SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Biomechanical Analysis of Concussion Risk in Soccer - By : Caroline Lecours, Éric Wagnac, Yvan Petit,

Biomechanical Analysis of Concussion Risk in Soccer


The following text is from one of the finalists in the 2017 SARA Abstract Contest. The author was awarded a special participant prize for the clarity and quality of her research project presentation. The other texts submitted in the SARA Contest are also available.

The author also presented her research on the television show Électrons libres.

Caroline Lecours
Caroline Lecours Author profile
Caroline Lecours is a PhD student in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. The objective of her PhD project is to determine concussion risks and frequency in soccer practice.

Éric Wagnac
Éric Wagnac Author profile
Éric Wagnac is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include biomechanics, computer design, finite element simulation, protective devices and surgical tools.

Yvan Petit
Yvan Petit Author profile
Yvan Petit is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include computer-aided design, biomechanics, medical and protective devices, and additive manufacturing techniques.

Soccer player heading the ball during a game.

Header image purchased on Istock.com. Protected by copyright.

SUMMARY

Like any other sport, soccer involves a risk of injury. Concussion is a particularly common injury in most sports. One of the most significant injury mechanisms of concussion is head acceleration. In soccer, head acceleration is generated by heading techniques and involuntary impacts. However, the data on head kinematics in soccer are scant in the current literature. Thus, the main objective of this research project was to assess risks of concussion during soccer games. The participants in this study wore an instrumented headband to measure various kinematic parameters of the head. These parameters were then matched with head injury criteria to identify concussion risk. The results identified game-related concussion risks, even though soccer is considered a non-contact sport.

Introduction

Since the early 2000s, there is awareness in the sports world of the significant consequences of concussion. It has been shown that concussions can cause minor temporary distractions in attention and memory, but can also lead to death [1, 3, 8]. Concussion studies have focused mainly on contact sports like American football [11]. However, non-contact sports like soccer are not spared. For example, at the university level, the number of concussions reported among female soccer players equals the number reported for hockey players [6]. In Canada, between 2012 and 2014, the number of concussions reported by female soccer teams, with players aged 10 to 19, was greater than the total concussions caused by hockey, rugby and cheerleading [4].

In Canada, soccer is popular with young people. Players can be exposed to concussions over a long period of time. Concussion statistics show that they are increasing yearly. In fact, the reported number of concussions among young players aged 5 to 18 increased by more than 40% between 2004 and 2014 [10]. This is why understanding the injury mechanisms of concussions in soccer is essential.

Child heading a soccer ball.

Figure 1 Soccer is a popular sport with children

Objectives

Head acceleration is the most important injury mechanism of concussion [2]. In soccer, head acceleration is caused by involuntary impacts and specific heading techniques, such as the voluntary action of redirecting the ball with the head. In current literature, there are not a lot of data on head acceleration in soccer players during games. This lack of data is due to the fact that measuring instruments generally require the use of wires, restricting the players’ movements. Recent technological development has made it possible to overcome this restriction but, based on current knowledge, only three studies have been conducted in real time since 2010 [5, 7, 9]. The lack of data on head acceleration limits the understanding of injury mechanisms and the identification of concussion risk in soccer. Thus, the main objective of this research project is to assess concussion risks while playing soccer.

The specific objectives (SO) are:

SO1: to measure linear and angular head acceleration in soccer players during games;

SO2: to determine concussion risks associated with the amplitude of measured acceleration;

SO3: to identify types of involuntary impacts and heading techniques that could lead to a risk of concussion.

Soccer player balancing a ball on his forehead.

Figure 2 There are not a lot of data on head acceleration during soccer games

Methodology

Participants in the research project had to be over 18 years of age. Also, they could not have upper body injuries or a concussion without presenting medical advice allowing their return to the game. Eight male players from the provincial league and sixteen female players from the regional league participated in the research project.

The measuring instrument used is the SIM-G [12] and consists of a gyroscope and two triple axis accelerometers. It was inserted in the headband worn by the participants as shown in Figure 3. A linear acceleration greater than 10g detected by the SIM-G triggered the recording of data. The data were then sent directly to an acquisition system. All games were filmed to validate the SIM-G activations.

Female soccer payer wearing an instrumented headband to measure head acceleration during games.

Figure 3 a) Front view of the instrumented headband b) Side view of the instrumented headband

In order to identify concussion risks, the participants’ head acceleration was matched with Zhang’s injury criterion for concussion [13]. This criterion consists of risk thresholds that quantify the probability of concussion in relation to head acceleration measurements. The three risk thresholds are 25%, 50% and 80%; they correspond to the linear acceleration of 66g, 82g and 106g, and to the angular acceleration of 4,600 rad/s2, 5,900 rad/s2 and 7,900 rad/s2, respectively.

Results

Acceleration data measured during the study are summarized in the following table.

Table 1 Participant head acceleration measured during soccer games

Heading techniques generated the highest incidence of acceleration, exceeding the risk of concussion by 50% for both male and female players. Specifically, the type of heading that caused the highest risk of concussion was jumping in male players, and redirecting the ball (head spin) in female players. As for unintended impacts, contact between male players and between female players caused the highest risks of concussion.

Heading technique: jumping and redirecting the ball

Conclusion

This research project made it possible to quantify head acceleration frequency and magnitude caused by unintended impacts and heading techniques in soccer players. It identified the presence of concussion risk while playing soccer and the higher risk potential when performing heading techniques. This is a significant advancement in the knowledge on concussions in non-contact sports like soccer. This project also identified the types of impacts and heading techniques that can lead to concussion when playing soccer, which is the first step in reducing such risks in this sport. Finally, this research project demonstrated the urgency of making players aware of the risk of concussion while playing soccer.

 

Caroline Lecours

Author's profile

Caroline Lecours is a PhD student in the Mechanical Engineering Department at ÉTS. The objective of her PhD project is to determine concussion risks and frequency in soccer practice.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Author profile

Éric Wagnac

Author's profile

Éric Wagnac is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include biomechanics, computer design, finite element simulation, protective devices and surgical tools.

Program : Mechanical Engineering 

Research laboratories : LIO – Imaging and orthopedics research laboratory 

Author profile

Yvan Petit

Author's profile

Yvan Petit is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at ÉTS. His research interests include computer-aided design, biomechanics, medical and protective devices, and additive manufacturing techniques.

Program : Mechanical Engineering  Healthcare Technology 

Research chair : Canada Research Chair in Engineering Innovations in Spinal Trauma 

Research laboratories : ÉREST – Research Team in Occupational Safety and Industrial Risk Analysis  LIO – Imaging and orthopedics research laboratory 

Author profile


Field(s) of expertise :

Biomechanics

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Analyse biomécanique des risques de commotion cérébrale au soccer - Par : Caroline Lecours, Éric Wagnac, Yvan Petit,

Analyse biomécanique des risques de commotion cérébrale au soccer


Le texte qui suit est l’un des articles finalistes du concours de résumés du SARA 2017. Il a remporté un prix spécial de participation pour sa clarté et la qualité de la présentation du projet de recherche. Vous pouvez aussi consulter les autres textes soumis dans le cadre du concours du SARA.

L’auteure a aussi présenté ses recherches à l’émission les Électrons libres.

Caroline Lecours
Caroline Lecours Profil de l'auteur(e)
Caroline Lecours est doctorante au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. L'objectif de son projet de doctorat est de déterminer la fréquence et le risque des commotions cérébrales lors de la pratique du soccer.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Éric Wagnac
Éric Wagnac est professeur au département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la biomécanique, la conception par ordinateur, la simulation par éléments finis, les dispositifs de protection et les outils chirurgicaux.
Programme : Génie mécanique 

Yvan Petit
Yvan Petit est professeur au département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur la conception assistée par ordinateur, la biomécanique, les dispositifs médicaux et de protection et la fabrication additive.

Joueur de soccer frappant un ballon avec sa tête lors d’un match de compétition

L’image d’en-tête a été achetée sur Istock.com et est protégée par des droits d’auteur.

RÉSUMÉ:

La pratique du soccer, comme la pratique de tout sport, comporte un risque de blessure. La commotion cérébrale est une blessure particulièrement fréquente dans la majorité des sports. Un des mécanismes lésionnels les plus importants de la commotion cérébrale est l’accélération de la tête. Au soccer, l’accélération de la tête est engendrée par des techniques de tête et des impacts involontaires. Or, dans la littérature actuelle, il existe peu de données sur la cinématique de la tête lors de match de compétition de soccer. C'est pourquoi l’objectif principal de ce projet de recherche était d’évaluer le risque de commotion cérébrale lors de la pratique du soccer. Les participants de cette étude ont porté un bandeau instrumenté permettant la mesure de différents paramètres cinématiques de la tête. Ces paramètres ont ensuite été confrontés à des critères de blessure à la tête afin d’identifier le risque de commotion cérébrale. Les résultats ont permis d’identifier la présence d’un risque de commotion cérébrale lors de la pratique du soccer, et ce, bien que ce sport soit considéré sans contact.

Introduction

Depuis le début des années 2000, il y a eu une prise de conscience dans le monde sportif des conséquences importantes de la commotion cérébrale. Il a été démontré que les commotions cérébrales peuvent non seulement engendrer des troubles mineurs et passagers de l’attention et de la mémoire, mais aussi entraîner la mort [1, 3, 8]. Les études sur les commotions cérébrales se sont concentrées principalement sur les sports de contact comme le football [11]. Par contre, les sports considérés sans contact, comme le soccer, ne sont pas épargnés. Par exemple, au niveau universitaire, le nombre de commotions cérébrales rapporté chez les joueuses de soccer est équivalent au nombre rapporté chez les joueurs de hockey [6]. Au Canada, entre 2012 et 2014, le nombre de commotions cérébrales rapporté par les équipes féminines de soccer, dont les joueuses sont âgées de 10 à 19 ans, était supérieur à la somme des commotions cérébrales causées par la pratique du hockey, du rugby et du cheerleading [4].

Au Canada, le soccer est populaire auprès des jeunes. Les joueurs peuvent donc être exposés aux commotions cérébrales au cours d’une longue période. Les statistiques des commotions cérébrales démontrent qu’elles augmentent d’année en année. En effet, le nombre rapporté de commotions cérébrales chez les jeunes joueurs, âgés de 5 à 18 ans, a augmenté de plus de 40 % entre 2004 et 2014 [10]. C’est pourquoi la compréhension des mécanismes lésionnels des commotions cérébrales lors de la pratique du soccer est primordiale.

Enfant qui frappe un ballon avec sa tête

Figure 1 Le soccer est un sport populaire auprès des enfants

Objectifs

Les accélérations de la tête sont les mécanismes lésionnels les plus importants concernant les commotions cérébrales [2]. Au soccer, les accélérations de la tête sont causées par des impacts involontaires et des techniques de tête définies, comme l’action volontaire de rediriger le ballon avec la tête. Dans la littérature actuelle, les données d’accélération de la tête de joueurs de soccer lors de matchs de compétition sont peu nombreuses. Ce manque de données s’explique par les instruments de mesure qui nécessitent généralement l’usage de fils, ce qui restreint les déplacements des joueurs lors des matchs de compétition. Le développement technologique des dernières années a permis de surmonter cette restriction et, au regard des connaissances actuelles, seulement trois études ont été réalisées en situation de jeu en temps réel depuis 2010 [5, 7, 9]. Le manque de données d’accélération de la tête des joueurs limite la compréhension des mécanismes lésionnels et l’identification du risque de commotion cérébrale au soccer. C’est pourquoi l’objectif principal de ce projet de recherche est d’évaluer le risque de commotion cérébrale lors de la pratique du soccer.

Les objectifs spécifiques (OS) sont :

OS1 : mesurer les accélérations linéaires et angulaires de la tête de joueurs et de joueuses de soccer lors de matchs de compétition;

OS2 : déterminer le risque de commotion cérébrale associé à l’amplitude des accélérations mesurées;

OS3 : identifier les types d’impacts involontaires et de techniques de tête susceptibles d’engendrer un risque de commotion cérébrale.

Joueur de soccer avec ballon en équilibre

Figure 2 Il y a peu de données sur l’accélération de la tête lors d’un match de soccer

Méthodologie

Pour participer au projet de recherche, les joueurs devaient être âgés de plus de 18 ans. Aussi, ils ne devaient pas être blessés au haut du corps ou avoir subi une commotion cérébrale sans présenter un avis médical permettant le retour au jeu. Un total de huit joueurs évoluant dans la ligue provinciale et de seize joueuses évoluant dans la ligue régionale ont participé au projet de recherche.

L’instrument de mesure utilisé se nomme SIM-G [12] et est composé d’un gyroscope et de deux accéléromètres à trois axes. Il était inséré à l’intérieur du bandeau porté par les participants comme présentés à la Figure 3. Lorsqu’une accélération linéaire supérieure à 10g était détectée par le SIM-G, l’enregistrement des données était déclenché. Ensuite, les données étaient envoyées directement à un système d’acquisition. Tous les matchs de compétition ont été filmés afin de valider les activations du SIM-G.

Joueuse de soccer portant un bandeau instrumenté pour mesurer les accélérations de sa tête lors des matchs.

Figure 3 a) Port du bandeau instrumenté en vue frontale b) Port du bandeau instrumenté en vue latérale

Afin d’identifier le risque de commotion cérébrale, les accélérations de la tête des participants ont été confrontées au critère de blessure pour les commotions cérébrales de Zhang [13]. Ce critère de blessure est composé de seuils de risque permettant de chiffrer la probabilité de subir une commotion cérébrale en fonction de l’accélération mesurée à la tête. Les trois seuils de risque sont 25 %, 50 % et 80 %, et correspondent aux accélérations linéaires de 66g, 82g et 106g, et aux accélérations angulaires de 4 600 rad/s2, 5 900 rad/s2 et 7 900 rad/s2, respectivement.

Résultats

Les données d’accélérations mesurées lors de l’étude sont résumées au tableau suivant.

Tableau 1 Accélérations de la tête des participants mesurées lors de matchs de compétition

Tableau 1 Accélérations de la tête des participants mesurées lors de matchs de compétition

Les techniques de tête ont généré le plus d’accélérations dépassant le risque de subir une commotion cérébrale de 50 %, et ce, autant chez les joueurs que chez les joueuses. Plus précisément, le type de techniques de tête ayant causé le plus de risque de commotion cérébrale a été le saut chez les joueurs et la redirection du ballon (mouvement de rotation de la tête) chez les joueuses. Concernant les impacts involontaires, le contact entre joueurs et entre joueuses a engendré le plus de risque de commotion cérébrale.

Technique de tête : saut et redirection du ballon

Conclusion

Ce projet de recherche a permis de quantifier la fréquence et l’amplitude des accélérations de la tête causées par des impacts involontaires et des techniques de tête chez les joueurs et joueuses de soccer. Il a permis d’identifier la présence d’un risque de commotion cérébrale lors de la pratique du soccer et que ce risque était plus élevé lors de l’exécution de techniques de tête. Il s’agit d’un avancement important des connaissances des commotions cérébrales lors de la pratique de sports considérés sans contact, comme le soccer. Ce projet a aussi permis l’identification des types d’impacts et des techniques de tête qui peuvent occasionner des risques de commotions cérébrales lors de la pratique du soccer, ce qui correspond à la première étape pour réduire le risque de commotion cérébrale dans ce sport. Finalement, ce projet de recherche a permis de démontrer l’urgence de conscientiser les joueurs sur le risque de commotion cérébrale lors de la pratique du soccer.

Caroline Lecours

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Caroline Lecours est doctorante au Département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. L'objectif de son projet de doctorat est de déterminer la fréquence et le risque des commotions cérébrales lors de la pratique du soccer.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Éric Wagnac

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Éric Wagnac est professeur au département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses recherches portent sur la biomécanique, la conception par ordinateur, la simulation par éléments finis, les dispositifs de protection et les outils chirurgicaux.

Programme : Génie mécanique 

Laboratoires de recherche : LIO – Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie 

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Yvan Petit

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Yvan Petit est professeur au département de génie mécanique de l’ÉTS. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur la conception assistée par ordinateur, la biomécanique, les dispositifs médicaux et de protection et la fabrication additive.

Programme : Génie mécanique  Génie technologies de la santé 

Chaire de recherche : Chaire de recherche du Canada en biomécanique des traumatismes à la tête et la colonne vertébrale 

Laboratoires de recherche : ÉREST – Équipe de recherche en sécurité du travail  LIO – Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie 

Profil de l'auteur(e)


Domaines d'expertise :

Biomécanique