SCIENTIFIC NEWS AND
INNOVATION FROM ÉTS
Can a Robot Have 3D Vision? - By : Hanen Hattab,

Can a Robot Have 3D Vision?


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab Author profile
Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Autonomous robots can now be given complex and dangerous tasks like inspecting nuclear power plants, clearing oil spills in the ocean, accompanying fighter aircraft in combat, and exploring the surface of Mars. However, they are not yet able to perform tasks as easy as preparing a cup of tea. Indeed, actions such as switching the cooktop on and searching for the kettle or sugar require perceptive capacities that most of these machines do not possess. It is simple for a robot to perceive an object, but not to interpret its use. Robots should have 3D vision.

3d vision
Ben Burchfiel, graduate student at Duke University in the United States, developed a new technology that allows machines to perceive three-dimensional objects in a more intelligent and intuitive manner with his director George Konidaris, Assistant Professor of Computer Science at Brown University. The two researchers started from the fact that it is difficult for a robot to analyze a complex environment before intervening; for example, distinguishing bowls from plates in order to separate and clean them. Human beings, on the other hand, can easily see and interpret different objects when they are stacked on top of each other. The brain is able to see a partly hidden object by instinctively completing the missing part of its three-dimensional configuration.

Based on these findings, the two researchers created an algorithm that will allow robots to have 3D vision to visualize an object, including its hidden parts, and to determine its spatial position without having to go around it to analyze its various facets. They claim that their technology is three times faster than current methods and makes very few errors. According to the team, this is a very important step toward the introduction of robotics in environments that are difficult to predict, such as homes.

This is not the case in natural spaces mapped in advance or in highly organized and controlled environments such as laboratories and factories. In these cases, the robot is trained by means of numerical examples of predetermined sites, which it uses to approach similar spaces in reality. Burchfiel emphasized the limitations of existing methods requiring a three-dimensional model ahead for each situation in which the robot will operate.

Design and Capacity of the Algorithm

The researchers improved the algorithm by providing its database with 4,000 examples of digitized common objects: beds, chairs, desks, etc.

Each digitized model was converted into an assembly of nested cubes as in a Lego structure, taking into account the relative position of each block in relation to the other blocks so that it is easier to interpret. This measurement method is called voxel.

3d vision

Des figures en mode voxel

The algorithm was successful in distinguishing the different categories of objects by analyzing various examples in the same type of objects and by deconstructing the similarities that characterize them. This algorithm uses the probabilistic principal component analysis technique. When a robot discovers a new object like a bunk bed, instead of referring to its entire memory base, it analyzes the object and finds the formal similarities with the beds that are part of its catalogue. In order to test their technology, the researchers fed 908 examples into the algorithm of digitized objects as seen from above and belonging to the memorized typologies. The algorithm was able to recognize most of these objects (75% success rate) and to complete their three-dimensional figure. Unlike existing technologies, it was able to identify the objects as seen from different angles. It is very fast because it is able to recognize an object in a very short time, approximately one second. Some objects remain difficult to distinguish for this and other algorithms, for example a chest of drawers compared to a cabinet seen from above.

The researchers are currently working on improving their system to allow it to identify several objects at once. Their objective is to make the algorithm able to distinguish a hundred objects at the same time.

Their work was funded in part by the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency.

The researchers presented this technology on July 12 as part of the 2017 Robotics: Science and Systems Conference held in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The presentation is entitled “Bayesian Eigenobjects: A Unified Framework for 3D Robot Perception

Hanen Hattab

Author's profile

Hanen Hattab is a PhD student in Semiology at UQAM. Her research focuses on subversive and countercultural arts and design practices such as artistic vandalism, sabotage and cultural diversions in illustration, graphic arts and sculpture.

Author profile


Field(s) of expertise :

Computer Vision 

Get the latest scientific news from ÉTS
comments

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

ACTUALITÉ SCIENTIFIQUE
ET INNOVATION DE L'ÉTS
Un robot peut-il voir en 3D ? - Par : Hanen Hattab,

Un robot peut-il voir en 3D ?


Hanen Hattab
Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

On peut désormais confier aux robots autonomes des tâches complexes et dangereuses comme inspecter les centrales nucléaires, nettoyer les déversements d’hydrocarbures dans l’océan, accompagner les avions de chasse dans le combat et explorer la surface de Mars. Toutefois, ils ne sont pas encore capables d’effectuer des tâches aussi faciles que préparer une tasse de thé. En effet des actions comme allumer la plaque, chercher la bouilloire ou le sucre nécessitent des capacités perceptives que ne possèdent pas la plupart de ces machines. Il est simple pour un robot de percevoir un objet, mais pas de l’interpréter pour savoir comment l’utiliser. Il faudrait permettre aux robots de voir en 3D.

voir en 3D
Ben Burchfiel, un étudiant diplômé de l’Université Duke aux États-Unis a développé avec son directeur de thèse George Konidaris, professeur d’informatique adjoint à l’Université Brown, une nouvelle technologie qui permet aux machines de percevoir les objets tridimensionnels et, de ce fait,  voir en 3D d’une manière plus intelligente et plus intuitive. Les deux chercheurs sont partis du fait qu’il est difficile pour un robot d’analyser un environnement complexe pour pouvoir y intervenir par exemple, distinguer les bols des assiettes afin de les séparer et les nettoyer. Les êtres humains, quant à eux, peuvent voir et interpréter facilement différents objets lorsqu’ils sont empilés les uns sur les autres. Le cerveau est capable d’apercevoir un objet en partie caché en complétant instinctivement la partie manquante de sa configuration tridimensionnelle.

Partant de ces constats, les deux chercheurs ont créé un algorithme qui permettra aux robots de voir en 3D pour identifier un objet, imager ses parties cachées et déterminer sa position spatiale sans avoir à tourner autour de lui pour analyser ses différentes facettes. Ils affirment notamment que leur technologie est trois fois plus rapide que les méthodes actuelles et commet très peu d’erreurs. Selon l’équipe, il s’agit d’un pas très important vers l’introduction de la robotique dans des environnements difficilement prédictibles comme les maisons.

Il en va autrement dans les espaces naturels cartographiés à l’avance ou les environnements très organisés et contrôlés comme les laboratoires et les planchers des usines. Dans ces cas, le robot est entrainé à l’aide d’exemples numériques de sites prédéterminés, sur lequel il se base pour aborder des espaces similaires dans la réalité. Burchfiel a souligné les limites des méthodes existantes qui nécessitent un modèle tridimensionnel en amont pour chaque situation dans laquelle le robot interviendra.

Conception et capacité de l’algorithme

Les chercheurs ont amélioré l’algorithme en dotant sa base de données de 4 000 exemples d’objets du quotidien numérisés : des lits, des chaises, des bureaux, etc.

Chaque modèle numérisé a été converti en un assemblage de cubes imbriqués comme dans un lego en tenant compte de la position relative de chaque bloc par rapport aux autres blocs pour qu’il soit plus facile à interpréter. Cette méthode de mesure s’appelle voxel.

voir en 3D

Des figures en mode voxel

L’algorithme est parvenu à distinguer les différentes catégories d’objets en analysant les différents exemples dans une même typologie d’objets et en décortiquant les similarités qui les caractérisent. Cet algorithme utilise la technique d’analyse probabiliste des composantes principales. Lorsqu’un robot découvre un nouvel objet comme un lit superposé, au lieu de consulter toute sa mémoire, il analyse l’objet et trouve les similarités formelles avec les lits figurant dans son catalogue. Afin de tester leur technologie, les chercheurs ont alimenté l’algorithme de 908 exemples d’objets numérisés vus de dessus et appartenant aux typologies mémorisées. L’algorithme a pu reconnaître la plupart de ces objets (75 % de réussite) et est parvenu à compléter leur figure tridimensionnelle. Contrairement aux technologies existantes, il a pu notamment identifier les objets vus sous différents angles. Il est notamment très rapide puisqu’il est capable de reconnaître un objet en très peu de temps, une seconde approximativement. Certains objets restent quand même difficiles à distinguer autant pour cet algorithme que pour les autres par exemple la différence entre une commode et une armoire vues de haut.

Les chercheurs cherchent actuellement à améliorer leur système pour lui permettre d’identifier plusieurs objets à la fois. Leur objectif est de rendre l’algorithme capable de distinguer une centaine d’objets en même temps.

Leur travail a été financé en partie par la Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency.

Les chercheurs ont présenté cette technologie le 12 juillet dans le cadre de la 2017 Robotics: Science and Systems Conference à Cambridge, au Massachusetts. Leur présentation s’intitule « Bayesian Eigenobjects: A Unified Framework for 3D Robot Perception »

Hanen Hattab

Profil de l'auteur(e)

Hanen Hattab est doctorante en sémiologie à l’UQAM. Ses recherches portent sur les pratiques d’art et de design subversifs et contre culturels comme le vandalisme artistique, le sabotage et les détournements culturels.

Profil de l'auteur(e)


Domaines d'expertise :

Vision par ordinateur