SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
The Feat of New Polymers: Structural Self-Monitoring - By : Hanen Hattab,

The Feat of New Polymers: Structural Self-Monitoring


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Kevlar carbon fiber

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

Carbon fiber-reinforced polymers have vastly improved in recent years. Because of their light weight and strength, these materials are used by car manufacturers to make luxury and race cars. They also have aeronautic applications in the civil and military industry. In spite of their superior mechanical properties, they can get damaged, in particular due to cleavage between layers of the different materials when subjected to excessive stress. In addition, their structural defects are often invisible to the naked eye, which can cause serious accidents. These materials are still desirable because of their strength/weight ratio, which represents an important energy saving factor.

Researchers at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory in Tennessee have found an innovative solution to detect invisible damage as soon as it occurs. In fact, it is the material itself that detects its own structural defects and issues warnings on its condition. The team has created a nanomaterial with an electromechanical functionality that can send signals to an aircraft computer, for example, in case of structural problems. How does it work?

Carbon fibers are coated with nanoparticles that form an electrical network. When the composite is stressed, fiber conductivity is disturbed, changing the electrical resistance in the material. This phenomenon makes it possible to detect and evaluate the structure’s integrity.

The composite’s particular feature is its strength compared to other carbon fiber-reinforced polymers. The researchers created a method to produce the material on an industrial scale and filed a patent application to protect the manufacturing process.

A New Manufacturing Process

The process is known as a roll-to-roll processing that coats carbon fiber with silicon carbide semiconductor nanoparticles. The technique involves passing high-performance carbon fiber spools through rollers that coat the fiber with nanoparticle-charged epoxy; the nanoparticles measure 45 to 65 nanometers. The fiber is then kiln-dried to set the coating.

Electrical and Mechanical Tests

Two tests were performed by the team. The first was to verify the polymer’s resistance. The researchers also compared the performance of composites containing different amounts of nanoparticles to determine their ability to dissipate energy. This mechanical feature increases the ability of materials to withstand shock, vibration, and other sources of stress and distortion.

The second test was to verify the material’s detection capabilities using dynamic strength tests. These measure the electrical resistance variation of a material subjected to mechanical stress of various intensity levels. The best overall composite showed a 47.5% increase in structural integrity detection and a 7.7% increase in cleavage resistance.

The study, co-authored by Christopher C. Bowland, Ngoc A. Nguyen and Amit K. Naskar, entitled “Roll-to-Roll Processing of Silicon Carbide Nanoparticle-Deposited Carbon Fiber for Multifunctional Composites,” was published in ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces on July 30, 2018. The research was funded by the Laboratory Directed Research and Development Program.

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Autosurveillance structurelle, la prouesse des nouveaux polymères - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Autosurveillance structurelle, la prouesse des nouveaux polymères


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Fibre de carbone kevlar

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

Les polymères renforcés de fibres de carbone ont gagné du terrain ces dernières années. Grâce à leur légèreté et à leur résistance, ces matériaux sont utilisés par les constructeurs automobiles pour fabriquer des bolides de course et des voitures haut de gamme. Ils trouvent aussi des applications en aéronautique dans l’industrie civile et militaire. Or même s’ils possèdent de bonnes propriétés mécaniques, ils leur arrivent de subir des dommages, notamment par clivage entre les couches des différents matériaux, lorsque soumis à des contraintes trop fortes. De plus, leurs défauts structurels sont souvent invisibles à l’œil nu, ce qui peut causer des accidents graves. Ces matériaux restent tout de même convoités pour leur rapport résistance/poids qui représente un important facteur d’économie d’énergie.

Des chercheurs, du Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ministère de l’Énergie), au Tennessee, ont trouvé une solution innovante pour détecter les dommages invisibles dès qu’ils surviennent. En fait, c’est le matériau lui-même qui détecte ses propres défauts structurels et alerte sur son état. L’équipe a créé un nanomatériau qui possède une fonctionnalité électromécanique lui permettant, en cas de problèmes structurels, d’envoyer des signaux à, par exemple, l’ordinateur de l’avion. Comment fonctionne-t-il?

Les fibres de carbone sont revêtues de nanoparticules qui créent un réseau électrique. Lorsque le composite est soumis à des contraintes, la conductivité des fibres est perturbée et la résistance électrique dans le matériau change. C’est ce phénomène qui permet de détecter et d’évaluer l’intégrité de la structure.

Le composite se caractérise notamment par sa résistance, comparé aux autres polymères renforcés de fibres de carbone. Les chercheurs ont créé une méthode qui vise à produire le matériau à échelle industrielle et ont déposé une demande de brevet pour protéger le procédé de fabrication.

Un nouveau procédé de fabrication

Il s’agit d’un procédé rouleau à rouleau qui permet de recouvrir les fibres de carbone de nanoparticules semi-conductrices de carbure de silicium. La technique consiste à faire passer des bobines de fibre de carbone haute performance entre des rouleaux qui plongent la fibre dans de l’époxy chargé de nanoparticules mesurant de 45 à 65 nanomètres. La fibre est par la suite séchée dans un four pour en fixer le revêtement.

Tests électriques et mécaniques

L’équipe a effectué deux tests. Le premier a permis de vérifier la résistance du polymère. Les chercheurs ont également comparé les performances de composites contenant différentes quantités de nanoparticules afin de déterminer leur capacité à dissiper l’énergie. Cette caractéristique mécanique augmente la capacité des matériaux à résister aux chocs, aux vibrations et autres sources de contraintes et de déformations.

Le deuxième test a consisté à vérifier les capacités de détection du matériau par des tests de résistance mécanique dynamiques. Ces tests consistent à mesurer la variation de la résistance électrique d’un matériau soumis à des contraintes mécaniques de degrés d’intensité divers. Le composite le plus performant de manière globale montre une augmentation de 47,5 % pour l’évaluation de l’intégrité structurelle et une augmentation de 7,7 % de la résistance au clivage.

L’étude est coécrite par Christopher C. Bowland, Ngoc A. Nguyen et Amit K. Naskar. Elle s’intitule « Roll-to-Roll Processing of Silicon Carbide Nanoparticle-Deposited Carbon Fiber for Multifunctional Composites » et a été publiée dans ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces le 30 juillet 2018. La recherche a été financée par le Laboratory Directed Research and Development Program.

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)