SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Atomistic Approach in Steel Transformation - By : Kanwal Chadha, Mohammad Jahazi,

Atomistic Approach in Steel Transformation


Kanwal Chadha
Kanwal Chadha Author profile
Kanwal Chadha is a Post-Doctoral fellow at the ÉTS Research Chair in Forming Technologies of High-Strength Alloys. He completed his PhD in Mechanical Engineering in June 2018.

Mohammad Jahazi
Mohammad Jahazi Author profile
Mohammad Jahazi is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research focuses on the interactions between manufacturing processes, material microstructure and mechanical properties

Forged metal piece

The featured image was bought from Istock,com and is protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

The dynamic transformation (DT) of austenite to a ferrite phase at high temperatures was studied in a medium-carbon low-alloy steel. The study involved hot compression tests followed by microstructural examinations using electron microscopy. Mathematical calculation of the data indicated that Cr atoms increase the driving force for the transformation of austenite to ferrite. However, when the influences of stress and thermodynamic analysis were considered, it was observed that Cr increased the barrier energy and therefore, emerged as a barrier to the transformation. An in-depth atomic analysis, based on lattice and pipe diffusion theories quantifies the role of stress on the diffusivity of Cr and is compared with other main alloying elements, such as C, Si, and Mn, and its impact, positive or negative, on the DT barrier energy. Finally, a comparison was made regarding the differential effects of temperature and stress on the initiation of DT in medium-carbon low-alloy steels.

Introduction

Large components, such as landing gear or wind turbine blades and shafts, are usually made with high strength steel through a shaping process known as casting, followed by secondary shaping processes like rolling, forging, and extrusion to give a final shape to the finished part. These processes usually occur at high temperatures (as high as 1100̊ C for steel) but still well below melting temperatures. At these temperatures, various mechanisms take place that completely transform the microstructure and result in changes in the mechanical properties of the final product.

Steel at different temperatures has different phases, such as austenite (high temperature), ferrite/bainite (intermediate temperature) and martensite (low temperature). Transformation of austenite to ferrite at high temperature under deformation is termed dynamic transformation, which has been reported to affect mechanical properties during industrial processes [1]. This transformation is significantly affected by many parameters including the quantity of alloying elements in steels. Investigation at the atomistic level of alloying element variations and their influence on dynamic transformation is the leading objective of the present research.

 Magnifying to the Atomic Level

Deformation processes like compression or tensile testing involve movement of alloying element atoms, which significantly affects the mechanical behavior of a material. These atomistic movements occur by diffusion process and are largely influenced by deformation parameters like rate of deformation, temperature, stress, etc. Diffusional processes occur by lattice or pipe diffusion. Lattice diffusion occurs when substitutional or interstitial atoms move to another lattice position, e.g. Fe atoms in Fe alloys, whereas pipe diffusion occurs when the atoms move via edge dislocations, e.g. interstitial atoms like carbon (C) in Fe alloys [2]. It is known that the interstitial atoms and solutes diffuse much faster through pipe diffusion than lattice diffusion due to higher activation energies required for the latter [3]. The dynamic transformation process was initially reported to be a diffusion-less transformation because lattice diffusion was considered to be the dominating factor. Therefore, investigation considering pipe diffusion could bring a better understanding of dynamic transformation mechanisms.

Medium carbon low alloy steel deformation

Fig. 1 EBSD grain boundary map of medium carbon low alloy steel deformed at a temperature of 1200 °C at a strain rate of 0.25 s-1[4

Microstructure Study on Low Carbon Steel

To study this, medium low carbon steel was considered and hot deformed using the Gleeble® Thermomechanical Simulator and analyzed using the SU8230 Scanning Electron Microscope, and Electron Back-Scatter Diffraction (EBSD) techniques. Data obtained from various deformation parameters were considered for diffusional study (pipe diffusion) and compared with the obtained microstructures (Fig. 1). The microstructure study revealed that with the increase in strain rate and decrease in temperature, dynamically transformed ferrite fraction decreased. The ferrite grain size was found to decrease with increasing strain rate. Using pipe diffusion equations [4], it was found that the diffusivity of interstitial atoms (C), as well as substitutional atoms (Si, Mn and Cr) increased with the strain rate, but the diffusion distance of interstitial atoms increased and that of substitutional atoms significantly decreased. A very good correlation was obtained between the grain size of dynamically transformed ferrite and pipe diffusion results, which was used to develop a novel method of transformation in steels using the atomistic approach.

During hot deformation at temperatures of 1200 °C and 1150 °C, the austenite matrix (Fig. 2a), composed of interstitial (C) and substitutional (Si, Cr and Mn) alloying elements, is deformed through the action of stress. As the stress increases, atoms of alloying elements like C (interstitial atom) and Si (substitutional atoms) start to diffuse from the austenite matrix, thus making the transformation easier (Fig. 2b). However, elements like Cr and Mn (substitutional atoms), which have relatively lower diffusivity, remain in the austenite matrix, and thus make the austenite matrix stronger. After shear accommodation and dilatation, the austenite matrix is converted into Widmanstätten ferrite (Fig. 2d) [1]. The nucleation of Widmanstätten ferrite starts from the prior austenite grain boundary (PAGB) (Fig. 2e). Due to the effects of stress, strain rate and corresponding diffusion of carbon, the Widmanstätten ferrite starts to grow [4]. At slow strain rates, the diffusion distance of C is less, as compared to the grain size, which results in the formation of quasi-polygonal ferrite (QPF) (Fig. 2f). However, at high strain rates, the diffusion distance of carbon is higher and results in the formation of Widmanstätten ferrite with long plates (Fig. 2g).

Dynamic transformation of austenite to a ferrite phase in low carbon steel

Fig. 2 Schematic diagram of the dynamic transformation phenomenon [5]

Additional Information

 For more information on this research, please read the following research paper: Chadha, K; Ahmed, Z.; Aranas, C.Jr.; Shahriari, D.; Jahazi, M. 2018. “Influence of stain rate on dynamic transformation of austenite in as as-cast medium-carbon low-alloy steel”. Materialia, 1: p. 155-167.

 

Kanwal Chadha

Author's profile

Kanwal Chadha is a Post-Doctoral fellow at the ÉTS Research Chair in Forming Technologies of High-Strength Alloys. He completed his PhD in Mechanical Engineering in June 2018.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research chair : Industrial Research Chair in Forming Technologies of High-Strength Alloys 

Author profile

Mohammad Jahazi

Author's profile

Mohammad Jahazi is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research focuses on the interactions between manufacturing processes, material microstructure and mechanical properties

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research chair : Industrial Research Chair in Forming Technologies of High-Strength Alloys 

Research laboratories : P2SEL – Products, Processes and Systems Engineering Laboratory  LOPFA – Optimization of Aerospace Manufacturing Processes Laboratory 

Author profile

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Approche atomistique de la transformation de l’acier - Par : Kanwal Chadha, Mohammad Jahazi,

Approche atomistique de la transformation de l’acier


Kanwal Chadha
Kanwal Chadha est stagiaire postdoctoral à la Chaire de recherche ÉTS de mise en forme des alliages à haute résistance mécanique. Il a obtenu son doctorat en génie mécanique en juin 2018.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Mohammad Jahazi
Mohammad Jahazi Profil de l'auteur(e)
Mohammad Jahazi est professeur au Département de génie mécanique à l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les interactions entre les procédés de fabrication, la microstructure des matériaux et les propriétés mécaniques.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Pièce de métal forgée

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

Cette étude porte sur la transformation dynamique (TD) à haute température de l’austénite en phase ferritique dans un acier faiblement allié à teneur moyenne en carbone. L’étude comprenait des tests de compression à chaud suivis d’examens microstructuraux par microscopie électronique. Le calcul mathématique des données indiquait que les atomes de Cr augmentaient la force motrice de la transformation de l’austénite en ferrite. Par contre, si on tient compte de l’influence des contraintes et des analyses thermodynamiques, le Cr augmente l’énergie d’activation et apparaît donc comme nuisant à la transformation. Une analyse atomique approfondie, basée sur les théories des mécanismes de diffusion interstitielle et lacunaire, quantifie l’incidence de la contrainte appliquée sur la diffusivité du Cr, laquelle est comparée à la diffusivité des autres éléments principalement utilisés pour les alliages comme le C, le Si et le Mn, ainsi que son incidence, positive ou négative, sur l’énergie d’activation de la TD. Enfin, une comparaison a été faite afin de déterminer les effets différentiels de la température et des contraintes sur l’amorce de la TD dans les aciers faiblement alliés à teneur moyenne en carbone.

Introduction

Les composants de grande taille comme les trains d’atterrissage, les aubes et les arbres de turbine sont généralement fabriqués en acier à haute résistance selon un procédé de formage appelé coulée en lingotière, suivi du forgeage pour donner la forme finale à la pièce. Ces procédés sont généralement effectués à des températures élevées (jusqu’à 1100°C pour l’acier), mais toujours bien en dessous des températures de fusion. À ces températures, divers mécanismes se produisent, transformant complètement la microstructure et modifiant par le fait les propriétés mécaniques du produit final.

À différentes températures, l’acier se présente sous différentes phases comme l’austénite (haute température), la ferrite/bainite (température intermédiaire) et la martensite (basse température). La transformation de l’austénite en ferrite à haute température sous déformation se nomme transformation dynamique et affecte les propriétés mécaniques lors des procédés industriels [1]. Cette transformation est fortement influencée par de nombreux paramètres, notamment la concentration d’éléments d’alliage dans les aciers. L’étude au niveau atomistique des variations des éléments d’alliage et de leur influence sur la transformation dynamique est l’objectif principal de la présente recherche.

Point de mire sur les atomes

Les processus de déformation comme les essais de compression ou de traction impliquent la migration d’éléments atomiques d’alliage, ce qui affecte considérablement le comportement mécanique d’un matériau. Ces mouvements atomistiques se produisent par diffusion et sont largement influencés par des paramètres comme le taux de déformation, la température, la contrainte, etc. Les mécanismes de diffusion sont de deux types : interstitiel et lacunaire. La diffusion interstitielle se produit lorsque des atomes de substitution ou interstitiels migrent vers un autre endroit du réseau, par ex. les atomes de Fe dans les alliages de Fe, tandis que la diffusion lacunaire se produit lorsque les atomes migrent en dislocation coin, par exemple. les atomes interstitiels comme le carbone (C) dans les alliages de Fe [2]. On sait que les atomes interstitiels et les solutés se déplacent beaucoup plus rapidement par diffusion lacunaire que par diffusion interstitielle puisque la diffusion interstitielle nécessite une énergie d’activation plus élevée [3]. Le processus de transformation dynamique a d’abord été décrit comme une transformation n’ayant pas recours à la diffusion, car la diffusion interstitielle était considérée comme le mécanisme dominant. Par conséquent, une étude sur la diffusion lacunaire permettrait de mieux comprendre les mécanismes de transformation dynamique.

Déformation de l’acier faiblement allié à teneur moyenne en carbone

Figure 1 Image EBSD de joint de grains d’un acier faiblement allié à teneur moyenne en carbone, déformé à 1200 °C et à une vitesse de déformation de 0,25 s-1[4]

Étude microstructurelle de l’acier à faible teneur en carbone

Pour cette étude, un acier à teneur moyenne en carbone a été déformé à chaud à l’aide du simulateur thermomécanique Gleeble®, puis analysé au microscope électronique à balayage SU8230 et par technique de diffraction d’électrons rétrodiffusés (EBSD). Les données de divers paramètres de déformation ont été prises en compte dans l’étude de diffusion (diffusion lacunaire) et comparées aux microstructures obtenues (Fig. 1). L’étude de la microstructure a montré que l’augmentation de la vitesse de déformation et la diminution de la température ont pour effet de réduire la portion de ferrite transformée de manière dynamique. La taille du grain de ferrite diminue avec l’augmentation de la vitesse de déformation. Les équations de diffusion lacunaire [4] ont révélé que la diffusivité des atomes interstitiels (C) et des atomes de substitution (Si, Mn et Cr) augmente avec la vitesse de déformation, mais que tandis que la distance de diffusion des atomes interstitiels augmente, celle des atomes de substitution diminue de façon importante. Une très bonne corrélation a été obtenue entre les résultats granulométriques de ferrite transformée de façon dynamique et les résultats de la diffusion lacunaire, ce qui a servi à concevoir une nouvelle méthode de transformation des aciers selon l’approche atomistique.

Lors de déformations à chaud à 1200 °C et à 1150 °C, la matrice de l’austénite (Fig. 2a), composée d’éléments d’alliage interstitiels (C) et de substitution (Si, Cr et Mn), est déformée par l’action d’une contrainte. Lorsque la contrainte augmente, des éléments atomiques d’alliage comme le C (atome interstitiel) et le Si (atomes de substitution) commencent à se diffuser dans la matrice de l’austénite, facilitant ainsi la transformation (figure 2 b). Cependant, des éléments comme le Cr et le Mn (atomes de substitution), qui ont une diffusivité relativement plus faible, restent dans la matrice de l’austénite et la renforcent. Après l’accommodation au cisaillement et la dilatation, la matrice austénitique est convertie en ferrite de Widmanstätten (figure 2d) [1]. La nucléation de la ferrite de Widmanstätten commence à partir du joint de grains de l’austénite antérieure (PAGB) (figure 2e). La ferrite de Widmanstätten commence à se développer sous les effets de la contrainte, de la vitesse de déformation et de la diffusion correspondante du carbone [4]. À faibles vitesses de déformation, la distance de diffusion de C est inférieure à la taille du grain, ce qui entraîne la formation de ferrite quasi polygonale (QPF) (figure 2f). Cependant, à vitesses de déformation élevées, la distance de diffusion du carbone est plus grande et conduit à la formation de ferrite de Widmanstätten à longues lamelles (Fig. 2g).

Transformation dynamique de l’austénite en phase ferritique à partir d’un acier à teneur moyenne en carbone

Figure 2 Schéma du phénomène de transformation dynamique [5]

Information supplémentaire

 Pour plus d’informations sur cette recherche, veuillez lire l’article suivant: Chadha, K; Ahmed, Z.; Aranas, C.Jr.; Shahriari, D.; Jahazi, M. 2018. « Influence of stain rate on dynamic transformation of austenite in as as-cast medium-carbon low-alloy steel ». Materialia, 1: p. 155-167.

 

Kanwal Chadha

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Kanwal Chadha est stagiaire postdoctoral à la Chaire de recherche ÉTS de mise en forme des alliages à haute résistance mécanique. Il a obtenu son doctorat en génie mécanique en juin 2018.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche industrielle en technologies de mise en forme des alliages à haute résistance mécanique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Mohammad Jahazi

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Mohammad Jahazi est professeur au Département de génie mécanique à l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur les interactions entre les procédés de fabrication, la microstructure des matériaux et les propriétés mécaniques.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche industrielle en technologies de mise en forme des alliages à haute résistance mécanique 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIPPS – Laboratoire d'ingénierie des produits, procédés et systèmes  LOPFA – Laboratoire d’optimisation des procédés de fabrication en aéronautique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


commentaires

    Laisser un commentaire

    Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *