstrating the following results:

  • Bending strength 18 times higher than natural wood (perpendicular to wood growth)
  • Compressive strengths 33 to 52 times higher (perpendicular to wood growth)

Exposed to 95% humidity for 128 hours, the wood expanded by only 8.4%.

Ballistic tests were also conducted to verify strength and rigidity. The researchers fired bullets from a gun used to test the impact resistance of military vehicles. A 3-millimetre thick panel was able to stop a 46-gram steel projectile moving at about 30 metres per second. According to Hu, this is comparable to the speed of an automobile before a collision, which shows how adaptable this material could be for the automotive field.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Le bois densifié qui remplacera les métaux - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Le bois densifié qui remplacera les métaux


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Bûches de bois avant densification

L’image d’en-tête provient de Pixabay.com, source. Domaine public.

La densification du bois améliore ses propriétés mécaniques et diversifie ses usages. Les différents types de ce bois transformé sont utilisés comme combustible, dans la construction d’habitations et de mobilier, etc. Or à long terme, ce matériau montre une instabilité dimensionnelle qui le rend moins intéressant pour certaines applications. Une équipe de chercheurs a réussi à fabriquer un bois densifié beaucoup plus stable.

Des chercheurs du Department of Materials Science and Engineering de la University of Maryland ont créé un procédé de densification qui permet d’obtenir un bois plus résistant et plus durable que de nombreux métaux. Il est présenté dans une étude intitulée « Processing bulk natural wood into a high-performance structural material », publiée le 8 février 2018 dans la revue scientifique Nature. Ce bois densifié est surnommé « le super bois ».

Le projet est codirigé par Teng Li, professeur en génie mécanique, et Hu Liangbing, chargé de cours et membre du Bing Research Group dont les recherches portent sur les nanomatériaux, l’énergie et l’électronique flexible. Ce projet a commencé en 2016, après six ans de recherches sur le bois.

Le « super bois », une solution peu onéreuse de matériaux structurels

Selon Li, ce bois peut être utilisé dans la construction automobile. Étant aussi résistant et plus léger que les métaux utilisés dans cette industrie, il pourrait mener à la conception de véhicules moins énergivores.

Le « super bois » est six fois plus léger que l’acier et beaucoup moins cher que la fibre de carbone. Il peut être transformé comme le bois naturel par moulage et cintrage. La fabrication de bois densifié a pour but, en outre, de remplacer des bois précieux et menacés, comme le teck, par des bois qui poussent plus vite comme le pin ou le balsa. Les procédés de densification utilisés actuellement produisent des bois ayant des densités non homogènes et qui prennent de l’expansion, lorsque exposés à l’humidité. La méthode créée par l’équipe permet d’obtenir un bois qui résiste à plusieurs facteurs de déformation et d’altération.

Étapes de transformation du bois naturel en bois densifié

La première étape consiste à enlever partiellement l’hémicellulose et la lignine. Cette dernière loge à l’intérieur et entre les cellules, et donne au bois sa couleur brune et sa rigidité. L’hémicellulose assure la liaison des fibres de cellulose. Afin de le déstructurer, le bois est bouilli dans une solution d’hydroxyde de sodium (NaOH) et de sulfite de sodium (Na2SO3) pendant sept heures. Ce traitement laisse la cellulose amylacée intacte.

Ensuite, le bois est comprimé sous une chaleur modérée, à environ 100 °C, pendant 24 heures. Cette opération compacte le bois en serrant les fibres de cellulose et en éliminant les cavités et les nœuds.

Les deux opérations ont engendré la réduction d’environ 80 % de l’épaisseur du bois. Le matériau obtenu est trois fois plus dense que le bois naturel, 11,5 fois plus résistant aux contraintes mécaniques et dix fois plus durable.

Tests et conclusions

L’équipe a effectué une panoplie de tests de propriétés mécaniques du bois qui ont démontré :

  • Une résistance à la flexion 18 fois plus élevée que celle du bois naturel (sens perpendiculaire à la croissance du bois);
  • Une résistance à la compression de 33 à 52 fois plus élevée (sens perpendiculaire à la croissance du bois).

Exposé à un taux d’humidité de 95 % pendant 128 heures, le bois n’a pris que seulement 8,4 % d’expansion.

Des tests balistiques ont permis de vérifier aussi sa résistance et sa rigidité. Les chercheurs ont tiré des balles à partir d’un pistolet utilisé pour tester la résistance aux chocs des véhicules militaires. Un panneau de trois millimètres d’épaisseur a été capable de freiner un projectile en acier de 46 grammes à environ 30 mètres par seconde. Hu a indiqué que cette vitesse est de l’ordre de celle d’une automobile avant une collision, ce qui permet de constater l’adaptabilité du matériau au domaine automobile.

 

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *