SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Analyzing a New Morphing Trailing Edge System - By : David Communier, Ruxandra Botez, Tony Wong,

Analyzing a New Morphing Trailing Edge System


David Communier
David Communier Author profile
David Communier is a Bachelor of Automated Manufacturing Engineering, and has a Master’s degree in Aerospace Engineering from ÉTS. He is a Ph.D. student in Aerospace Engineering at ÉTS. His is studying the behaviour of morphing wings.

Ruxandra Botez
Ruxandra Botez Author profile
Ruxandra Mihaela Botez is a professor in the Systems Engineering Department at ÉTS. She specializes in modelling and simulation for aircraft, helicopters, aerial systems and morphing wings.

Tony Wong
Tony Wong is a Professor in the Department of Systems Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include evolutionary multi-criteria optimization algorithms, machine learning and parallel programming.

a wing’s trailing edge

Purchased on Istock.com. Copyright.

SUMMARY

This article presents a new trailing edge morphing system created by the LARCASE team. The proposed approach was to produce a deformation of the trailing edge using flexible wing ribs with slits. This system has the added benefit of being lightweight and easy to manufacture. Its functionality was validated through wind tunnel testing. When compared to a conventional aileron, the new system showed less wing drag and lower aircraft engine fuel consumption.

Introduction

The idea behind the morphing wing is to influence aircraft behaviour and performance by deforming the actual wing instead of using movable wing sections as in existing aircraft. The movable parts on a conventional wing are ailerons, flaps, spoilers, and slats.

In this research, we focused on replacing ailerons with a wing morphing system. Specifically, it is a deformation system for the wing’s trailing edge. Replacing ailerons with a wing morphing system has the added benefit of reducing wing air resistance and, ultimately, aircraft fuel consumption.

To be useful on an aircraft, the system must meet three key criteria:

  • It must allow for improved wing performance.
  • It must not increase wing mass.
  • It must not increase total aircraft energy consumption.

Designing the Morphing Wing System

Since there were no constraints for the wing structure (unlike some previous LARCASE wing morphing projects [1] [2] [3] [4]), we chose a skeleton-like wing structure, composed of a main spar—to support the weight of the aircraft in the air—and ribs, to give the wing its aerodynamic shape.

To produce a deformation of the wing’s trailing edge, we made the ribs flexible at their trailing edge. Modifying the shape of the rib allowed us to modify the aerodynamic shape of the wing. To obtain a flexible rib, slits were made leaving only a thin layer in the centre [5]. Figure 1 shows the central rib of the morphing trailing edge system, called MTE for “Morphing Trailing Edge”. Using a morphing wing system, we were able to obtain a smooth-looking modification of the wing shape, as opposed to using an aileron, as shown in Figure 2. We chose to divide the slits into three regularly spaced pairs between the centre and the trailing edge of the rib to produce the smooth deformed shape.

Morphing Trailing Edge

Figure 1 MTE deformation control

wing’s trailing edge

Figure 2a NACA0012 profile with inclined aileron

Wing equipped Morphing Trailing Edge

Figure 2b NACA0012 profile with deformed MTE

Manufacturing and Wind Tunnel Testing

To validate the operation of the MTE, our model was tested in the LARCASE Price–Païdoussis wind tunnel (Figure 3) [6] [7] [8] [9]. To determine if the MTE prototype helped improve the wing’s aerodynamic performance, we carried out comparative tests using a wing model equipped with an aileron; the models of both systems (MTE and aileron) had the same measurements for more accurate comparisons. Since we used an aileron model from a previous study [10], we designed the MTE (Figure 4) model with the same measurements (Figure 5). Using an aerodynamic balance designed by LARCASE students [11], we obtained the lift (wing lift ability) and drag (air resistance) forces of the wing models during the tests. This way, we could plot aerodynamic coefficient variation curves for the two systems (Figure 6 and Figure 7) from the measured forces and the geometric wing dimensions.

LARCASE Price–Païdoussis subsonic wind tunnel

Figure 3 LARCASE Price–Païdoussis subsonic wind tunnel

Morphing Trailing Edge on a wing

Figure 4 Model of the MTE-equipped wing

Wing with a trailing edge

Figure 5 2D map of the aileron-wing model (shown in “inches”)

lift coefficient vs wing’s angle of attack

Figure 6 Variation of the lift coefficient according to the wing’s angle of attack

drag coefficient vs angle of attack

Figure 7 Variation of the drag coefficient according to the wing’s angle of attack

As shown in Figures 6 and 7, given the same variation in lift coefficients, the drag coefficient of the MTE wing is lower than in the wing with aileron. It can be concluded that the MTE improves wing performance compared to a conventional aileron. Therefore, our design meets the first criterion.

In order to meet the wing mass conservation requirement, we used the same structure for the MTE as that of the aileron (spar and ribs), and the same actuator (servomotor).

Finally, the third criterion required avoiding the consumption of more energy than the amount that was saved. To validate this point, we measured the energy consumption of the two systems during the wind tunnel tests. We obtained a constant consumption of 25.2 mW for the aileron control, 25.2 mW for the MTE control without deformation, and 504 mW with a 7° deformation of the MTE. The MTE consumes more energy than a conventional aileron because of the actuator’s role in rib deformation. However, because the MTE reduces wing drag, the engine’s energy requirement is reduced. Yet engine consumption is over hundreds of thousands times greater than that of an actuator. A 1% reduction in engine consumption saves several dozen watts of power, which is much higher than the extra consumption required by the MTE.

Conclusion

This analysis allowed us to demonstrate the functionality and efficiency of our morphing wing trailing edge prototype. In addition to being simple to manufacture, the MTE prototype has met the criteria for use on an aircraft. The next step will be to integrate the MTE into a small aircraft, such as the LARCASE UAS-S45, to validate flight behaviour.

Additional Information

For more information on this research, please refer to the following paper:

Communier, David; Botez, Ruxandra; Wong, Tony. 2019. “Experimental Validation of a New Morphing Trailing Edge System using Price–Païdoussis Wind Tunel Tests.” Chinese Journal of Aeronautics, 32(6): 1353–1366.

David Communier

Author's profile

David Communier is a Bachelor of Automated Manufacturing Engineering, and has a Master’s degree in Aerospace Engineering from ÉTS. He is a Ph.D. student in Aerospace Engineering at ÉTS. His is studying the behaviour of morphing wings.

Program : Aerospace Engineering  Automated Manufacturing Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair for Aircraft Modeling and Simulation Technologies 

Research laboratories : LARCASE – Aeronautical Research Laboratory in Active Control, Avionics and Aeroservoelasticity 

Author profile

Ruxandra Botez

Author's profile

Ruxandra Mihaela Botez is a professor in the Systems Engineering Department at ÉTS. She specializes in modelling and simulation for aircraft, helicopters, aerial systems and morphing wings.

Program : Aerospace Engineering  Automated Manufacturing Engineering 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair for Aircraft Modeling and Simulation Technologies 

Research laboratories : LARCASE – Aeronautical Research Laboratory in Active Control, Avionics and Aeroservoelasticity 

Author profile

Tony Wong

Author's profile

Tony Wong is a Professor in the Department of Systems Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include evolutionary multi-criteria optimization algorithms, machine learning and parallel programming.

Program : Automated Manufacturing Engineering 

Research laboratories : LIVIA – Imaging, Vision and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory 

Author profile

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Analyse d’un nouveau système de bord de fuite déformable - Par : David Communier, Ruxandra Botez, Tony Wong,

Analyse d’un nouveau système de bord de fuite déformable


David Communier
David Communier Profil de l'auteur(e)
David Communier a obtenu son baccalauréat en génie de la production automatisée et sa maîtrise en aérospatiale à l’ÉTS. Il est doctorant en génie aérospatial à l’ÉTS. Il se spécialise dans les ailes déformables pour des avions autonomes.

Ruxandra Botez
Ruxandra Mihaela Botez est professeure au Département de génie des systèmes à l’ÉTS. Elle est spécialiste en modélisation et simulation de vols d’aéronefs, d’hélicoptères, de systèmes de vol, et d’ailes déformables.

Tony Wong
Tony Wong est professeur au Département de génie des systèmes à l’ÉTS. Ses intérêts de recherche sont les algorithmes d’optimisation multicritères évolutionnaires, l’’apprentissage machine et la programmation parallèle.

Bord de fuite d’une aile

Achetée sur Istock.com. Droit d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

Cet article présente un nouveau système de déformation du bord de fuite réalisé par l’équipe du LARCASE. L’approche préconisée est de permettre la déformation du bord de fuite par des nervures d’aile flexibles à l’aide de fines fentes. Ce système a pour avantage d’être léger et facile à fabriquer. Son bon fonctionnement a pu être validé par des tests en soufflerie. Une comparaison avec un aileron classique a permis de démontrer que le nouveau système produit une diminution de la traînée de l’aile et ainsi réduit la consommation en carburant du moteur de l’avion.

Introduction

Le principe des ailes déformables consiste à agir sur le comportement et les performances de l’avion en déformant l’aile au lieu d’utiliser des sections d’aile mobiles comme dans les avions déjà existants. Les sections mobiles sur une aile classique sont les ailerons, les volets, les aérofreins et les becs d’attaque.

Dans cette recherche, nous nous sommes concentrés sur le remplacement des ailerons par un système de déformation de l’aile. Plus particulièrement, il s’agit d’un système de déformation du bord de fuite de l’aile. L’intérêt de remplacer les ailerons par un système de déformation de l’aile est de réduire la résistance à l’air de l’aile et ainsi réduire la consommation de carburant de l’avion.

Pour être utilisé sur un avion, le système doit répondre à trois critères principaux :

  • Il doit permettre une amélioration des performances de l’aile.
  • Il ne doit pas augmenter la masse de l’aile.
  • Il ne doit pas augmenter la consommation d’énergie totale de l’avion.

Conception du système de déformation de l’aile

Comme nous n’avions pas de contrainte de structure d’aile (contrairement à certains projets précédents du LARCASE portant sur la déformation des ailes [1] [2] [3] [4]), nous avons choisi une structure d’aile semblable à un squelette, c’est-à-dire composée d’un longeron principal, qui permet de supporter le poids de l’avion dans les airs, et de nervures, qui servent à donner à l’aile sa forme aérodynamique.

Pour permettre une déformation du bord de fuite de l’aile, nous avons rendu les nervures flexibles au niveau de leur bord de fuite. Ainsi, en modifiant la forme de la nervure, nous avons modifié la forme aérodynamique de l’aile. Pour rendre la nervure flexible, des fentes ont été réalisées de façon à ne garder qu’une mince épaisseur au centre [5]. La Figure 1 présente la nervure centrale du système de déformation du bord de fuite que nous appelons MTE pour « Morphing Trailing Edge ». Grâce à l’utilisation d’un système de déformation des ailes, nous pouvons obtenir une modification de la forme de l’aile « lisse », contrairement à l’utilisation d’un aileron, comme montré à la Figure 2. C’est pour obtenir une forme déformée lisse que nous avons choisi de répartir les fentes en trois paires régulièrement espacées entre le centre et le bord de fuite de la nervure.

Morphing Trailing Edge

Figure 1 Contrôle de la déformation du MTE

Profil d'une aile avec aileron

Figure 2a Profil NACA0012 avec un aileron incliné

Aile équipée d'un Morphing Trailing Edge

Figure 2b Profil NACA0012 avec le MTE déformé

Fabrication et tests en soufflerie

Pour valider le fonctionnement du MTE, nous avons fabriqué une maquette qui a été testée dans la soufflerie Price – Païdoussis du LARCASE (Figure 3) [6] [7] [8] [9]. Pour déterminer si le prototype du MTE permettait d’améliorer les performances aérodynamiques de l’aile, nous avons effectué des tests comparatifs avec une maquette d’aile équipée d’un aileron; les maquettes des deux systèmes (MTE et aileron) avaient les mêmes dimensions afin de pouvoir les comparer. Comme nous avons utilisé une maquette d’aileron d’une étude antérieure [10], nous avons conçu la maquette du MTE (Figure 4) en respectant les mêmes dimensions (Figure 5). À l’aide d’une balance aérodynamique conçue par les étudiants du LARCASE [11], nous pouvons obtenir les forces de portance (capacité à soulever l’aile) et de traînée (résistance face à l’air) des maquettes d’ailes lors des tests. Ainsi nous pouvons tracer les courbes des variations des coefficients aérodynamiques pour les deux systèmes (Figure 6 et Figure 7) à partir des forces mesurées et des dimensions géométriques des ailes.

Soufflerie subsonique Price - Païdoussis du LARCASE

Figure 3 Soufflerie subsonique Price – Païdoussis du LARCASE

Morphing Trailing Edge sur une aile

Figure 4 Maquette de l’aile munie du MTE

Aile comprenant un aileron

Figure 5 Plan 2D de la maquette d’aile équipé d’un aileron (unité en « pouce »)

Portance vs angle d’attaque

Figure 6 Variation du coefficient de portance en fonction de l’angle d’attaque de l’aile

Traînée vs angle d’attaque

Figure 7 Variation du coefficient de traînée en fonction de l’angle d’attaque de l’aile

Comme nous pouvons le voir aux Figure 6 et Figure 7, pour une même variation du coefficient de portance, l’aile équipée du MTE a un coefficient de traînée plus faible que l’aile équipée de l’aileron. Nous pouvons donc en conclure que le MTE permet d’améliorer les performances de l’aile par rapport à un aileron classique. Notre conception satisfait donc au premier critère.

Afin de satisfaire le critère de conservation de la masse de l’aile, nous avons utilisé la même structure pour le MTE que celle utilisée pour l’aileron (longeron et nervures) et nous avons utilisé le même actionneur (servomoteur).

Finalement, le troisième critère requiert de ne pas consommer plus d’énergie qu’on en économise. Pour valider ce point, nous avons mesuré la consommation de courant des deux systèmes durant leur utilisation en soufflerie. Ainsi, nous avons obtenu une consommation continue de 25,2 mW pour la commande de l’aileron, de 25,2 mW pour la commande du MTE sans déformation et de 504 mW lorsque le MTE est déformé de 7°. Le MTE consomme plus de courant qu’un aileron classique en raison du servomoteur, qui doit déformer les nervures. Cependant, comme le MTE permet de réduire la traînée de l’aile, le besoin en énergie du moteur s’en trouve réduit. Or la consommation du moteur est plusieurs centaines de milliers de fois supérieure à celle du servomoteur. Une réduction de 1 % de la consommation du moteur permet d’économiser plusieurs dizaines de watts de puissance, ce qui est de beaucoup supérieur à la consommation additionnelle entraînée par le MTE.

Conclusion

Lors de cette analyse, nous avons pu démontrer la fonctionnalité et l’efficacité de notre prototype de déformation du bord de fuite de l’aile. En plus d’être simple à fabriquer, ce prototype de MTE a permis de satisfaire les critères nécessaires à son utilisation sur un avion. La prochaine étape sera d’intégrer le MTE à un avion de taille réduite comme le UAS-S45 du LARCASE afin de valider son comportement en vol.

Information supplémentaire

Pour plus d’information sur cette recherche, consulter l’article suivant :

Communier, David; Botez, Ruxandra; Wong, Tony. 2019. « Experimental Validation of a New Morphing Trailing Edge System using Price – Païdoussis Wind Tunel Tests ». Chinese Journal of Aeronautics, 32(6) : 1353-1366.

 

David Communier

Profil de l'auteur(e)

David Communier a obtenu son baccalauréat en génie de la production automatisée et sa maîtrise en aérospatiale à l’ÉTS. Il est doctorant en génie aérospatial à l’ÉTS. Il se spécialise dans les ailes déformables pour des avions autonomes.

Programme : Génie de la production automatisée  Génie aérospatial 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada en technologies de modélisation et simulation des aéronefs 

Laboratoires de recherche : LARCASE – Laboratoire de recherche en commande active, avionique et aéroservoélasticité 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Ruxandra Botez

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Ruxandra Mihaela Botez est professeure au Département de génie des systèmes à l’ÉTS. Elle est spécialiste en modélisation et simulation de vols d’aéronefs, d’hélicoptères, de systèmes de vol, et d’ailes déformables.

Programme : Génie de la production automatisée  Génie aérospatial 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada en technologies de modélisation et simulation des aéronefs 

Laboratoires de recherche : LARCASE – Laboratoire de recherche en commande active, avionique et aéroservoélasticité 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Tony Wong

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Tony Wong est professeur au Département de génie des systèmes à l’ÉTS. Ses intérêts de recherche sont les algorithmes d’optimisation multicritères évolutionnaires, l’’apprentissage machine et la programmation parallèle.

Programme : Automated Manufacturing Engineering 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIVIA – Laboratoire d'imagerie, de vision et d'intelligence artificielle 

Profil de l'auteur(e)